We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay if you want the Nashville experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Nashville
Bridgewater, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The only place to stay if you want the Nashville experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Total Tourists the week we went to Nashville. First of all, anyone who thinks this place is too "touristy" dahh, it is Nashville!! If you want somewhere not Touristy stay home! It is travel and you are a tourist while you are there!

WOW.... first of all, when I walked into the atrium I cried. I dont think I have seen anything like this in my life, and I travel alot!! This was amazing!!! Just huge, blooming, lush gardens, food, people, waterfalls, beauty all around!!!

Eat the cookies at the snack bar... yummy!!

Go to the Grand Ole Opry and take the tour!!

Take the little boat tour inside the hotel and enjoy all the things they tell you, especially about Dolly Parton and the flooding.

Eat at STACKS!!!!!!!!!! Best Burger ever, I am even craving it now!!! The food at this place is superb!! Eat anywhere and you will be impressed!! Eat at FUZE to... Get the Nachos.. Wow... fabulous....

Clean rooms! So soft & plush beds... Not overly spcious, but cozy and we were never there!

Get a room with a balcony, so you can see your surroundings.

Visit the mall that is attached to the hotel, wickett, and way cheaper then renting a cab to go to one of the other 3 malls! OMG, expensive cab rides!!!

Rent a car and go to the Jack Daniels Brewery.. this was so cool.. A dry county and all that booze! Really interesting and a cool little town!

Never got to the spa or pool, it was october when we were there but it looked nice. The conference facilities were awesome! It was both business and pleasure for my husband and I.

Friendly southern hospitality and an awesome place to stay.. 1 of my favorite trips of last year!!!

This place is expensive, from the booze to the food and everything in between, so come prepared for a little extra spending.

Would go again in a heartbeat!!! This is the place to stay if you want to go to Nashville!! But then again, you probably already knew that!

Room Tip: Get an inside room towards the Garden section or Atrium. Get a balcony, its pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,170
    1,532
    891
    513
    412
See reviews for
1,185
1,176
117
2,042
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,871)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything a+...Clean rooms, great customer service, great food. Everything was great. from the minute we arrived we were treated like guests. The front desk took care of everything for us including room selection and location. This property is very big so if you have trouble walking this place might not be for you. Breathtaking views of this spectacular indoor resort that helps you relax while having a good time. the restaurants are a bit pricey but the food was top notch. All quality ingredients and great service. You don't feel like your being worked for a tip around here as people are just friendly cause they know how to be friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Marriott corporation has taken over management of the Opryland hotel in Nashville. We traveled on the weekend after Christmas and we had never seen the hotel as busy as it was that weekend. We tried to check-in at 4:00 and there were no rooms in the entire complex ready for check-in. We explored the resort while we waited and the bell staff kept our luggage. The bell staff was extremely friendly and helpful. While we waited we did the gingerbread decorating, it was very affordable, which is unusual for the hotel. We were compensated for having to wait 2 hours to check-in. The hotel was so crowded it was not enjoyable. I do like the new signs stating the wait times at all of the restaurants. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will be returning during the President's weekend and we hope it is not as crowded. The have also change the amenities. The soap, which used to be great has changed and is not as moisturizing and exfoiliating; the shampoo and conditioner are not as good as it used to be. Minor details, but frustrating the same. Do not change what works, I would like to see more affordable activities.

Room Tip: A high floor in the cascades atrium is great for people watching on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here over several days/nights in November 2012 for a large meeting. Our group is so large that there are very few facilities big enough to accomodate everyone under one roof. That's the appeal of most all the Gaylord properties. The rooms were average Marriott quality (Gaylord is under the Marriott umbrella) and the beds were decent. I will say they were better than the beds at the Gaylord National Harbour (Washington, DC), which are atrocious. The service was good and very attentive. Our meeting (sessions, meals, etc.) went off with out a hitch, which is no easy feat with 800 or so folks. The food was very good for a convention hotel but overpriced, which was not surprising.

Overall, a good experience if utilized as a convention hotel. However, I would never visit on my own. The decor inside the hotel (atrium, common areas, etc.) as well as facilities in general are very touristy (think Gatlinburg, TN) and not appealing to me in the least. There are many other properties that offer a much more urbane experience. I realize that I'm not the target demographic but I want to give everyone the unvarnished picture of what this hotel is like. Some of the folks in our group thought the property was the "bee's knees" and can't wait to return. There are waterfalls, plants, trees and flowers inside the atriums and folks were oohing and aahing over the fact that all this "nature" was indoors. It was very humid and warm outside of the rooms, I guess due to the environment these plants require.

One final note: Just like every other Gaylord in which I've visited, the room/hallway arrangement is not entirely logical. You will thank yourself by allowing a bellhop to show you to your room when you check in. The corridors go on forever and are very confusing until you've been there a couple of days.

Make sure you know what you're getting into before planning a trip to the Gaylord Opryland. It may be perfect for your tastes and needs or you may be totally turned off by the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was here for a job fair and I was amazed by the size and all the features of this hotel and convention center. A river, waterfall, restaurants, shops, the list goes on. You could spend at least a day here. The staff is friendly and helpful and if you need a lunch tip, be sure to visit Stax Build your own Burger.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I have had the pleasure of going to the Opryland hotel on several occassions for conventions. What an incredible hotel. The hotel is so big, you can take a boat ride inside, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. The scenery is beautiful, the rooms are clean and there is always someone around to assist you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for a convention so it was a little difficult to really take in the whole hotel because there were so many people around. The hotel seems to go on forever. The decor is very tasteful. They were in the process of taking down holiday decorations but what was still up looked fantastic. Our room was your typical hotel room. Bathroom was on the small side but there is a sink outside the bathroom that made getting ready a little easier. However, the vanity area wasn't really large enough to place the coffee pot that we finally found.

If I was picking a hotel in Nashville for pleasure I wouldn't pick this hotel. Everything about this hotel is pricey. Rooms average $200 a night, self-parking is $20 a day and eating anywhere in the hotel is expensive. We bought two coffees and two small pastries and it was $18.00. All of the staff we dealt with was very friendly and helpful. It is an extremely confusing hotel to get around in so definitely take the hotel map that is offered when checking in!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#34 Business Hotel in Nashville
#35 Family Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.