We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Couples Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a great corner room in a historic building. Everything went smoothly! we were able to check in Friday morning when we arrived. We had planned to just stash our bags and go find lunch / shop, but we were fortunate and were able to relax a bit after an early flight. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. We used the Bistro for morning coffee and the bar for a quick drink before going out. Our flight wasn't until late Sunday afternoon staff assisted with storing our bags and arranging transportation to the airport.

People have mentioned noise. It's a hotel. You're hear people in the hall. Outside traffic and crowd noise was never an issue. If you think it will be, have another glass of wine. We felt completely safe at all times and we were in walking distance of most of places we wanted to go. Perfect location. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: High floors are just better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    147
    65
    16
    11
See reviews for
56
137
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
S.F. Bay Area
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I am a Marriott regular(weekly) and I still don't understand why they spend all their money on upgrading the lobby's instead of the rooms where you actually rest your head. Back to that later. Anywho, this location is great if you are going to spend time at the Broadway bar scene...3 minute walk, have a concert at the Ryman...2 minute walk, or an event at Bridgestone arena...7 min. Don't let the previous reviews of the hotel being "on a hill" scare you. Maybe they are Midwesterners from the flatness that is their landscape? Don't take it personal, people! It is gradual incline that burns a few extra calories on that last beer from Tootsies or The Stage on Broadway. If you feel the need to grab a cab to the mid-town scene, the nice boys at the bell desk/curbside will gladly help you out. I wish I would have gotten their names for a shout out because they were all super courteous and helpful. To think of it, the rest of the staff was great. Kudos for loving your job or acting like it! Back to the hotel itself. Lobby, great. Typical Courtyard Bistro to grab Starbucks drinks or some food choices throughout the day on a whim. Don't plan to eat a meal here...get out and enjoy the restaurants that Nashville has to offer. Rooms-double beds...really? Double rooms are definitely large enough to upgrade to queens. But sadly they are not. I went with friends, but if you are with a significant other than they do have King Bedrooms, of course. Bathrooms are fine...clean which is key in my book. The rest of the room needs an upgrade. This Courtyard is too expensive to not be at the current standards of newer Courtyards. As a side note, one of the mattresses had a broken spring. To sum it up, this hotel is all about the location, not the room.

