We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #44 of 150 hotels in Nashville
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful spa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here while I attended a conference onsite. The resort is about 15 minutes from the airport and about 20 to downtown. The thing is that although they provide shuttles, etc...the resort is pretty secluded so I would recommend staying downtown if you aren't here for a conference.
I really enjoyed my spa experience and would highly recommend that if you have the time and want to splurge. It does get pricey. My colleague mentioned that she had to wait in line for a machine at the gym, it is a very popular place to go in the morning.

The cons for me were:
The freakishly small and wobbly elevators. This resort is huge, why are the elevators tiny? They fit about 4 people max!
The customer service was lacking. From the cafe's to the concierge..not impressed. The concierge employees really weren't that interested in assisting with coordinating excursions or providing info on the shuttles, etc. The two that I spoke with on different occasions seemed a little put out.
Housekeeping knocked on my door around 9am to clean, I asked if they could return in an hour and my room never got cleaned that day. They almost skipped my room the next day as well. I returned to my room at 3 o'clock and noticed nothing had been done. I saw a housekeeping staff employee in the hall and she apologized and said she must have missed my room. She was nice enough to stop what she was doing to tidy up and remove trash, towels, etc but you are charged $18 daily for the resort fee..you should get your two bottles of water and trash removed!
As others have mentioned there is a lot of walking. I didn't mind it at all but when my room keys stopped working it was a trek to go to the front for assistance. I wish they had concierge desks or something mid way through the resort to resolve the issue.
Pros:
It was great to have everything under one roof! If you are here for a convention or something where you really don't have the time to sigh tsee or coordinate your own outings, this is a great place to be. You don't have to leave and if you want to, there is a shuttle or taxi available to take you. The restaurants are okay, kind of what you would expect from a theme park. A little over priced and the food is okay, not stellar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,824
    1,196
    706
    404
    327
See reviews for
968
942
102
1658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

At first glance this hotel is beautiful. They have spent a good amount on that. The pros, great lobby complete with water falls, lots of restaraunts and bars. Cons, very poor quality mattress, walls so thin you can hear the neighbors talking quietly. Our room had a view of the garbage. Downtoen is 20 minutes and 25 cab ride with one dollar for each person. There are much better hotels for the money

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

$20 for self parking was a joke. You need a good pair of sneakers for all the walking you are going to do to get to your room. I'm not kidding. So large even the staff cant help you find your way to the front door. All the pools closed at 10 pm. Isn't this a resort? After all day in Nashville I couldn't take a swim. The bathroom was small. And we were woken up at 6 am by the room next door showering.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As I picked up my bag at the carousel there is a huge advert for the hotel - two young band members "of the popular beat type" band variety were sniggering at the name, as had my work colleagues - it is a name that doesn't even have irony attached...

Anyways, its a 4 star hotel with three big air conditioned greenhouses - and it is so mesmerizingly big that they have to give you a map when you arrive.

The rooms are fine, standard big hotel size and facilities (however they carefully hide the coffee making facilities under a sink for some odd reason.

There is plenty of expensive food choices and restaurants - the hallways however testified by the empty trays left outside - people ate in there rooms more than I've seen anywhere else before - I guess walking half a mile through two greenhouses and passed full size waterfalls were too daunting.

The gym gets busy at 06.00 - the coffee options all get queues from 07.30 and that dies away completely from 11.30 - all showing how colossally busy everything is.

Food was expensive in the restaurants, in fact everything is - an apple is $1.29 - however there is a cheaper dining option in the Oprylands Mills if you can find the only way there and across the quarternile of carpark [which is free parking and not much further than self parking at the hotel which costs $20 a day].

All in all from a conference perspective it is excellent and everything is in one place. Too expensive to consider to a holiday would be my opinion. Worth a visit if you're in the Oprylands Mills area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The cantankerous complainers should have done their homework before staying at the Gaylord Opryland...the hotel is the destination, not just a flop-house for a faux honky-tonk pub crawl. The manicured horticulture and decor are calming and enjoyable to walk through. Yes the food is expensive ($7 Special K) but you can go elsewhere pretty quickly if want alternatives. A 2-night visit is sufficient...everyone should stay here at least once.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms in Magnolia wing face fountain (for good or bad)...really relaxing to sit on balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I use to live an hour away from Nashville, so trips to the Opryland to gaze and the beautiful gardens and waterfalls were somewhat routine. Ten years later, I actually stayed here for the first time. My hotel room was perfectly functions, but nothing really special. Things were somewhat of a mixed bag, so here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
*Beautiful common areas, and I mean really beautiful
*Plentiful restaurant options
*Free wired internet
*Attentive staff
*VERY comfortable bed
*Close proximity to the Grand Ole Opry
*Very nice conference facilities
*Nice fitness center

Cons:
*We tried several of the restaurants and the food was mediocre at best, and incredibly overpriced.
*Only one restaurant serves a sit down breakfast, and each morning it had a 30-45 min wait.
*Room service is available, and the food was actually better than most of the restaurants, but the additional taxes and charges made it not a realistic option.
*You are a good 15-20 min cab ride from most of Nashville. Taxis from the Opryland to the most popular area of down town are a flat fee of $25, plus an additional dollar per additional person. Taxis outside of the popular down town area are metered and get pricey quickly.
*Claims to have wireless internet, but I could never get connected (the wired connection worked fine, and was free)

Conclusion: This was a great hotel for a conference, which is why I was staying there. But, if you are going to Nashville to see the city, I'd pass on this place. Its simply too far away to be useful. The food was really, really expensive for what you got, and this is from somebody who lives in D.C. and is use to overpaying for food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here May 31-June 3. Arrived about an hour before check in to long lines that moved very quickly! We were able to get side by side rooms with the other couple we were travelling with. It is close the the Opry Mills Mall and Opryland so that is convenient. The restaurants all closed early (by 10pm) when we were there-only one place stayed open late and we didn't care for the music that was playing. Would have liked to have somewhere to go after coming back from the Grand Old Opry Show. Beware of extra charges-parking $26 valet,$ 20 self , resort fee-$18, ATM. The ATM use included 2 fees (in addition to my banks fee)- one for checking balance (which I don't remember doing) and one for making a withdrawal-Total-$7.50. The resort fee did include 3 pools. ,gym, internet and 2 bottled waters each day-make sure you take advantage. Indoor pool is set up for lap swimming. Hotel itself is about 20 minute ride into town so that is not so convenient so a car (pay to park in town ), a cab(pay a fare) or shuttle ( fee) is needed. Resort is very pretty and the gardens are beautiful... We liked just walking around the resort. EVerything is very clean.(reminded me of Disney) I would stay here again if going to the Opryland, otherwise I would stay closer to downtown for convenience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
#33 Family Hotel in Nashville
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.