We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the whole family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #43 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is huge! So much to do. Had the get one night free for your Birthday month and they upgraded us free to an atrium view. Were very helpful. Gave us a room close to the pool! The Christmas light were beautiful. Was there over Thanksgiving sure to be a holiday we all never forget!

Room Tip: If you have kids get room close to indoor pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,822
    1,195
    706
    404
    327
See reviews for
968
942
102
1657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,444)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Recently I had the pleasure of experiencing Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center in Nashville with my girlfriend from MA. She had made all the arrangements. The entire grounds were all decked out for the Holidays and they did a truly magnificent job, much like Disney does only on a smaller scale of course. The employees at the Resort were all very helpful and pleasant, but that goes for most of the residence of TN. It's almost like old home week!
While we were there we experienced many of their Christmas programs. Both The Rockettes and Lorrie Morgan's Christmas Show were SPECTACULAR! Definitely a MUST see during the Christmas Season! Lots to see and do right on the property, but they do provide shuttle service that will take you over to the Opry Mall and Downtown Nashville if you care to venture beyond the Resort. Many restaurants to chose from and prices are average for the most part, but again, if you want to go out beyond the property to eat there are a number of wonderful restaurants just across the street or around the Mall. A definite MUST SEE on your list of things to do!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Cascade Garden Conservatory overlooking the Atrium on the 4th floor. We slept with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family attended the Lorrie Morgan Christmas Dinner Show this past Saturday evening (December 1st). The show was wonderful - the set was warm, the feel was definitely of the season, and she was gracious to the audience and sounded wonderful. The banquet staff was great and the food was also good. Lorrie met guests after the show and genuinely appreciated the audience. I'd recommend this as part of your holiday stay at Gaylord.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

From the time I checked in till I checked out, all the employees were always smiling and agreeing to help in anyway they can. I throughly enjoyed the hotel being decorated for the holidays, but a few places needed more decorations. I highly recommend staying here if you ever get the chance. It is right next to the grand old opry

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nashville, TN is a very hospitable city. The Gaylord Opryland Resort is a wonderful place to stay. Quite like a Disney experience. We stayed in Cascades and it was a very plesaent experience. there were many venues to choose from. Jack Daniels Pub

Room Tip: Cascades is a great location. Fitness Ctr. is very good and indoor pool was clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, NC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our second trip to this resort and was just as good this time as the first. The rooms are comfortable we had a atrium room this time outside of the waterfall in the Cascades section. We opened the door at night to hear the waterfall it was like a built in sound machine. We purchased a three day ticket to ride the resort bus downtown to Broadway. The bus was extremely nice and the drivers were friendly and accomadating, well worth the money and cheaper than a rental car. The resort has an airport shuttle that runs as early as 5am to the airport and we did not have to wait at the airport or at the resort on the return trip. This is a rather large place and lots of walking involved but is a beautiful place. Meals at the resort like all others are expensive, another good reason to ride the bus downtown to eat and more choices. The mall next door has fast food at its food court.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Nashville is a great town. It's one of my favorite cities. There is so much to do and so many things to see. I live 2 hours south and I still haven't seen it all. I was invited by friends to spend a night with them at the Gaylord Opryland. I have to say: the hotel has recovered marvelously from the 2010 flood, when half of it was underwater.
The gardens are spectacular. The decor is lovely and tasteful. The staff is nice, and the folks in the shops are friendly. The beds are very comfortable. I am SO glad I didn't have to spend any money on the room, though. The average prices are $275-$295 for a room with an atrium view. For that, I expect a NICE room. The room we had was average sized, with a TV and a desk, and a tiny table and 2 chairs on the narrow balcony. The bathroom was miniscule. Give credit where It's due: it was very clean. But honestly, spending nearly $300 for THIS? Give me a break.
As other reviewers have noted, everything is hideously overpriced. A cup of coffee (not latte) runs about $3.25 and a soda is $2.95. The Gaylord website does have menus for all its restaurants. Check them out before you eat in-house. There's a Cracker Barrel nearby, though, as well as the Caney Fork Fish Camp, which has awesome food, and a Waffle House on McGavock.
Parking is $20 a day. A boat ride through the canal on Delta Island is $9.50. WiFi is complimentary, so that's good. I imagine all the business travelers would have burned the place down if they charged for WiFi.
I was there the first Saturday in December and the place, along with Opry Mills Mall, was a seething mass of humanity. What a complete zoo.
Wear comfortable shoes. You will WALK! Nothing is close to anything else, and if you self park, which I recommend, you will walk for a ways, no matter where you are. You have to go through nearly every part of the hotel to get anywhere.
The hotel is on the east side of Nashville, near the airport, just off Briley Parkway. It's not difficult to find, but it's also not really close to anywhere, and the most convenient route downtown, which is Lebanon Pike, will take you through PARTS of Nashville, so be warned. I'd rather stay on the airport side, which is a little closer to Donelson and still convenient to Briley Parkway.
It's a real shame that people stay at this overpriced, overblown, overhyped place and think they've had a "real" Nashville experience. Sigh. I'd rather stay out around White Bridge, where you're closer to downtown, Hillsboro Village, etc., and there's actually something to do around.
Gaylord Opryland is a gorgeous place, but there are places I'd rather stay where the staff is just as friendly, and the prices are MUCH more reasonable. Try again, Gaylord.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#30 Business Hotel in Nashville
#32 Family Hotel in Nashville
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.