We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Upon arrival we were met with terrific valet service plus welcoming reception desk personnel. We upgraded to a suite and just loved the spacious room. The room was spotless, with a nice size living room, huge bedroom, and big bathroom. It felt like home away from home. The location is wonderful - every thing you would want to do in downtown Nashville is an easy walk - just know that if you walk down the hill to the action you must walk back up the hill later.
Thank you everyone - we had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    166
    73
    19
    12
See reviews for
64
152
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for a basketball tournament - within walking distance to the Bridgestone Arena and to many restaurants and bars. Room was clean, large, and had central air/heat which we could adjust to our liking (not the usual unit under the window). Although the breakfast buffet had a good selection, food was cold (with exception of made to order eggs/omelets) - I felt it was overpriced would suggest checking out other options. Staff was friendly and helpful. Checking in on a Friday afternoon was very difficult despite valet parking - we had to keep driving around the block to be able to stop to unload luggage and have car parked.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rimgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Hello Lin G. - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear that your stay at our hotel was good overall. Being so close to everything that downtown Nashville has to offer makes us not only convenient but also unique as we are one of the best located hotels around. I am sorry to hear that you felt that your check in experience was difficult. We find our valet service usually makes the check in experience easier, however, Friday afternoons can be a busy time. If there is anything I can do to assist in making your next visit at our hotel more enjoyable please let me know. I look forward to seeing you again on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Downtown in Nashville while visiting my son. Beautiful room that wasn't the usual box design, big comfy bed. The front staff was friendly and excellent with answering any questions as I find is usually the case when you stay at a Marriott! It was close to all the fun bars and restaurants which made it convenient but the best part, although not part of the hotel, was the terrific coffee shop across the street!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stay here often for business. The internet speed has improved greatly in the past three months and is very fast regardless of the time of day.

The staff are second to none and the valet staff is prompt (they run to get cars when busy!) and very courteous, nearly always taking my bags in and out of the car.

I only wish the hotel bar served food. The breakfast buffet is very good.

It also has the largest and most complete workout room of any Courtyard I've stayed in (I nearly made Platinum last year, so I've stayed at a lot of them.)
The rooms are updated to current Courtyard standards, though the carpet in some rooms feels worn.

Beware of the rooms on Church Street that are far down the hall, the closer you get to Printer's Alley, the more street music you'll hear at night. This isn't anything the hotel can address, but I always request a room on the 4th Avenue side.

Location is perfect for going out and enjoying all the nightlife in Nashville. I highly recommend Puckett's at 5th and Church for fabulous BBQ.

Room Tip: ask for one on 4th Avenue to avoid the nightlife noise from Printer's Alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Got three rooms on Priceline for just $75 per night and for that reason alone ,I am not disappointed. These rooms are old and need renovation, so I would have been flaming mad - might have even checked out- if I had paid even the discounted $199 p/night rate! Comparable to an older Holiday Inn. At least the beds were comfortable and the linens were decent. The bathrooms and showers were old and small. They had ample room for two queen beds, but put two doubles in the room instead. They should really consider either making some serious upgrades to make the rooms worth the rate or reducing the rate to a more reasonable $100 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I always choose Marriott because of the government discounts and the rewards program. This location was no different than all the other large Marriott hotels: clean and comfortable room, adequate customer service, excellent value. Fast elevator! I prefer the smaller location because they offer free internet and coffee. When only larger hotels are available, Marriott is a great choice. I always appreciate the attention they pay to comfort in the room, including several feather pillows and a spacious shower with a high shower head. This chain is a tall man's dream.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing west to catch a great sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Only reason I did not give this hotel a five star rating is the room decor. Mostly because of the smallish bathroom area and ugly wallpaper/tile combination in our particular room. However, this hotel is in a great location with incredible service. It's a large property yet the employees treat you like they only have a few guests. Good job, Marriott! Pretty pricey for a three star hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a high floor. You can hear the music from Printers Alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Nashville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#31 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.