We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed this time.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Country Christmas
Ranked #49 of 149 Hotels in Nashville
Denville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed this time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've stayed here before for conferences and its an impressive facility.

However, conference food quality was mediocre at best. Finger foods were 100% fried..

My real complaint was the room. They putme in a room on the ground floor next to a major walkway made out of marble.

All you heard all night was heels banging on marble. Then 4 am, you hear floor buffers and trash pales being banged around like your local garbage man. All feet from where I was sleeping behind paper thin walls.

Then after complaining (why would they even engineer a room like this? If they know its next to crowds, why not build it with extra sound proofing?) I walk the miles to the front desk. They tell me, to pack all my stuff up (after i ironed and hung it up) and that they would text me later when a new room was assigned. At which point I have to walk the miles back to the front desk to get new keys.

Also, the in room wifi is horrible. My Sprint 3g phone is faster than this sad excuse for internet access)

Annoying enough, but so be it.

So then after 6 hours no text. i make the "cross the 56 acre campus walk" back to the front desk to be told 'oops, sorry we are sold out and there isn't a single room among the over 4,000 available. But we could put you up in a hotel 20 miles away if you want...' Seriously?

Their computer couldn't figure this out earlier? What if the bathroonm flooded and damaged a room or something? Not 1 extra room for any error margin in a hotel with over 4,000 rooms?

What a nightmare, so now I have to go 2 nights with little sleep due to the ridiculous noise, and then repack yet again tomorrow and rewalk the miles back to the front desk for new keys so that maybe I can get 1 nights sleep out of 3.

At a minimum just maybe they could have tossed me a food voucher or something for this sad excuse for a quiet nights sleep?

Avoid this place. Clearly their management has their head up their you know what and hasn't heard about social media and the dangers of not caring about their customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,016
    1,375
    803
    469
    365
See reviews for
1,080
1,082
113
1,851
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,685)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I attended the Focus Conference at the Gaylord for the second year in a row and wish that I learned about this conference year ago. The hotel is perfect from the clean comfortable rooms, to the excellent exhibit hall and lecture rooms. Being within walking distance of an outlet mall and of the Grand Ole Opry is a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went to Nashville to attend the Grand Ole Opry and tour the city. We booked two nights at the Gaylord Opryland Resort through a special anniversary (ours), two nights for the price of one night in April 2012. It is an expensive hotel, but the wonderful promotional price made it a bargain. So, for us the value was excellent. The resort is huge with many different sections, waterfalls, beautiful plantings, bridges, etc. It's almost a vacation in itself without leaving the property. We had a wonderful time and would stay there again any time we are in Nashville. It is walking distance to the Grand Ole Opry and a medium size shopping mall. Also, conveniently placed closely off the interstate and easily located. We loved every minute we spent in the resort and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony that was very pleasant. We only ate dinner there the first evening. As vegeta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Mixed feelings:
Love it -- beautiful plants, engineering feat.
Hate it -- *excessive* expense, gargantuanism.

But, a must see (at least once in a lifetime) despite contradictory feelings.


Day Trip
=======
(if not attending on-site convention/ conference)

Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.

Unless you feel obligated to continue feeding the white elephant, seek alternative accommodations.

If you think you're getting a bargain, think again. Any savings you imagine you're getting, quickly dissipate with exorbitant meal prices, parking, fees, boat rides, taxes, etc.. (See "Additional Costs" below.)

Unless your company is footing the bill (or $, €, £, ¥ is no issue for you), carefully budget what you're getting for money spent.


Lodge Downtown & Day Trip Up to Gaylord
----------------------------------------------------------
Spend considerably less on comfortable lodgings in town (Nashville) & make a day trip up to the marvellous Gaylord terrarium. Don't get me wrong, it's absolutely worth a "look see" -- whether decked out in holiday lights or not. Spend a full day exploring -- soaking in beauty (& tiring out youngsters).

If you've a budding horticulturist or gardner in the family, this is a great place for inspiration. But, take all the money you'll save by *not* staying in a immemorable room, & put it towards your future horticulturists education or garden seeds. Day-trip instead.


Bring Lunch
-----------------
Back-pack lunch/ drinks/ camera, dress in comfortable walking footwear/ clothes, drive to the resort & make a day of it. Explore nature's glorious beauty encased in a magnificent man-made structure.

You can have a wonderful time whether you stay in the resort or not. You'll "love it" if you can afford it & "loathe it" if it bleeds you dry.


Mapping, Walking, Crowding
--------------------------------------
Print out a map & have at it:
stage.gaylordhotels.atomz.com/gaylord-opryland/meetings/directions-transportation/hotel-map/index.html

Be aware, if youthful & fit, all day hoofing is a workout. If youngsters, elderly, or unfit in tow, plan for frequent sit-down breaks. Also, if crowd-averse, this is not a place for you. (Holidaymakers, conventioneers, staff can be overwhelming. Try off-season for smaller crowds.)



