We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #43 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the best downtown location. Everything a tourist could want in downtown is a few blocks away. The staf is very friendly & helpful. The room is clean, modern & includes free wifi. It even has a nice loveseat & coffee table so you don't always have to sit on the bed! The valet parking staff gives great directions. The Bistro restaurant is fast & efficient in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    172
    74
    21
    15
See reviews for
67
159
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Counce, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I attended a concert in the Bridgestone Arena on a Saturday night in Nashville, Tn. The downtown area was very busy as usual. It was great to have a valet park your car at the door and escape to the great room at this hotel. Check in was a snap and the room was comfy and spacious. We could walk to the concert which was only three blocks from the hotel. We will stay here again. Oh yeah, check out was even easier!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

And that is what you pay for here. The hotel is awesome, the location is central to everything you want to see. We parked our car on Friday and did not get back in it until Sunday. The staff is very friendly and attentive.
The rates are HIGH - what's up Nashville with your hotel rates - I paid more per night than I am paying to stay in a 5 star in Vegas ! The parking / valet is priced accordingly. Highly recommend the valet, the closest garage is a long block away.
We had "free" breakfast but I was still charged $3.72 so I guess free now costs 3.72, still confused on that one.
No pool or hot tub even tho it is advertised as having a hot tub - or if they have one it is well hidden.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I stayed here. Suite was comfortable. Nice kitchenette, large room and living room with pull out couch. The restraunt had a nice breakfast. Very clean and very nice staff. We arrived in the evening, well after dark. The parking was less than desireable and had to walk a lot of luggage from across the street and the sidewalk in front of entrance was crowded with vagrants, with all their whiskey stash and begging for money. Pretty frightening for my children, and less than appeasing for me. I understand this is downtown Nashville and within walking distance of music row. The stay certainly made up for knowing what was outside those entrance doors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello M.E.,

Thank you so much for your feedback and sharing your experience. I assume from your dexcription that you self-parked in a nearby garage and that is certainly an option for any guest. Our valet service is also available to any guest and that places you curbside at our entrance. Our entry doors are 10 feet from tour car.

As for the city and safety, we are absolutely a downtown location with elements of any city. I want to assure travlers that our city is one of the safest of all US cities to visitors. Our Metro Police Central precinct is located squarely in the entertainment district. There is a commitment to visible Police presence throughout our district and entire city. And they are "visitor - friendly " police with an understanding of the reasons guests visit Nashville. As is the case anywhere, always take necessary precautions when traveling downtown. However you can visit us knowing that we are one of the safest entertainment districts in the US.

Happy and safe travels Tripadvisor followers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oil City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a tad pricey on a Saturday night, but really worth it. Room was spacious and clean. Staff were super friendly. Broadway an easy walk and breakfast was good. Really glad to have found it. Will likely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

One of the best locations we have stayed in Nashville. We felt very safe walking the short distance to Broadway at night and back. The building is an older building, but we found the rooms were clean and spacious and we didn't hear a lot of noise from the street with the exception of the rooms overlooking Printer's Alley. On weekend nights it was loud until about 4 a.m. We had taken a noise machine, so it wasn't too bad for us. (The area around Printer's Alley was very safe, but when we walked down the alley one night, it had different bars and atmosphere than Music Row, it just wasn't our cup of tea)

The Valet staff was very professional and helpful. One tip if you are driving and use the valet service- the valet lane is on the street and was very busy when we pulled up. We had to circle around a couple of times before the line moved enough for us to get in line. It wasn't a big deal, but sometimes the traffic can be a little crazy. Once we parked our car with the valet, we walked everywhere. I had read that the water and snacks are a bit pricey, so we took a pack of water and snacks and that worked well. All of our rooms had a refrigerator with a very small freezer.

We were a family with young adults and teens. There were several families staying with small children, many families with young adults, a few couples and several groups of ladies staying at the hotel.

It is a little pricey, but if location is important, it is worth the money.

An added plus, they had recycle bins near the ice machines on every floor!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in Nashville for a couple of days during a recent road trip. When we booked this hotel, we were really looking forward to staying here as the hotel looked beautiful but was a bit on the pricey side. Knowing that you pay for location in Nashville, we decided to go for it. What a disappointment! Our room was big and pretty comfortable but the AC was so loud that whenever it switched on during the night, we woke up! We had to ask for earplugs for the second night. Fortunately that helped a lot. The bathroom sink and mirror are outside of the (dated) bathroom. We did not even get a small bottle of complimentary water in the room (most hotels nowadays do that). We had to go downstairs to buy expensive bottled water from the vending machine or Starbucks. Having listed all my complaints, the location of the hotel is perfect. Walking distance from all the action. The parking valet guys were super nice as were the front desk staff. I am normally not so big on complaints but won’t be going back to this Marriott!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a quiet AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear New York Scatterling.

Thank you for sharing your experience and highlighting some positive features also (location, valet, etc). We are so sorry that the stay resulted in the review title disappointed.

I hope that any disappointed guest will contact me personally to discuss their concerns and allow me to recover. As a circa 1904 historic building, we had to retrofit each room with individual control HVAC units/air handlers. It generally is not a guest issue but we understand everyone has different sensitivity to night noise. Many hotels have units that cycle on or off. In our case and others, we recommend that guests keep the fan in the on position if they want a constant white noise.

I also noticed the comment: The bathroom sink and mirror are outside of the (dated) bathroom.

I am sorry you felt the bathroom was dated. Our website photos will show that the granite was added recently and the tubs, flooring and shower walls are virtually new. Many guests prefer a separated vanity to allow two guests to ready themselves for the day at the same time.

The tripadvisor readers' travel experience may be the best measure for the bottled water in room issue. Our brands sell them if they are in the room and that may have been another disappointment if we opted to do that.

Happy and safe travels everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.