We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great for a conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in August. The hotel is beautiful with a very tropical feel, but its also massive and doesn't seem to be very easy to navigate. Its 9 acres of building under one roof, so its a lot of walking. While I think this is a great place to hold a conference (especially in the winter months), I wouldn't recommend it for a vacation. And must admit I was a bit disappointed at how small the pool was compared to the enormity of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you had an enjoyable conference experience and are disappointed that our pools did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,856
    1,239
    721
    411
    331
See reviews for
992
964
107
1688
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I tagged along with my husband on a business trip. The hotel was huge and beautiful. It could be quite easy to get lost however, I constantly carried my map which proved to be very helpful. As excpected the restaurants were very expensive. The food was just ok (except Jack Daniels, it was on point) and if you are a picky eater it would be hard to find something you would like. The room was nice, we had a balcony which was entertaining in itself. Their is a shopping mall within walking distance that was easier to walk to than drive. The only downside I had was that we wanted to go on the boat that takes you around the Delta part of the hotel. Of the three days we were there it was "reserved" for a special group. If I had paid for the hotel room with my money and did not get to get on the boat I would have been more than just disappointed. Otherwise it was a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad you had a great stay and apologize that some parts of your visit did not meet your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Opryland hotel. It's huge, but well managed and well maintained. Great service, consistently. It's a unique property, very much a resort feel. Lots of shops and nice places to walk. Great fitness center and nice pools.

Room Tip: Delta section very nice. Magnolia too far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying at Gaylord Opryland and for the kind words. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience, and we look forward to seeing your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Gaylord Opryland in September for a week for a conference. The resort is very beautiful. The gardens are well maintained and the fountains and waterfalls are nice. However, the hotel makes you feel like you are in a bubble. At the end of the day, my co-workers and I couldn't wait to go outside to get some fresh air after spending the entire day inside.

There was a good selection of restaurants. However it did not make sense to close some of their restaurants on some of the busiest nights. On one night, we went to three different restaurants. The first one was closed and the second one had a 45 min - 1 hr wait. Finally, we ended up going to the sushi restaurant that had a 30 min wait. The food was good but overpriced. On another night, all the restaurants we wanted to go to had at least a 45-min wait so we ended up going to the restaurant at the hotel across the street (Opry Backstage Grill located in the Inn at Opryland hotel which is also owned by the Gaylord). The food was good and better priced. We also tried the Solario restaurant and the food was not bad but definitely not authentic Mexican food.

There is an outlet mall (Opry Mills) located right behind the hotel and there is a convenient path connecting the hotel to the outlets.

The convention centre area is nice however was far from my room (15 min walk). The hotel is great if you are there for a conference. Otherwise, there is not much around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at Gaylord Texan before and had great experiences each time. This experience was VERY different! It seemed like there were too many guests and not nearly enough staff! It took 20 minutes just to get from the parking line to the canopy to unload, our luggage got whisked away to a room without explanation of where it would be and how to retrieve it, then another 45 minutes to check in. The staff was almost rude because of the stress they were under.
Our room was comfortable and adequate but not as grand as it should have been at the Gaylord Resort standards and luxury prices charged.
Restaurant prices were more than expected for even luxury resorts, there was no quiet bar just to sit in the evening and get a drink. When we tried to prepare for an early checkout, all information we were told was not followed through by the staff and left us with no itemized bill to review as promised and no opportunity for express checkout as promised.....therefore, we had to once again stand in line to check out.
The whole experience made us feel like we were a bother to the staff in a too crowded situation!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the service you experienced upon arrival and allow us to thank you for your stay with us. At Gaylord Opryland we pride ourselves on being a hotel dedicated to flawless customer service, and it’s clear we did not provide this for you. Our leadership team uses guest feedback like yours to address areas of concern and take corrective measures in order to improve our guests’ experience. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found it typical of any large resort that caters to conventions. No casinos like Las Vegas but if I was a country western fan it would suffice. The room was average without refrigerator. Only one bar of soap for two sinks and a shower seemed inadequate. Be prepared to walk forever. If you have stayed at the MG Grand in Las Vegas then you will understand just how much walking is involved. The atrium and garden areas are nice. I have heard several complaints about prices but they seem in line for a resort. The cab ride from the airport is a $25 flat fee one way. Ask the cab driver for a phone number and you will be set for transportation. If there is a large convention going on I would not want to stay here due to lines at all food establishments. I would suggest heading out to see the city for food and nightlife. These all in one places are not my cup of tea. It was a decent experience. But if I were paying I would go elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We strive to ensure each customer has a flawless guest experience and we’re very sorry we did not provide this for you. We hope to have an opportunity to change your impression of our hotel and that you will consider Gaylord Opryland upon your return to the Nashville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved it! Rooms are a little pricey for square footage and amenities, lacking microwave. Beds are very comfortable and the atrium view rooms are really worth it. Fastest room service of anywhere we have stayed, utilized it twice. The customer service was great. All restaurants were open with no waiting. Only congestion issue was valet parking on check out. In their defense it was pouring rain and 1500 people were scheduled to checkout that morning. Had everything we needed so we never left the property. We definitely plan on returning. It ranks as one of our top hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms are the best, we liked the cascades area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks so much for sharing your experience. We are thrilled you had such a memorable experience, and that our staff provided flawless service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gaylord Opryland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
#31 Family Hotel in Nashville
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.