We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty in the Heart of the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #51 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Pinckneyville, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beauty in the Heart of the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This resort is beautiful! A stay here is an event in itself! The grounds are meticulously manicured and overall very impressive. Watch out for the prices, however! We paid over $40 for a breakfast buffet for two and $22 for two glasses of wine. We quickly learned to skip the on site dining.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,094
    1,452
    849
    497
    393
See reviews for
1,133
1,145
117
1,929
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights, used Marriott points but still paid over $80 for parking and fees. The fee was for water, pools and work out facilities. I knew going in so it was OK for the charges. We were in the Delta area, good view of the inside areas but no balcony. It was so beautiful. We loved the AQUA water fountain show, make a point to see it in the evening. I think we managed to see everything, the place is massive. We went to the Magnolia pool twice, since it was nice. I saw the outside pool in Cascades but it was full of kids and we didnt have any so we stayed away. I did not see the indoor pool and walked past the work out stuff, seemed to be a lot of machines. Walking is enough, I swear the car was half a mile away. We went to the mall which is close enough to walk if you can find your way to it from the hotel. Used self parking and can leave and come back as many times as you like for $20 per night. Took the bus downtown to Wildhorse Saturday night, it was easy to find and catch it back later. In general we enjoyed our stay! Did not eat there, or use any of the bars.

Room Tip: If you can afford a balcony in Delta, great views. Also in the Cascades area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

mold in ac vents. They told us to just deal with it. The staff was rude, insolent, ignorant and completely unhelpful. They had us walk all over the place with our luggage and no one helped us find our room. Unbelievable experience in the worst way. We couldn't wait to leave. But they charged us for parking even though it should have been waived. There are no prices on the menus, so buyer beware. A dinner for 3 people was $495, which included an automatic $83 tip for 3 people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Don't be fooled by the on-line price. You have to pay an extra $20 per day parking fee and $18 "resort fee". While it is a beautiful place, we found it just too big. Easy to get lost inside and could take you 15-20 minutes walking to different locations inside. There are so many rooms that on one day, the maid didn't get to our room to change towels until 4:30pm delaying our dinner trip. Prices at food places inside are very high. Shuttle downtown is $20 for a round trip (you can park downtown for $13). Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resaca, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Hotel is impressive and huge, but I would rather tour it than stay there.
We bought a so called Discounted room (that worked out to prepaid $200/night.)
Checking in took over 30 minutes.
At that time, I found that the fees I paid did not include the resort fee. ($10/ day) nor the parking
which offered a choice of nearly $30/day for Valet parking or $10 / day for self parking which means walking to the end of the hotel ( a good 400 yards,) then a quarter mile walk to the car.
The room was very dark, we had a view of irrigation equipment. My wife complained and the desk said we could not have a change in room, discount, nor refund.
I hoped to impress my wife with a luxury stay, and instead she was upset at me for booking her in a cave.
The restaurants were pretty good, but very expensive, and it takes an expedition to get out of the Gaylord complex.

Room Tip: Do not Prepay with a so called discounted rate. You will not be able to cancel if the experience is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Don't go! Especially if you are planning a conference. Over 100 people with our conference group were moved to other hotels. One of the hotels was in Murfreesboro over 1 hour away. They transported by a bus which was not friendly to their schedules. Because of this they missed important sessions and dinners. I am sorry they did not consider their schedules. The hotel did bring them back on Thursday but the majority of the group did not get into their rooms until 9:00 p.m. That is ridiculous! Needless to say I would never go back nor would I ever encourage any one to hold a conference there. It is difficult to maneuver around and a very long distance to get from your room to the conference center. That lacked too. The area where we were served our meals felt more like an automotive garage instead of a nice dining hall or large meeting venue. A barn would have been nicer and warmer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Overall, I think it is worth the stay once, especially if you have children or are going to the Grand Ole Opry. It is big, very clean, kid friendly with a lot of restaurants. It is expensive and not a great value. Check-in is entirely too long and the resort fee and taxes (including a parking tax) is ridiculous. The rooms are small, although very well kept. Request a room with a balcony or with a view inside the gardens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#36 Family Hotel in Nashville
#37 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.