We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our all-time favourite!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still our all-time favourite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there for the fourth time, and we still love it! There's no place quite like it, and it will always be special for our family. From the moment we arrived, we felt as if we were home. We were given a complimentary upgrade to an atrium view room in my favourite Cascades. There had been a few changes since our last visit, but all good. Housekeeping was fine, food was good (loved Jack Daniels bar, Fuse sports bar, and Cascades the best), service from all the staff was great. Will never tire of this place, just need to save some money for our next trip there; Oh didn't I say? We will be back Dv.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,775
    1,147
    670
    391
    319
See reviews for
928
913
101
1593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not impressed. Way to spread out. Not a family destination. Built more for conventions not the family vacation. $21 dollars to park is outrageous. Service in dining areas could be better. Small rooms for the price and check in is way to long. Would not recommend for family trip to Nashville!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I swear half the time I stayed I was trying to find my way somewhere. When you are 'inside outside' everything looks very similar, and is very confusing. There need to be more signs located around the atrium areas.

Dining options:
All very pricy (are you really surprised?) expect to pay upwards of $15-20 a meal if you do not venture outside (Opry Mills Mall is about ½ mile through the parking lots of the hotel and mall itself, I highly recommend visiting.) Food is much cheaper there, and much better in some cases.
- We tried Cascades/Wasabi (inside the hotel) see the picture uploaded, the Bento Box was very good, but overall with tip cost about $35!
-We tried Stax burgers (inside the hotel), it was pretty good. Burger/soda combo cost about $15, so on the cheaper end of the hotel.
-Chili's at Opry Mills, just your average Chili's.
-Chuy's in Opry Mills. I HIGHLY recommend this place, had it in Houston and was curious to how it would match up here. Probably the best Tex-Mex you can find in the area. Try the creamy jalapeno dip.
-Gelato place (Can't remember the name) was very good. Also very pricey! Try the 'donutella' if available!

Room:
Pretty nice room, ours had a terrible view. The window at the back end of the room (D2003) was completely covered by a bush, obstructing our 'Atrium View'. Bathroom nice, water here has a horrid chlorine smell, after you shower the bathroom/room smells like a poolhouse. Had an (empty) mini fridge, so that was a very nice addition. TV has most cable channels, and an On Demand section if that is what you are into.

Shuttle services:
Maybe cheaper to take a taxi! Airport shuttle was around $40 round trip! Shuttle to the Wildhorse Saloon (Highly recommended!) / Downtown area was $20 r/t. There are (I believe free!) shuttles that will take you to the Grand Ole Opry (also about ½ mile from the hotel, just on the left side of the mall entrance) and the mall. Unless you are handicapped, you can most likely walk there.

Overall:
You will get lost at least once! If you need to be somewhere at a certain time, be sure to leave your room a bit early because it is a maze to find the correct area/exit.

Room Tip: Pick a room above the second floor to avoid bushes covering the window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a nice time. The hotel is huge. You literally need a map to find your way around. It can be difficult for people with mobility issues. For those without issues, the atriums are great for evening strolls. The plants and atriums are beautiful and well maintained. The gym has a number of cardio and weight machines and the pools are large, although the outdoor one is very crowded and not conducive to lap swimming. The spa has lots of options, all of them expensive, but relaxing. Nice locker rooms in the spa. The grand ole opry and a shopping mall are walking distance away and there is also a shuttle. A shuttle also goes to the General Jackson boat show and ride (the show is good). There are shuttles to these places too, and there is always a long line for them. The front desk staff was very friendly. The hotel is expensive. There are a number of nice restaurants and shops, but high prices. While many hotels near the airport offer a free shuttle, the Gaylord charges a hefty fee. There is a charge for internet in the room, although the fee is waived if you have a status on the frequent stay card. There is a small river in one of the atriums and a boat ride, again rather expensive (about $10) for the ride. Parking is more than $20 a day and is in addition to the room fee. There is also a resort fee that is in addition to the room. There is a nice light and fountain show some evenings so be sure to seek that out. The conference area is large.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the atriums have nice views. The others overlook parking lots or roof/ other par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very LARGE property. My room was in Magnolia and had to walk through the entire hotel to get to my elevator. The grounds are beautiful, with a great indoor atrium, including rivers, waterfalls, etc.. Grabbed a chair and caught a nighttime lightning storm while under the comfort of the glass ceiling. Many dining and entertainment options. Little shopping village closes early, so no late night ice cream except in the gift shop for an arm and a leg. The staff are very helpful. Both beds in my room squeaked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was there for a Nurse Practitioner conference. The Gaylord bus broke down on the way to the hotel. Check in took over 50 minutes with limited air conditioning in the sweltering lobby. Lines were very long for EVERY SINGLE MEAL. Ugh. And if you don't have your own car you are trapped "under the dome". It is a lovely property outside the rooms. The rooms smell damp and are outdated. Now for the good points: every single wait staff was pleasant and helpful. The Spa was amazing and just what I expected. I will not return to this property or to any other Gaylord property to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, MA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled here with our three kids. The atriums and gardens are truly spectacular. One of them even has a boat ride. I see other people complained about having to walk a lot. I actually enjoyed that about this hotel. You can walk around the hotel at night and feel totally safe. It was 95 degrees when we were there so eating in the restaurants inside the atriums was quite nice. My kids enjoyed the pool although I found it quite small in comparison to the grand scale of everything else. Nothing here is cheap. Expect to pay $21 to park and $18 for the resort fee. The room was nice but we didn't have an interior room with a waterfall view. I slept really well here. Even though it is huge, the rooms are quite quiet. We stayed in the Cascades section.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that your family enjoyed our atrium environments and that our guest rooms met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Gaylord Opryland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites Nashville @ Opryland
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Downtown Nashville
Omni Nashville Hotel
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 150 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
Downtown Nashville
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 150 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Roman...
Show More
Hutton Hotel
Hutton Hotel
#9 of 150 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Hyatt Place Nashville/Opryland
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
Homewood Suites Nashville Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#29 Family Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.