We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat and good hiking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radnor Lake State Park

Radnor Lake State Park
1160 Otter Creek Road, Nashville, TN
615 373-3467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 123 Attractions in Nashville
Type: State Parks
Activities: Canoeing, Hiking
Attraction Details
Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat and good hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Took a hike today with a friend at Radnor Lake. There are several hikes....some that go up the ridgeline and some down by the lake. We saw 3 deer close up, a box turtle, turtles sunning themselves, a blue heron, chipmunk and squirrel...there is no cell reception out there, so just go enjoy mother nature and worry about access to your phone and internet after you leave the park. Very pretty lake, nice trails and overall a good time!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    51
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This park is a perfect place to take a walk and enjoy peace, quiet and wildlife. It is a popular place to go. This doesn't make it feel crowded except for the parking. Parking is always a challenge. It is worth repeatedly trying though. Beautiful park!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect tranquility, scenery is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It is hard to believe that there is such a large expanse of nature in the middle of this mix of residences and businesses. The main road of the park was at one time an actual road with car traffic. So, it is wide and paved. Many portions now though have eroded and there are several barricades where the erosion is bad. Dogs are allowed on the main road only- not on any of the nature trails. There are several miles of nature trails and the pathway is wide enough to comfortably allow two people to pass. The trails are maintained and easy to follow. The Ganier Ridge trail is a favorite. This will take you to the top of the ridge- it's a little of a trek and you have to start first with one of the lake loops. Some of the steps are pretty tall rocks (a foot or higher), so that could be a hardship also. You won't see too many people at this park on bikes or a bunch of young kids. There are no playgrounds. You will see lots of walkers and hikers, people who love nature. There are turtles sunning on logs, geese, wading birds, deer, chipmunks, all kinds of birds and other wildlife. There are benches at regular intervals (all benches have been donated) and there are several decks that extend closer to the lake. There are so many areas where the setting is just perfect. Really a place to relax and commune with nature. When you're on one ridge, the view of the sunlight hitting the treeline of the other ridge is magnificent. There are also two places near the top of Ganier Ridge that on clear days, you can see downtown. For the main road, there is just one big incline and that is near the main entrance. Beautiful year-round- but the varied colors of the leaves in the fall and the reflection in the lake is exquisite. The park with snow is amazing too. If you're a nature lover, definitely visit this park.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My family and I really enjoyed our time at the park. There were easy trails to stroll around the lake. Then there was the strenuous hike to get our heart rate up! We really enjoyed seeing all the wild life during our walk. We saw lots of different birds, deer, turtles, and frogs. The trail area was well maintained and the there were lots of signs directing you to different areas of the park. This park offered a lot of choices for families with kids to the elderly. The welcome center was informative with great staff available to answer all our questions. the rest rooms were clean. A gem of a place hidden in Nashville!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The lake is a popular place for a stroll on a beautiful day. I've visited Radnor Lake each time I go to Nashville, and I'm always impressed by the wildlife. In one spot I've seen barred owls, red-bellied and pileated woodpeckers, bluebirds feeding their young in a tree, a raccoon and deer. That's my kind of place!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radnor Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radnor Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.