We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A city within a city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #44 of 150 hotels in Nashville
Shelby Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A city within a city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

While this is a beautiful property with lots of water features, greenery, clean rooms, great service and offers a huge convention center be prepared for a ton of walking! The map provided at check-in is essential to navigating your way throughout this massive hotel. Surprised there weren't more dining options and that the elegant walkways didn't have better lighting for when it gets dark when nightfall comes through the skylights.

Room Tip: Request Delta rooms to be closest to convention meeting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,759
    1,139
    657
    383
    317
See reviews for
918
903
101
1576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for our 42nd wedding anniversary and did the anniversary deal. What a farce! It is advertised as pay for one nite and get the second free for a cost of $199.00. We thought that is was a miss print so I called and the lady said yes thats the price. So after I made my other arrangments for the rest of the vacation I booked it on line. When we got to the hotel the price was different. $15.00 per night for the resort fee(got 2 bottles of water)each day, and $20.00 a day for parking!!! There is no other place to park so you have no choice in either the resort fee or the parking.For the price of the room you would think coffeee would be included.It isn't.
The food was very high priced.
Even though it was a beautiful place we won't stay here again and we will not recoomend it to anyone. We will stroll through again and tell others to do the same. There are other hotels in the vacinity that we will concider.

Room Tip: won't recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

You can't beat the aesthetics of the resort-immaculate, lush gardens, and beauty. Couldn't give 5 stars just because it was so pricey. Glad we went for the experience for 1 night but more than that would have been a great hit to the wallet. Food was excellent, shopping fun, and just being in this magnificent resort was a memory. We did not spring for an upgrade for a room with a balcony and that was fine...didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. Combined with tickets to the Grand Ole Opry was the perfect location-just a 15min walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Nashville and it was GREAT. The Hotel is just amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. And even though its a huge hotel it's very easy to get around. And they have shuttles to everything around the city. Rooms were very clean and nice. Beds were very comfortable.

Room Tip: We didn't choose the atrium room because we knew we wouldn't be in the room that much and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I just returned from a conference at the Gaylord Opryland Hotel. It is truly a magnificent property with several atria full of beautiful, large trees and plants. The only food I had was served at conference banquet lunches but it was the best banquet food I have ever had. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful, courteous and knowledgeable. My room was very nice. The posters who commented about the layout are right. A map is essential and it takes a few days to figure out the layout of the hotel. And it was about a quarter mile from my room to the conference room. Everyone is asking directions. Also, not totally accessible for those who have impairments. Or at least the elevators are not very obvious. Valet parking is expensive at $26 a day and a glass of sauvignon blanc was $14.91, so this is a pricey place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I attended a business conference recently at this resort and I give it the highest compliment I can give: It reminded me of a Disney property. I was there for 3 nights, and not one time did I see a piece of trash on the ground. The only complaint I have is that the complex is so big that I got lost, several times. Suggestion to the owners: Create a smartphone app that guides you to your room (or other destination) via GPS. I ate dinner at two of the restaurants on site, and both were very good although pricey. The service was excellent and friendly everywhere I went. From the time I arrived on Sunday afternoon until I left on Wednesday morning, I didn't set foot outside the entire time. It was like living in the Biodome. The conference center was very nice, and the food provided by the hotel (breakfast, lunch and sometimes dinner) was always excellent. I stayed in a small room with two Queen beds, and it was nice and very comfortable. I can't speak to the value as my room was discounted as part of the conference.
Bottom Line: I would highly recommend this resort for business or pleasure, and I can only imagine how nice it is here around Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I attended a conference here. The whole hotel layout was overwhelming and confusing. My first clue was needing to use a map to get around. At least I wasn't alone in my confusion! There were many people totally lost and frustrated.

There was a conversion going on while we where there ... Marriott was taking over the Gaylord Hotel chain. Wireless worked sporadically and we weren't able to make any kind of connection in the conference area ... A real problem considering it was a technology conference!

Our hotel room did not provide good closet space and the layout of the bathroom, closet, and mini bar area clustered.

If you have physical limitations I do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center

Address: 2800 Opryland Drive, Nashville, TN 37214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nashville
#28 Family Hotel in Nashville
#29 Business Hotel in Nashville
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nashville's premier hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, offers guests all the excitement and energy of Music City under one spectacular roof. Beneath our climate-controlled signature glass atriums and nestled in a bend of the meandering Cumberland River is an extraordinary selection of dining, shopping and recreation options that create the perfect setting for a complete getaway. Enjoy our 9 amazing acres of indoor gardens, cascading waterfalls and indoor river with our very own Delta flatboat. Within this lush landscape, you will discover remodeled guest rooms and suites, a completely redesigned Cascades lobby featuring a VIP check-in area, and a 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. Gaylord Opryland also provides business travelers and meeting attendees a central location, 600,000 square feet of flexible meeting, convention and pre-function space and 263,775 square feet of exhibition space for dynamic meeting and convention experiences. Discover Gaylord Opryland and make memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Marriott, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Nashville
The Opryland Hotel
Gaylord Opryland Hotel Packages
Nashville Gaylord Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.