We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #38 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott for two nights while in Nashville. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. The location was perfect for sightseeing and visiting places like the clubs on Broadway and 2nd Ave, the Ryman and the CM Hall of Fame. Staff was on top of their game. The only downside is parking. The hotel has valet parking for $24/night (plus tip) but when we arrived the valets were swamped. Self parking in a public lot is much cheaper but be careful; many, including the one next to the hotel are closed on weekends... what's that all about??? I parked in the Central Parking lot behind the hotel on 3rd as it was open on weekends and it's only $13/day so I suggest you consider that option. Also, Demo's Steak House is right there on 3rd as well... don't let the cheap prices fool you because its excellent.... and gets very busy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    153
    67
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
142
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

was lucky to get a room at this hotel, as the SEC (basketball) tournament was going on & downtown nashville was jam packed with serious fans. we booked a king room & were upgraded to a very large king room with a sofabed. our room had a lousy view as it faced printers alley & some ugly rooftops, but we were on the 6th floor at the very end of the hall, and since the aforementioned bball fans were out partying all night long, we considered ourselves lucky because we were removed from most of the noise. the entire hotel and our room was very nice and clean, with the notable exception of the curtains in our room, which were stained in multiple places, and our sofabed, which was so gross looking that i used a sheet to cover it so i could sit on it, even though it was horribly uncomfortable. the sofabed mattress, which i expected to be gross, was new looking. if the sofa bed & curtains were replaced, the room would be great! while the hotel seems to be about 2 blocks from all the sights and attractions, guests should be aware that it is at the top of a rather steep hill. we had wanted to spend a lot of time listening to live music at the honky tonks on broadway, but the hill made going back & forth unappealing. previous posts about the unnecessary cost of valet parking were right on. several garages steps from the hotel will save you money if you self park. breakfast was good. every employee we encountered was extremely polite and helpful. the building was formerly a bank & the 1st floor is very attractive. i was happy to see & use a recycling bin in the ice machine alcove. highly recommend the gyro place just up the block.

Room Tip: high floor away from elevator or ice machine will avoid a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union,nj
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

No need for a car if you stay at the Courtyard Downtown. We were in walking distance to everything except the Grand Ole Opry which was a cab ride away as was the Gaylord Resort(a must to see). Easy walk to all the restaurants and bars, across from Ryman Auditorium(Old Opry), two blocks from the Country Music Hall of Fame, and most tours will pick you up in the lobby.
The hotel was immaculate,the staff went out of the way to be helpful,and the lobby a great place for breakfast or a glass of wine at the end of the evening.
We would return here!

Room Tip: A room on the opposite side of the street would be a little more quiet on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is an average hotel but convenient to downtown. The room was clean and functional. Hotel staff where friendly and helpful. Meeting rooms likewise were utilitarian but adequate. The restaurant leaves much to be desired unless you just want a quick snack.

Room Tip: Definitely want to be on a higher floor to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were in Nashville for a friend's suprise birthday party. The location is very good, pretty easy to get to when driving into Nashville and there was cheaper parking right next to hotel..instead of the valet and like $30 a day charge each day. We had no problems with navigating throughout nashville and felt safe at all times of the day, even when we were walking back after 3am. The bar/cafe downstairs serves pretty good food and the prices are not horrible. Check in and check out were quick and painless. Cleaning staff did a great job each night. The only complaint i had one night is after a certain hr the outside doors lock and you have to have your room key in order to enter. I wonder if there was a college dance/formal or something staying the same time we were, but a group of them did not have their card while the bellhop or night valet person continued to watch. Not one of them had their key and were very rude. when we tried to pass and get in, obviously since we produced our card they call came in with us and continued no run their mouths. Not that i would have wanted them to stay out in the cold all night, but a manager could have approached them and either could have made sure they were patrons or calmed them down. other than that the stay was just fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia,Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed three nights in late February using the "stay for breakfast" rate. The location is good, only blocks from almost everything Nashville. The room was a very good size in an L format and very quiet except for a one time appearance of loud drunks on the street at 2:30 AM, (certainly not the hotel's fault), we were surprised that their noise carried all the way up to the 7th floor. The furnishings not including the bed, are a bit worn but still functional, the bed was very comfortable. The temperature control allowed us to be as hot or cold as we wanted. The included breakfast was VERY good but it isn't easy to differentiate between what is included for free and what is extra cost. The quality was high and the service fast every morning. The hotel has a 24 hour store next to the front desk and there is a good market within 75 yards of the front door. The valet service was efficient and friendly. We would not hesitate to include this hotel in our future plans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I would have given this hotel a five-star rating, except for the absence of a full-service restaurant and also the fact it seems a bit overpriced. Fantastic location, very clean, very generous room size, and super comfortable bed. Staff was professional! We will probably return unless we are able to find another, more reasonably priced choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.