We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go at Christmas!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Albertville, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go at Christmas!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We went right before Christmas and stayed 2 nights. The place is always spectacular at Christmas, beautifully decorated. Check in was hectic because it was so crowded, but it was fast and efficient. I recommend the luggage valet if you have lots of stuff as it is a hike to the rooms, and if it is crowded, you are walking around lots of people on narrow paths. We forgot our phone charger, but were able to borrow one from lost and found, a real benefit at any price. The hotel offers shuttles to the Opry House (we saw the Rockettes) and the Opry Mills outlet stores. The outlet stores are true outlet stores, not retail stores rebranded as an outlet stores. One can walk to the outlets, only about 10 minutes. I very much recommend a stay here, but eat early as the restaurants fill up toward evening and the wait times are long (45 to 60 minutes).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,775
    1,147
    670
    391
    319
See reviews for
928
913
101
1593
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chattanooga, tn
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We decided to stay here a second time to see the hotel at Christmas time. It was beautiful as always and very relaxing. We chose to go the weekend before Christmas so there werent as many people there. We did have to stand in line to eat dinner but it wasnt too bad. I still recommed eating somewhere outside of the hotel for a better value and better tasting food. It is way over-priced! We only ate there because it wasnt worth moving the car over. There is a ton of walking so be prepared! I dont mind walking though because it is great exercise. The Shrek the Halls show that is free was fantastic! I wish it had been a little longer. My child thoroughly enjoyed it. The carriage ride was a little disappointing because the carriages were covered so we couldnt really see anything out of them. I do recommed reserving them before you go because they sell out quickly. We also went to ICE. It was worth seeing one time. We enjoyed the ice slides and the amazing ice sculptures. I think it is worth seeing atleast once. I think we will try something different next year. Yes, you do have to pay 26$ to park. It lasts until 5pm the following day. You can leave the parking lot and come back in with your room key for no extra charge until 5. There is also the 15$ resort fee. I read on here that there was not a refrigerator in the room. There is a refrigerator. It is under the tv in a cabinet that looks like a dresser. The lady at the front desk said there were tons of people asking about that this past weekend. I assume they all read it on here. We did not have a microwave to heat up leftovers though. I still recommed an atrium room for the extra expense. I thoroughly enjoy sitting on the balcony people watching.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I live in Nashville but still wanted a get away at Christmas as we had celebrated with our children the week before.
The Opryland Hotel is a class act and always has been.
The hotel includes atruims with beautiful flowers, foliage, trees, waterfalls, and a waterway, which are always impressive. When we have visitors come to town, we always try to show off this, one of our most famous landmarks. In addition it is a great place to eat with many fine restuarants, The eateries in the garden are especially restful. The food is always well above average. What is amazing this is even true at dinners served at large banquets. The available entertainment is not only available at the bars specializing in country music and the Grand Old Opry which is on the premises, but act that are available in the cascades.
But the Hotel always outdoes itselt at Christmas not only with bright and festive Christmas decorations but with special attractions such as Ice Shows . My wife was interested in seeing the NY Rockettes Christmas performance. The precision dancing of these females was most impressive. I had seen the Rockettes in NY City several times in the early fifties living near to NY City when they performed for a shorter period of time and were accompanied by a first run film. Threre dance routines are still the same. The Christmas show was longer with a Santa Claus and Mrs Santa Clause and their helpers adding to the entertainment along with an excellent 3D Santa Clause film of about 5 minutes. The show ended with an enactment of the advent story to which my wife said, "The living nativity was more powerful than any Christmas eve service I have known." and which I agree.
If you come to Nashville, this is not a site to miss, enjoy a meal, some good music, and if you have time a stay in a lovely room. This is a great place to visit.
.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We loved staying here! The Christmas decorations are great! Also stayed in Orlando Gaylord and loved that too! Highly recommended! They have the horse and carriage rides going and also the river boat tour. Fun for the whole family, and great dining!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is the greatest place to spend Christmas. With the kids and grandkids scattered all over the world, my wife and I always gravitate to the Opryland Hotel for Christmas. The service is great the place is spotless and the food is always superb. We took the hotel shuttle to the Grand Old Opry for a Christmas show with the Rockettes and even that service was top notch. One tip for you if you are trying to save money is to park in the mall parking lot and just walk across to the hotel. We opted to pay the $20 to park, but never saw it on our bill. We think that the lady at the checkin desk gave us the best room in the house. Our room overlooked the waterfall in the Cascades Atrium. Our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an Atrium view room. There is no sense staying here if you are going to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Christmas is my favorite time here, but you will not go wrong any other time either. They have beautiful conservatories to see their professionally designed gardens and lights. The gym is outstanding. All the restaurants have great food. Staying in a room overlooking one of the conservatories is a once in a lifetime opportunity so don't pass it up it you can do it. Buy a bottle of wine and sit on your balcony while enjoying the view and lights and company of a loved one for a special memory.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very cold outside in Nashville, but the outdoor feel of being able to walk around the Atrium shopping was great. 3 dollars for a bottle of water made it feel like I was truly in a tourist heaven. Noticed Shrek character was in the lobby to take pictures, but charging a "ton" to take a picture with kids was just not worth it. Maybe I will dress up as Shrek and do it for free as a Christmas thank you to all the occupants of the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#29 Family Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.