Room Tip: I am a Platinum member and I had a view of the building next to me. Either I got screwed on my "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard Marriott in downtown Nashville. This hotel is in an old bank building, which added to its charm. The staff was very helpful and the room was quite comfortable. This hotel is close to the Ryman Auditorium where we saw a concert. I will say that we felt the cost for valet parking was a bit high at $25 per day. There is a public parking garage about 1/2 block away on 4th Ave on the opposite side that charges half that amount. It is closed from 11pm until 6 am, but that presented no problem for us. We wished that the Bistro would have remained open later, as we were hoping to get a snack and drink after the concert, but the Bistro in the hotel closed at 10pm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just returned from a weekend in Nashville and can't say enough nice things about this hotel. We enjoyed the fact that it was a Marriott but that it had the charm of being in a historic bank building. We rented two rooms, one king suite and one standard double. The King suite was so nice. A big bedroom, separate bathroom/closet area, and separate living room. It was spacious with tons of windows. The standard room was nice enough but the king suite was really nice and so worth the money. Had we known, we probably would have reserved two king suites. The one and only complaint we had was that the hairdryer only had a low setting. The bars/music on Broadway are a few blocks away and we walked to and from with ease and felt very safe. Printer's Alley is 1/2 a block away. Unbelievable location. Unlike a previous post, we were thrilled with the security in the hotel. It's in a very pedestrian area and it was nice to see that random people weren't able to wander in after hours. I felt very safe in this hotel and in the surrounding area. We also couldn't say enough nice things about every single staff member we came into contact with. We wanted our rooms on the same floor and they had to work around some things but were able to accommodate our request (thank you Megan!). Very helpful and very courteous. We also ate breakfast in the cafe there and the food there was pretty good. We will 100% stay at this hotel again next time we're in Nashville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jenrainey,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate the feedback and will share this with the team. We will look into the hair dryer issue as well. Thank you again for highlighting our best features and our committed associate team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott is in a renovated building that is over 100 years old. It is in the heart of downtown Nashville. Easy walking distance to many of the downtown sights and activities. the Ryman is about one block away. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the 12th floor, it was very large and extremely quiet. You really need to use the valet parking which is $24 per day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My sister and i travelled to Nashville for the second year in a row to see the All for the Hall concert. Since the Hilton was booked, we figured Marriott was a safe bet. That was our first mistake. We arrived early at 11 am and an elderly man checked us in and told us he could accommodate us then. So far so good. When we arrived in the room we found it was an accessible room, was very oddly appointed, and the main problem was that the shower was a hand held shower. We called down to the front desk and asked to be moved and that was when the fun began. The front desk person we had initially dealt with was rude, condescending and tried to tell us we didn't know what we were talking about, that really the handicap room was a better room than most people got. He then told us all he had was a room available on the first floor at that time. I told him fine I would wait until more rooms opened up. We came back downstairs to turn in our keys and check our bags with the valet and he then informed us that there wouldn't be any other rooms available at the hotel other than the ones he had already offered us. i was incredulous - he said that all the good rooms had already been given out. Given that it was a Monday, and I travel every week on business, this was highly suspect. We told him we would check out the room on the lower floor. When we got there we discovered it was directly across the entrance to the fitness room and adjacent to the janitors closet, and backed up to the heating and cooling units for the entire building. Incredibly noisy. So much for Silver Elite with Marriott. I went back to the front desk and the surly front desk man told me I didn't understand that downtown hotels were noisy. I told him not to patronize me and could I see a manager. We waited for 30 minutes until a manager came. The manager immediately placed us in a proper room on the 10th floor. During the 2 days we were there we observed that the hotel seemed to be less than 50% full, therefore we know the front desk clerk was just lying to us and treating us badly because we were women. On the last night we were there we came back from the concert at 11 and the hotel was LOCKED. The cab pulled up to the hotel and the valet was inside the door looking out at us and never came out to open our door. We managed to get out of the minivan door of the cab ourselves and then fumbled for our room key to get into the hotel. The valet would not let us in. When we got our key and let ourselves in, the valet was very rude and said didn't you see the sign that said "use your room key to get in"? I have never heard of a hotel doing this and especially a valet that just stared at us and wouldn't lift a finger to let us in. Oh, and this was the same valet who had checked us in so he knew we were guests. Finally, let me just say don't look for coffee before 6:30 am in the hotel, because there isn't any until the coffee bar opens up. Worst experience at any major hotel I have ever had. I am Diamond at Hyatt and Silver at Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are very sorry that this guest was not pleased with her stay despite our many efforts to accommodate her and her partner in every encounter. We remember her but will keep her name confidential and respect her privacy.

I would like to respond and share a few factual points

10% of our rooms have accessible features and are occupied every night with very little disatisfaction. We appreciate that almost every guest understands the importance of having these rooms available for guests who need ADA features. Since we save those rooms for guests who need those features, that room type is usually the first available for the very early arrivals in this case.

We were 100% for the nights that Cindy VT stayed with us. The All for the Hall concert, a convention, and our mid- week business generated a lot of demand for that week.

We absoutely do lock down our hotel after 10:00 PM for the safety and security of all guests and associates. We are an urban location and we rarely have a guest complain about this procedure as they understand that entry is restricted to our guests only.

Thank you for reading our response and safe travels to all tripadvisor followers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

we walked to the Ryman, all the honky tonk bars and had a great pizza place and restaurant right next to the hotel. Pleasant stay, coffee in the lobby, nice lobby area and easy to get cabs. Room was comfortable. Didn't eat in the hotel, but with so many places to eat close by, why would you?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests from Minnesota,

Thank you for the kind remarks about Nashville and our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and believe your feedback will assist other visitors. Happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.