We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219 (Downtown Nashville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #34 of 150 hotels in Nashville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prospect, Kentucky
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Exceptional customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We arrived at approximately 9PM on a Thursday night, having driven down in a blinding rain from Louisville. We were in town to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. Janelle was the first person we encountered at the front desk and what an asset she is to this property!! Very professional while being compassionate at the same time. I was weary from the stressful drive down and sort of half hearted asked if we could have an upgrade since was our anniversary. Janelle immediately granted my request and we were given a Jacuzzi suite on the 11th floor.

Upon settling into the room we decided to try out the tub since we were chilled from the cold rain. We noticed that the jets didn't work but given the circumstance figured it was ok, we'd just report it in the morning when we left to go site see. Regardless, the warm soaking water felt great!!

The next morning we reported the non-working jets and left to go site see. Of note, there is a Dunn Bros coffee (separate review) right across the street from the hotel. We visited there each morning for wonderful lattes, danish and oatmeal. Well caffeinated, we headed out to site see. We walked all over downtown, and while hilly, Nashville has an awesome pedestrian downtown. We strolled 2nd street (2 blocks from the hotel) and Printer's Alley (separate review--less than one block from the hotel). We decided that, later that night we would visit a bar in Printer's Alley to see Bekka Bramlett play, and then go to BB King's (separate review) on Saturday night.

Upon returning to the hotel for some RnR before our anniversary dinner at the Capitol Grille we again noted that the jets had not been fixed in the tub. A call to the front desk brought maintenance right away who replaced the pump for the jets and it worked fine after that.

The room, standard for courtyard, was very comfortable in size and the be slept very well. Couple of pieces of information about this location. It is close enough to Printer's Alley that you will hear the music late at night (like until 3-4AM). We were always so exhausted by the time we returned to the room, we would immediately crash and I would only hear the music for a short while until I feel asleep. If you are not a late night person and sleep lightly, this is probably not the location for you. In addition, even on the 11th floor, we could hear the street noise below. This location would probably do well with a good sound proofing, but since it is an historical building, I'm not sure that is even possible. Regardless, if you literally want to be in the middle (and I mean middle) of everything, this is the location for you. Note, the hotel does sit on a hill and if you are not in relatively good shape, walking back from 2nd Street may take a couple of tries. If you've been drinking, it make take about a dozen, lol.

The staff is what makes this hotel, without a doubt. Everyone we encountered, from the doorman to the valet to the front desk people were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. I cannot commend them enough!!

Being we are so close to Nashville, we frequent the city quite often for fun RnR weekend getaways. We have officially discovered our hotel of choice for our visits and have no intention if staying anywhere else :)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask to be on the side away from Printer's Alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    155
    67
    17
    12
See reviews for
60
142
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Love this hotel. In an old bank building right downtown, this is a wonderful property. The rooms are uniquely laid out since it was a multi story bank many years ago, but ours was spacious, with a big bathroom. The rooms are clean, comfortable, nicely decorate. The staff was excellent. They were friendly, service oriented and couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed. The location is one block from the Ryman Auditorium and just around the corner from Printers Alley and all the music on Broadway. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I came down for the Blackhawks and Predators game, and this hotel was great! The rooms were great size! If traveling with a group, like we did, request adjoining rooms. I also suggest the $11/person all you can eat breakfast buffet.

The hotel is in the heart of the city. We valeted our car when we arrived and never had to touch it again. We were able to walk EVERYWHERE i.e. Bridgestone arena, LP field, the famous bars on Broadway and Printers alley. The only complaint I had was the shower ran out of hot water very quickly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We recently visited the Courtyard Downtown Nashville for the Music City Bowl. Other than the common areas, which are more charming than your typical Courtyard, the rooms we very typical of Courtyards. What makes this hotel stand out is the close proximity to the downtown bars, restaurants and stadiums. It is a very easy walk to the bars and restaurants, and a manageable (about 10 minutes) to the football stadium. There is a convenience store about a block away from the hotel where you can stock up on drinks, snacks, etc. For Marriott members, this is a terrific use of points for a Category 4 Marriott hotel. I don't think I would spend the extra money or points to stay at the Renaissance.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

Perfect location to Music Row! Clean rooms, quiet, & roomy. Lounge closed due to post holiday slowness. Parking is EXPENSIVE @$22!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a national contest along with hundreds of other families. Even with all the people staying there and needing to use the elevators, the elevator service was fast, which was important to us! The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean, although they weren't very big. If you plan to park in their parking garage, check out the prices beforehand, as it can be pricey.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Great location to the bars on Broadway. Valet parking is expensive, $22/night plus tax. We booked the room to see a show at the Grand Ole Opry, which is about a 15 minute drive. Room was large and clean. If you make dinner reservations that aren't within walking distance (for example, we went to Sambuca which is about a little over a mile away), taxis are available.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown

Address: 170 4th Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville > Downtown Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Nashville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#30 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique among hotels in downtown Nashville, TN, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is a stunning, century-old high-rise set in the heart of the city. Our hotel features a new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi As a top choice among Nashville hotels, the Courtyard Nashville Downtown is walking distance from all entertainment, major businesses, music and sports venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Nashville Downtown Hotel Nashville
Courtyard Nashville Downtown
Nashville Marriott
Nashville Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Nashville Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.