We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go anywhere else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Country Christmas
Ranked #49 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
brooklyn, nyc
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Why go anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

I just don't understand the negative reviews some fellow advisors have submitted. This hotel does it right! By way of comparison, we (3 of us) spent less than $1,500 for airfare, hotel and car for 5 days. This is not expensive. The Gaylord is centrally located, walking distance to the Opry, for example and no more than 10 minutes to the District and Music City. We even drove to Memphis to ** see ** Elvis. The Gaylord has an amazing spa and gym. The grounds are gorgeous. No expense is spared. Yes, they charge a $15 per day resort fee. So what? You get: internet, 2 bottles of water, an amazing gym and several pools. So many other hotels offer far less, and still charge a fee. I agree that parking is expensive ($26 per day for valet and $16 per day for self parking). Not sure what to say about that. I do, however, suggest that self parking is so unbelievably inconvenient, the premium for valet parking is well worth it (I happen to be frugal, BTW!) The staff here is top notch: the customer is always right, and they make a nice effort.

  • Liked — the gym
  • Disliked — the parking fee
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,999
    1,366
    796
    466
    363
See reviews for
1,066
1,075
112
1,847
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,672)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

I was recently at the Opryland for a business trip. I loved the hotel immediately upon arriving. The grounds are beautiful and grand. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, service was very good. In short, we did not experience any of the problems I am reading about here. My room was very nice, was clean, and indeed had a refrigerator. The resort fee of $15 is clearly stated upon check-in in a few locations. Is it a little much for internet access, 2 bottles of water daily, and a USA today? Yes, but not outrageous.

At the Old Hickory steakhouse I had one of the best steaks I've ever had, and that includes many high end steakhouses. Even the buffet style food provided for my conventionwas pretty good. Overall, we had no complaints outside of wishing it was a little closer to downtown Nashville.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

I stayed at the Opryland Resort in June for business travel. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice, slightly more average than I expected. The bedding (cover) could be better, perhaps a duvet like most hotels are doing.

The gardens surrounding the hotel are spectacular. Waterfalls, rivers, flowers and paths to enjoy them. Bring your walking shoes... this place is big.

Food was great. Nice variety of restaurants. Be sure to visit the nearby Grand Old Opry and museum. Very well done. Shopping (huge mall) and the Grand Old Opry are both walking distance.

  • Liked — The beauty of the entire hotel and the gardens.
  • Disliked — The average room and bedding.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

This is my second stay at the Opryland Hotel and it was perfect both times. Until you experience this hotel yourself, it is hard to explain just how increadable it really is. The complexe sits on
52 acres of which 7 acres are inside "under glass". There is actually a river inside the hotel that takes guest on a boat ride around the complexe. Inside the hotel are many different eateries from a quick snack to gormet dinners. They most recently opened a new very trendy night club within the hotel as well. The hotel is within easy walking distance to Opryland and the Opryland Mall. However if you want a ride they have shuttles that run to all the major attractions throughout the day and evening. The staff was very warm and friendly and always provided helpfull directions to get around the place. The pools were increadable as well as the rest of the hotel. You will find that you dont go outside often because you have everything you need within the hotel and it really seems like you are outside..
The hotel is also and excellent place to stay if you are visiting Vanderbuilt University. Vanderbuilt is about 9 miles away..
I would and will be staying here again.. Once you go you will want to return!

  • Liked — 7 acres of "outdoors" inside under glass
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

A business trip called for an over night stay in Music City, USA. Having heard great things about the Gaylord Opryland Resort, I checked their web site as well as other discount sites and found the rooms were WAY out of my expense account range. So, having learned a long time ago, "you have not cause you asketh not," I called the hotel directly and explained that I would like to know if they had any "discount prices available for someone who had never stayed there before and would like to give them a chance to exceed my expectations, with the hope of coming back with my wife on another visit."

To my surprise, the lady gave me a luxury king room for only $99.00! To cut to the chase, the inside of this place was...well, you would have to see it to believe it--gorgeous and breath taking! They indeed exceeded my expectations!

My only complaint was that the steak I had for dinner was overcooked (and a bit over priced).

What a great place to return with my wife for a romantic weekend...that will surely follow before the summer is over!

Still CRAZY...in love after all these years!

  • Liked — Comfort & Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

The Opryland resort itself is beautiful. The room was a disappointment. Our carpet was badly worn and big dark stains all over it. The toilet paper holders were so cheap they would not hold the toilet paper on them. The comforters were cheap, old, and worn. They did not have a self check-out policy, so we all had to wait to get checked out to catch the airport shuttle. We were there for the Country Music Festival. If we go again, I would stay at the less expensive hotels, they are cleaner, friendlier, less expensive, and more comfortable beds.

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, Price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We booked the Gaylord for a family reunion. The check in was fine, the rooms were nice and clean but nothing spectalar for the price, but you're paying for the atmosphere. The interior of the hotel is unbelieveable! It's beautiful! Waterfalls and a small boat tour make it jaw dropping. However, be prepared for the prices that go with the beauty. Food, gifts, coffee, everything is way overpriced. If you're prepared for that, however, it's a lot of fun. Our only complaint was that the pool was not adequately staffed. Drinks/food were S-L-O-W!!! In fact, most drinks were warm or melted before they were received. They simply did not have enough help in the pool bar area. It was an extremely hot day and for whatever reason, they didn't have the staff there. I'm glad I stayed here, but I'm unsure I'd pay that much again....

  • Liked — The interior is beautiful
  • Disliked — The pool area was not adequately staffed.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#34 Business Hotel in Nashville
#36 Family Hotel in Nashville
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.