We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #56 of 152 Hotels in Nashville
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A small city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a nice time. The hotel is huge. You literally need a map to find your way around. It can be difficult for people with mobility issues. For those without issues, the atriums are great for evening strolls. The plants and atriums are beautiful and well maintained. The gym has a number of cardio and weight machines and the pools are large, although the outdoor one is very crowded and not conducive to lap swimming. The spa has lots of options, all of them expensive, but relaxing. Nice locker rooms in the spa. The grand ole opry and a shopping mall are walking distance away and there is also a shuttle. A shuttle also goes to the General Jackson boat show and ride (the show is good). There are shuttles to these places too, and there is always a long line for them. The front desk staff was very friendly. The hotel is expensive. There are a number of nice restaurants and shops, but high prices. While many hotels near the airport offer a free shuttle, the Gaylord charges a hefty fee. There is a charge for internet in the room, although the fee is waived if you have a status on the frequent stay card. There is a small river in one of the atriums and a boat ride, again rather expensive (about $10) for the ride. Parking is more than $20 a day and is in addition to the room fee. There is also a resort fee that is in addition to the room. There is a nice light and fountain show some evenings so be sure to seek that out. The conference area is large.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the atriums have nice views. The others overlook parking lots or roof/ other par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGAGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a very LARGE property. My room was in Magnolia and had to walk through the entire hotel to get to my elevator. The grounds are beautiful, with a great indoor atrium, including rivers, waterfalls, etc.. Grabbed a chair and caught a nighttime lightning storm while under the comfort of the glass ceiling. Many dining and entertainment options. Little shopping village closes early, so no late night ice cream except in the gift shop for an arm and a leg. The staff are very helpful. Both beds in my room squeaked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveI1302JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was there for a Nurse Practitioner conference. The Gaylord bus broke down on the way to the hotel. Check in took over 50 minutes with limited air conditioning in the sweltering lobby. Lines were very long for EVERY SINGLE MEAL. Ugh. And if you don't have your own car you are trapped "under the dome". It is a lovely property outside the rooms. The rooms smell damp and are outdated. Now for the good points: every single wait staff was pleasant and helpful. The Spa was amazing and just what I expected. I will not return to this property or to any other Gaylord property to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We traveled here with our three kids. The atriums and gardens are truly spectacular. One of them even has a boat ride. I see other people complained about having to walk a lot. I actually enjoyed that about this hotel. You can walk around the hotel at night and feel totally safe. It was 95 degrees when we were there so eating in the restaurants inside the atriums was quite nice. My kids enjoyed the pool although I found it quite small in comparison to the grand scale of everything else. Nothing here is cheap. Expect to pay $21 to park and $18 for the resort fee. The room was nice but we didn't have an interior room with a waterfall view. I slept really well here. Even though it is huge, the rooms are quite quiet. We stayed in the Cascades section.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that your family enjoyed our atrium environments and that our guest rooms met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Gaylord Opryland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Nashville for the Fourth of July fireworks ( rated second only to New York in the nation). I was told if you are coming to Nashville you should stay at the Gaylord. Once you learn your way around this place is unbelievable. It is the largest hotel complex in the United States that does not have a casino. The restaurants are fantastic and the gardens and little boat trip are quite nice. The rooms are large and comfortable. Get around learn your way and enjoy. We sure did!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank molarman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaylordOpryland, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I knew this was not going to be an intimate hotel when I saw it had 3000 rooms but wanted to be near the Grand Ole Opry. I'd recommend a better smaller hotel with a driver over this place.
long line ups
bags take hours to get to your room
phone did not work for us
very contrived feeling
Staff really tried and had great attitudes which saved it.

Room Tip: inside over garden is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is freakin' huge and you better be ready to walk a lot without any help from the staff. Took us over 45 minutes to check-in and no place to sit while you are in line. After we got our keys, get ready to lug your things through mazes and twists without a single offer from the staff for a cart - usually when they see a handicapped women struggling the bellmen come running at other hotels. The only good and bad thing is you can do everything in one location except get groceries to help defray the exorbitant prices of food and it costs $25 one-way for a taxi to take you to a grocery store. There is no movie on location nor evening activities Unless you want to eat or drink and again, There is a nearby mall for those that can walk the distance or have access to a car (beware the $21 per day price for parking though). There is NO FREE SHUTTLE to and from the airport or even for those quick little trips for those of us that can't walk to the mall. $30 one - way per person for their shuttle to take you from the airport. Take a taxi, at least that was only $29 for 5 of us.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WGIDIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashville hotels
Omni Nashville Hotel
#3 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Nashville
Sheraton Nashville Downtown Hotel
Hilton Nashville Downtown
#7 of 152 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#37 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing