We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay anywhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #43 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay anywhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My sister and i travelled to Nashville for the second year in a row to see the All for the Hall concert. Since the Hilton was booked, we figured Marriott was a safe bet. That was our first mistake. We arrived early at 11 am and an elderly man checked us in and told us he could accommodate us then. So far so good. When we arrived in the room we found it was an accessible room, was very oddly appointed, and the main problem was that the shower was a hand held shower. We called down to the front desk and asked to be moved and that was when the fun began. The front desk person we had initially dealt with was rude, condescending and tried to tell us we didn't know what we were talking about, that really the handicap room was a better room than most people got. He then told us all he had was a room available on the first floor at that time. I told him fine I would wait until more rooms opened up. We came back downstairs to turn in our keys and check our bags with the valet and he then informed us that there wouldn't be any other rooms available at the hotel other than the ones he had already offered us. i was incredulous - he said that all the good rooms had already been given out. Given that it was a Monday, and I travel every week on business, this was highly suspect. We told him we would check out the room on the lower floor. When we got there we discovered it was directly across the entrance to the fitness room and adjacent to the janitors closet, and backed up to the heating and cooling units for the entire building. Incredibly noisy. So much for Silver Elite with Marriott. I went back to the front desk and the surly front desk man told me I didn't understand that downtown hotels were noisy. I told him not to patronize me and could I see a manager. We waited for 30 minutes until a manager came. The manager immediately placed us in a proper room on the 10th floor. During the 2 days we were there we observed that the hotel seemed to be less than 50% full, therefore we know the front desk clerk was just lying to us and treating us badly because we were women. On the last night we were there we came back from the concert at 11 and the hotel was LOCKED. The cab pulled up to the hotel and the valet was inside the door looking out at us and never came out to open our door. We managed to get out of the minivan door of the cab ourselves and then fumbled for our room key to get into the hotel. The valet would not let us in. When we got our key and let ourselves in, the valet was very rude and said didn't you see the sign that said "use your room key to get in"? I have never heard of a hotel doing this and especially a valet that just stared at us and wouldn't lift a finger to let us in. Oh, and this was the same valet who had checked us in so he knew we were guests. Finally, let me just say don't look for coffee before 6:30 am in the hotel, because there isn't any until the coffee bar opens up. Worst experience at any major hotel I have ever had. I am Diamond at Hyatt and Silver at Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are very sorry that this guest was not pleased with her stay despite our many efforts to accommodate her and her partner in every encounter. We remember her but will keep her name confidential and respect her privacy.

I would like to respond and share a few factual points

10% of our rooms have accessible features and are occupied every night with very little disatisfaction. We appreciate that almost every guest understands the importance of having these rooms available for guests who need ADA features. Since we save those rooms for guests who need those features, that room type is usually the first available for the very early arrivals in this case.

We were 100% for the nights that Cindy VT stayed with us. The All for the Hall concert, a convention, and our mid- week business generated a lot of demand for that week.

We absoutely do lock down our hotel after 10:00 PM for the safety and security of all guests and associates. We are an urban location and we rarely have a guest complain about this procedure as they understand that entry is restricted to our guests only.

Thank you for reading our response and safe travels to all tripadvisor followers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    172
    74
    21
    15
See reviews for
67
159
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

we walked to the Ryman, all the honky tonk bars and had a great pizza place and restaurant right next to the hotel. Pleasant stay, coffee in the lobby, nice lobby area and easy to get cabs. Room was comfortable. Didn't eat in the hotel, but with so many places to eat close by, why would you?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guests from Minnesota,

Thank you for the kind remarks about Nashville and our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and believe your feedback will assist other visitors. Happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Front desk was very helpful in finding restaurants off the beaten path. BAD . . . Back Alley Diner was a great find. Clean comfortable room. Close to all the sights. If you valet park your car call ahead or give yourself plenty of time. It took twenty minutes to get our car. They were simply busy. Well staffed but busy. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was my husband and I's first time in Nashville. We absolutely love everything the city had to offer!!! After reading all the reviews we decided on this hotel. We really have not 1 complaint, however we were not in the room for any reason other than to sleep. Since we did spend all of our time on Music Row we would probably stay a little closer next time. The only downfall with this hotel is it is at the top of a very large hill so it could be tough for someone who has an issue walking. Other than that, staff was great and so were the rooms!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your remarks about the hotel and your ecxperience in Nashville. We hope you will return to Music City soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott in Downtown Nashville is a great place to stay when visiting the city! I have stayed here a few times in the past couple years and the hotel is very accommodating. The location is perfect and only a couple blocks away from Broadway which saves time and money waiting for cabs. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and the rooms are pretty spacious.
We have been back time and time again, and plan to keep visiting.
Also, a great value $!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were the the Courtyard Nashville on April 3rd through April 5th. Hotel was clean (which is the #1 thing I look for), and conveniently located to downtown and the hockey arena. Housekeeping went above and beyond the call of duty. Loved the layout of the room. Comfortable beds.
However, there was an older man at the front desk who was a rude jerk when we checked in; behaving as if he were doing us a favor by staying there (the shorter and heavier set of the two men).
I did feel it was a little over-priced for a Courtyard. We paid less for a Springhill Suites located one block from Time's Square in NYC last Dec!
As much as I liked the hotel, we will not be back due to this man.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Charlotte,

I am so sorry to hear of your experience at our desk. I would like to apologize personally of you contact me. Poor and disrespectful attitudes are not acceptable and absolutely not our hotel's image if you review other comments. Pleae accept my apology on behalf of all associates and our hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nice staff, but the only nearby parking is the $24 a night valet parking. It is near printers alley and 2 blocks from the downtown bar scene, too bad nothing is open on Mondays! Our window "view" was of the brick building next door, comfortable bed, but oddly shaped room with little space to get ready. The "Chinese print" they had hanging on the wall was upside down - for an international chain I expect better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.