We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, fabulous restaurants, rooms need improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, fabulous restaurants, rooms need improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

First of all I have to say that this resort is absolutely beautiful. We used valet parking upon arriving ($28 per day) and we stayed at the resort all weekend enjoying the food and scenery, just relaxed! Check in was speedy and we were off to our room. My only negative about our stay was the bed. It wasn't very comfortable, we only had 2 small pillows, and no comforter left me cold. There is only a sheet and one blanket. Upon calling the front desk, they brought me another blanket. The bed just lacked overall comfort for the cost we paid per night. We also had issues with the TV lagging which was frustrating, but we didn't bother reporting it and having someone come out. Otherwise, the room is beautiful and we enjoyed the peacefulness of the balcony with atrium view. We walked the resort and took in the beauty of all of the waterfalls, flowers, and peaceful benches to sit and just talk. We also enjoyed breakfast both morning at Cascades. Wow. You have to go here - the menu items are so yummy. Solario for dinner Saturday evening was very romantic and again, another amazing meal. We were so impressed. We then walked over to the Delta to watch the water show and then rode the Delta riverboats which was short but romantic and informative. Lastly we enjoyed cheesecake and coffee at Cascades. This place is great for romance and delicious meals. I just wish it was a more comfortable nights sleep for what we paid. Everyone should stay here at least once though!

Room Tip: The atrium rooms have balconies and are very nice, higher rooms have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,396
    1,740
    985
    558
    448
See reviews for
1,338
1,308
124
2,263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,071)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

You can't argue that the fact that this hotel is very interesting and a destination unto itself. For that it gets a very good rating. We had a cascade balcony room on the 3rd floor. Nice look into the atrium but it was a bit noisy at bedtime with carts and voices coming from the atrium. The room itself was spacious with a king bed but the bathroom was tiny. One person at a time for sure. We have been here a few times in the past and it has always been busy and pretty consistent. Room was relatively clean except for the coffee stains on the wall by the wastebasket and a few carpet stains as well.

The atrium bar was packed but we did manage to find a seat and get served. The waitress was very friendly and got our drinks quickly which earned her a good tip.

Room Tip: If you get a balcony room ask for the 5th floor or higher to keep the noise at bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

While this hotel is lovely on the inside with the gardens, waterfalls, and lovely shops, the rooms are overpriced and average. We waited in line for over 40 minutes in our car just to reach the front door and try to get in the hotel to check in. Once we reached the valet service and got into the hotel, it was so packed we waited another 45 minutes in line to check in. We were there during the middle of the week. I can't begin to imagine the crowds on a weekend.
We had great difficulty finding our room because the place is so huge, but could not find anyone to ask for help. I would never stay here again.
The valet staff was the bright side to our stay.

Room Tip: Perhaps one that overlooks the main garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Gaylord Opryland. We were sorry to discover that you were made to wait longer than anticipated while entering the parking lot and at check-in. The lines do get long from time to time but we are usually able to move people through them very quickly. We are pleased you enjoyed the gardens and shops.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Room prices are reasonable, but the restaurants and everything else is quite expensive. If there were only a casino it would be perfect! Rooms could be cleaner, bathroom had mold in some spots in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I work for a Corporate Travel Management company and travel frequently for business as well as pleasure. I have never written a review but the room at this hotel was so bad I checked out a day early on this weekend vacation trip.

The room and hallways had an unpleasant odor, the bedding and pillows where not what I'm use to staying at any Marriott/Gaylord property. The windows in the room where filthy. There was a bulb out in the bathroom that never got changed.
I have stayed at the Gaylord in Dallas and I use Marriott properties very often for business and personal travel and I'm usually very happy. I checked out a day early because of the condition of the room and stayed at a Courtyard which was much better.
I'm a Senior Account Manager for a Corporate Travel Management company and would never recommend this property to any individual business travelers or any of the groups that we handle.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with your room and allow us to thank you for your stay with us. At Gaylord Opryland we pride ourselves on being a hotel dedicated to flawless customer service, and it’s clear we did not provide this for you. Our leadership team uses guest feedback like yours to address areas of concern and take corrective measures in order to improve our guests’ experience. We have asked one of our leaders to reach out to you directly to discuss this further. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Gaylord is fascinating, akin to something you'd find in Vegas but with a bit less in-your-face glitz. When you visit, definitely plan an hour or so just to wander around the hotel complex to check out the various themed areas. The indoor river/waterfall area in Cascades is very cool but I preferred the Delta gardens even more.

Another advantage is that the Gaylord is right next to (5 min drive parking lot to parking lot) to the Grand Ole Opry - perfect for catching an evening gig. The drive into Nashville itself can be a little confusing for out-of-towners - watch out for the cacophony of splitting turn-offs and exits on the freeway.

The rooms themselves are ok - decently done though nothing special. Go for the experience, not a high end hotel stay.

Check in desk offered excellent service and they offer a military discount (ID proof required).

Room Tip: They offer a military discount (ID proof required).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Gaylord Opryland. We are so glad you enjoyed exploring our nine acres of indoor gardens and our location to the Grand Ole Opry. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

As massive as this place is - and it is MASSIVE - it is friendly and welcoming in its thoughtful design and motivated staff. Think of three well-designed separate villages/attractions, all beneath a single glass roof and you might get somewhere close to understanding what this place is like. Good signage helps with navigation. There is a "river" on which you can take boat rides - all within the hotel - and the greenery is very impressive. I was at a conference attended by 3,500 people - and we took only part of the hotel! The rooms are large and spotlessly clean and the restaurants are first class. It is also well-placed for the nearby famous Opry and, if you like live music, you MUST take the $25 cab ride to the Honky-Tonk bars in downtown Broadway, where the music form excellent musicians is never-ending in just about every bar. No entry fees and reasonably-priced drinks adds to the enjoyment!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the indoor gardens and on-site restaurants and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Nashville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Sheraton Music City Hotel
#35 of 152 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hutton Hotel
#10 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#38 Family Hotel in Nashville
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Amex, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.