We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who cares if it's vegetarian? It's still good food!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands

Woodlands
3415 West End Ave, Nashville, TN 37203 (Hillsboro West End)
615-463-3005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 1,727 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Hillsboro West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hillsboro West End
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Who cares if it's vegetarian? It's still good food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Woodlands is adjacent to an apartment complex and looks unassuming from the outside. The restaurant itself isn't very big, but able to seat around 50 people. If my memory serves me well, the furnishings were all a dark red.

The lunch is served buffet style, just grab your plate and get what you want. They'll also serve you something that looks like a crepe to you at your table. I've been to an Indian vegetarian restaurant in the Raleigh area and the buffet here wasn't nearly as large and robust. That said, they still had good, solid, food. Prices are more than reasonable (especially since you're going meatless). I didn't feel overly bloated after the meal, probably because I didn't stuff my face with meat. There's a couple of desserts offered as well.

If you like to venture outside of your comfort zone and eat ethnic foods, definitely give this place a shot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I live and work near this excellent restaurant and will eat there once a month or so. Over the years I have always enjoyed every one of their dishes.
In my opinion you cannot lose in going to Woodlands.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very good - used this as take-out and we were pleasantly delighted! I would order again. Be mindful, it is a vegetarian restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Truly THE best Indian food in Nashville!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I go here VERY often after my girlfriend introduced me to this place. They have THE best Indian food in Nashville but are all vegetarian so keep that in mind if you are looking for Tandoori chicken. They have the best samosa chat, palak paneer, and baingan bartha in town. They also do a really good job with their batura and the lemon pickle sauce. Can't get enough of this place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
searcy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best all veg restaurant period”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I am a meat eater, but this place turned me into a new direction. I never felt anything was left out, the portion sizes are for like two people. And the coffee with milk is a nice touch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands also viewed

 

Been to Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.