We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lone Star Christmas
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Nashville
Fort Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is amazing. I have now stayed there 4 different times and each time for numerous days. There is much to see and do here. Even this time I walked paths I hadn't before. We were in the Garden section of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the garden atrium. It was all decorated for Christmas. Very nice. There is tons of walking in the hotel. I was here for a convention and we were a long way from the convention rooms. I didn't mind as I loved walking through the place but one of my friends had a bad knee and found she struggled with all the walking. Non-the-less we managed fine. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved our balcony and got a good rate through the convention. Everyone should stay here once. If you can't afford to stay come and walk through the place. No charge for that as far as I know. The down side of the hotel is that it is quite a drive from downtown Nashville but they do offer shuttles and also cabs are a $25 flat rate plus $1 per person. The airport is quite close though but is the same rate. If you go with 2 or more people it's cheaper to cab it than use the shuttle. With your room key you get free admission to the Wildhorse Saloon downton.

The rooms aren't fancy but a balcony is definitely nice. If you are getting one ask for a higher floor. Some do not have good views. Also watch out when you walk around the beds. They put wooden decorative boxes around the beds and me and all of my friends bumped into them at some point and got bruises. We were having a little "count the bruises" competition by the end.

The Opry Mills Mall is back to full operation as it was before the 2010 flood. It's a great mall with lots of stores to choose from. Something for everyone. Lots of restaurants too.

Our group went to the Rockettes Christmas show that was on at the Opry House. It's a fabulous show with a nativity that brings tears to your eyes it's so real.

Room Tip: Get a balcony. Ask for a higher floor room and for a balcony with a view. The delta can get loud t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    1,258
    729
    417
    337
See reviews for
1,000
977
108
1,713
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you want a romantic escape - this is NOT the place. Don't take me wrong, the hotel was good, clean and good room service. The place was just tooooo busy. Too many people everywhere. The traffic was not just the people who were staying in the hotel. Did I mention that this hotel has over 2500 guest rooms? Yikes. Public had free access to come inside and dine, view the wonderful decorations (in spring or winter).

Let's come to why I have rated this hotel - 2 stars. Valet parking. They stole everything from my car. Thankfully, I didn't have any credit cards or bank cards or something that can NOT be replaced. I had some change (fortunately, just a few) and some gift cards, costco membership card, rewards card from local stores. Everything gone. I am scared if I had something more valuable which I can't recall as of now.

I was happy with the stay, until I realized I was robbed. I called the security at the hotel, he took the details and said he will look into it. And guess what he said... "I understand your frustration, this happens quite often here". WTF? So please please empty your car before you valet.

I am so frustrated, and never going back there. I might stay (if at all I go to Nashville again) in another hotel, and then just visit this hotel for their decor.

PROS: Beautiful garden indoor, christmas lights and decor was lovely, good room service, front desk was accommodative, will accept check-in before 3PM if rooms are available, will hold your luggage for a few extra hours. Shrekfeast was too good (fun for kids, one part when I thought it was all so much worth it), pictures with Alex(of Madagascar), Shrek, puss-in-boots, Po (movie Panda) is fun for the kids, free bottled water in the room. Good choices for fancy dining. ICE (ice carving of Shrek and characters) was good, but too cold. Make sure you are warmly dressed.

CONS: Fraud valet parkers (well, they themselves said it happens quite often, what can I say?); self park 20, valet park 25, so it forces people to go valet parking; The place is too big (imagine EPCOT). God help you if your room is in the far corner. Take a map of the hotel before you are assigned a room, and make sure you are closer to most places. Too busy, too many people; At times there is no place to stand. Make sure your young ones don't wander away. Also, I wish there were more options for fast food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I love this place. Keep saying I'm staying there, but never will part with the $$ to stay in a balcony room, one that overlooks the cascades or garden conservatory--those two are the best in my opinion. But that's what a review is: my opinion. This place is beautifully decorated, hard to grasp the size and magnitude of what it takes to make this place happen for the holidays. We've been several times but it always wows me. We took a family for their first time--much to impress in this place, MUCH! Do take the boat ride. The host is quite informative and it gives a nice view of that area. Be sure to walk to all areas of the hotel and enjoy everything. Take pictures at every corner. The lights outside are the perfection of decorating with lights. They moved the nativity scene to the outside from the courtyard. I must say that I preferred the courtyard venue. It was more reverent, spiritually moving, had a greater impact. Parking can be expensive, but if you'll drive around the backside toward the mall, you can park by the ICE exhibit, walk across, and around to the Delta Portico--zero $$ for parking. This is a great way to spend Thanksgiving and start the Christmas spirt of things with all the holiday decorations. This is a MUST see for folks. Ain't much like it in the US, and right here in the South, we've got a gem.

Room Tip: We've never stayed here, but as I wrote in my review, staying in a balcony room looking over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Gaylord Opryland as part of a tour, and found it completely over-the-top. Its an enormous hotel, and very difficult to find your way around, you really need those maps! The room was fine, clean and comfortable, but best to avoid eating at the resort, its prohibitively expensive and not great. The Cracker Barrel at the small shopping centre opposite was far better in terms of value and food quality. The atriums are stunning, and it's great to walk around, but be warned, it's nowhere near downtown Nashville, and you need to get a bus there if you don't have a car, which is also not cheap. But very handy for the Grand Ole Opry and the Ernie Tubbs shop & museum and Opry Mills Mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

stayed there with my wife 19th & 20th of November and unfortunately so did about 5000 kids. I understand the need for business that week and the kids were well behaved for most part, but the downside was the adults were screwed by having virtually no worthwhile entertainment options as the hotel closed almost all of them either early or never opened and after making conscious decision to stay here for 2 of my 4 nights ended up spending more money to go back downtown to enjoy myself. The least they could have done was offer to reimburse cab rides to places where there was stuff to do. Carriage ride around property was a waste where as what you see is nice the ride you can easily walk the small amount of area covered by ride.
The holiday decorations are incredible, but would have made more sense to stay elsewhere for significantly less and walk thru public areas.

On the positive side view from room was great with balcony overlooking magnificently decorated atrium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This resort had a great reputation as a must see Holiday stop.This place was wonderful from the pleasant front desk to the helpful staff throughout the resort.To many things to do so make sure you have at least two nights to wander around and see everything

Room Tip: Spend the extra and reserve an atrium room.The view is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You need to stay here at least once in your lifetime, and hopefully more. Great hotel, Great staff, everything was perfect. Hotel offers a wide variety of shows and attractions. Hotel has some nice shops and right next the hotel is Oprey Mills, which is a large shopping complex.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the interior areas is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nashville
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#31 Family Hotel in Nashville
#35 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
#35 Business Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2882
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;