Lodging at Resort -- Practical Considerations
==================================

Guest Room (King Bed)
--------------------------------
A regular Guest Room (non-atrium, non-suite) is functional, comfortable, efficient -- particularly if you’re spending your day outside of it -- exploring, attending meetings, dining, etc.. A traditional hotel room 350 sq. ft. (32 sq. meters): basic & forgettable with typical wear of high-occupancy turnover.

Has mini-fridge & coffee maker but no microwave (can’t reheat takeout/ leftovers). If economizing, consider buying drinks off-site to minimize exorbitant on-site drink costs ($3+ for a soda) & storing in mini-fridge.

Spotty Internet/ Wifi; problematic if need access for work. Flat panel TV.


Resort/ Convention Gigantism
----------------------------------------
• Conglomerate of 6-story buildings that house rooms/ suites, restaurants, shops, atriums, convention center -- resulting in a humongous, sprawling site that's not easy to navigate. (Keep map on you at all times.)

• 2,800+ rooms/ suites -- resulting in staff's inability to maintain attention to detail & timely attentiveness to individual requests because dealing with such a quantity of rooms & vast numbers of guests.

• Thousands of guests (+ staff) inconvenienced by crowding (queues, waits, ambient noise) all jam-packed into an oversized-sized complex -- resulting in congestion of multitudes of people. Doesn't make for pleasant experience -- even if you're immersed in lovely, soothing, "natural" surroundings.


Drawbacks
---------------
• Crowds. Slow moving, cattle-like, meandering, cud-chewing masses of gawkers we all become. (Young, old, teens, tweens, middle-aged, toddlers, infants, firm, infirm -- creeping along, inch by inch, step by step.) If rushed to get to meeting, you can have difficulty weaving & squeezing your way through & around a massive wall of murmuring flesh. (Give yourself an early start & don't forget map.)

• Excessively, long queues (checking in (30+ minutes), getting a quick bite (45+ minutes), being seated at restaurant (55+ minutes)…)

• Endless waiting (for valet parked car (30+ minutes), service at eatery (40+ minutes)…)

• Exorbitant food/ beverage prices, even at less expensive eateries:
$ 15+ breakfast buffet (no free breakfasts)
$ 15+ "fast" food lunch
$ 30+ inexpensive dinner
====
$ 60+ for 1-person meals (for just 1 day)

(Easily double meal costs (& wait times) for better quality dining options. At $120+ per day, per person, missing meals/ fasting becomes a default.)

As a captive guest, you “give in” to paying these exorbitant prices when you're famished. For the expense, the food taste/ quality is surprisingly average. (Perhaps pricier food options at pricier eateries are tastier.) If you can eat off-site, (at Opry Mills Mall or downtown Nashville), you'll have a chance at an affordable meal with considerably less waiting (& larger serving).

• Death marches/ excessive walking. Particularly difficult if unfit, physically challenged, elderly, or small child. (But, enjoyable if you're fit & enjoy walking/ strolling & don't mind lots of people around.)

• Disorienting (feeling lost), acquire map & keep on you at all times. (Study/ print out the online resort map before booking so you’ll know where you’re located – particularly in relation to the Convention Center if here on business.)


Excessive Walking
-------------------------
Prepare to walk a lot; wear comfortable footwear & clothing. (You won’t need to step foot on a treadmill in exercise room.)

Allow enough “travel” time to walk to meetings/ appointments or wherever you need to be on foot; build in buffer time. (Segways would come in handy.)

If you’re a walker (& don’t require “a walker”), are indifferent to waiting & crowds, are comfortable navigating mazes, have abundant time & infinite patience, are not on a schedule or a budget – you can revel in the gargantuan.


Approximate Drive Times/ Distances
-------------------------------------------------
(Depending on Traffic)

• 10-20 min. (8.5 mi./ 14 km) to Nashville International Airport (BNA)

• 15-25 min. (11 mi./ 18 km) to Downtown Nashville

• 3-min. drive or 15-minute stroll (0.5 mi./ 0.8 km) or free Gaylord shuttle to Opry Mills Mall (Eateries in mall: Rainforest Café, Food Court; you may consider more affordable/ palatable to resort’s overpriced food.)

• 2-min. drive or 10-minute stroll (0.3 mi./ 0.5 km) to Grand Ole Opry



Exorbitant Costs (Never Mind Room Price)
=================================

DAILY Charges
---------------------
• $20 Self-parking (overnight) + Tax
or
$26 Valet Parking (overnight) + Tax + Tip

• $18 Resort Fee
(Covers: room Internet/ WiFi (spotty if trying to work/ check email...), bottled water, shuttles to nearby: Grand Ole Opry, General Jackson paddlewheel showboat, Opry Mills Mall -- which you can probably walk to in the time it takes to wait for, board & unboard the shuttle – provided you’re up to additional walking.)

• $30+ Taxes (state, occupancy, city, parking, resort...)



Other Expenses
----------------------
• $ Tips for Porter (& Valet)

• $10 Delta Riverboat Ride (on resort’s inside canal) per person

• $60 round trip per person ($30 1-way per person) Airport Shuttle. (Must make reservation.) [There's no free Gaylord *Airport* shuttle. Avoid confusing airport shuttle with “free” shuttle that takes you round to nearby Opryland attractions.] If traveling as couple, at $60 1-way trip on shuttle from airport for *both* of you (together) is exorbitant; you'll halve the cost with both of you (together) in a TAXI (including generous tip for luggage handling).

• Roughly $60 for 1-person's (less costly) breakfast, lunch, & dinner for just 1 day. (See meal breakdown under "Drawbacks" section above.) Exorbitant food prices not only at sit-down restaurants, but supposed less pricey, fast food eateries (pizza, burgers). (Costly enough if traveling solo & having to pay for just your meal, but if travelling as a couple or with hungry family, prepare to be gouged.) Remember, no free breakfasts.


Overall Perspective
--------------------------
Suitable for a brief stay: a long-weekend, several days; not really practical/ affordable for a week -- if your company isn’t footing the bill.

If company is picking up tab, enjoy – as much as you can. If you don’t need to be here for business, plan to spend, spend, spend.

B U D G E T -- particularly if you’ve children (who want to enjoy the extras like boat rides & other fun (additional charge) experiences or if you & your sweetheart just want to enjoy the (extra charge) events & dining out that Opryland offers.


Upside of Excessive Spending
-----------------------------------------
An advantage of staying overnight & spending an exorbitant amount sum is accumulating reward points (& overnight stays) towards Marriott's LIFETIME membership in 1 of its 3 levels:

1.2 mil. points + 250 nights = SILVER
1.6 mil. points + 500 nights = GOLD
2.0 mil. points + 750 nights = PLATINUM

Prepare adequately & you can have a grand ole time; otherwise you may bemoan the inconveniences & additional expenses at every turn.



Lovely But Lethal
=============
“Horticultural Stepford Wives" (from earlier stay) still apropos:

Abundant lush plants, foliage, flowers, waterfalls -- all meticulously, lovingly maintained. All under the perennially, blue-sky dome that nary a drop of rain penetrates. Marvel at the ingenuity, the masterful landscaping, planning, & fine detail that went into such a man-made creation.

The charm of leisurely strolls, exploring every facet of each atrium hour after hour, arm-in-arm with your loved one, until at the point of exhaustion, you need to wend your way (through the labyrinth) back to your room. If you hadn't the foresight to leave a trail of breadcrumbs or unwind a ball of string, you'll have to call a search party to escort you back to your quarters & revive you with food & drink. If you manage to crawl back to civilization on your own, the food court’s exorbitant prices may have you eyeing the koi & artificial water features with different intent.

For all its 1st-impression, paradise-like beauty, after a day or 2 darker thoughts emerge -- horticultural Stepford wives: dreamily perfect, horrifyingly artificial.

Gaylord Opryland, the monolithic resort that it is, deserves to be experienced at least once in a lifetime. It truly is magnificent. You may hold off returning until you've had a few years to recuperate (& pay back the accumulated debt) for a resort you'll find nearly impossible to leave; you cannot find a door from which to flee.

Consider staying elsewhere. Pack a lunch & a ball of string, & just visit the beautific atrium.

You may leave questioning the wisdom of living in a hermetically sealed, inescapable, glass house.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

There is nothing worse than hearing "we are over booked". Just checked in and got told the room I requested is gone. So now I'm at the furthest point possible from my conference and the hotel is huge... so thats quite a walk. I was worried when making the reservation because I have a health issie and can't walk that far. I guess there was no point in requesting that ahead of time. This hotel seems too big to make service a priority.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The property is expansive and beautiful. You wouldn't get bored walking through the paths they provide through the different wings. The plant life is very well taken care of and lush. While the room was a little dated I have no complaints with its cleanliness or the staff. I am however a little disappointed with the pricing of the restaurants and coffee. There are no coffee machines in the room. When you go to get coffee, it is $4.00 for a small, not even a Starbucks coffee either. While the food is good, it was pricey. There is a conference that is held there every year so I will be back. I doubt they will take this feedback into consideration as you are captive, where else are you going to go? For out of towners, I would highly recommend driving a short distance off property to Monell's for their family style dining. Great southern cooking!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Dirty looking fecal matter on shower curtain and dirty dusty rooms. On arrival No security at front door and no concerige. About 50 people hanging out the front that appeared drunk drinking bottles of beer and smoking. I had to walk in the road to avoid walking into the crowd.
Also I complained about my stay and they acted like they didn't care. U couldn't find my room and went looking for security and or employee with no luck.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
#36 Family Hotel in Nashville
#37 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.