We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1309 Melba Highway & Gulf Road, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a find !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Selected an overnight here because of the impressive Web Site for a family catch up and the place did us proud. Jason and Erik were so informative and relaxed whilst making sure we knew all we needed to know about their operation. Signed up for the Wine Appreciation option and a big thanks to Mark for educating us. The car clinked well on the way home.
The rooms were spotless and loved the jacuzzi in the room. The evening meal was a delight as the sun set. We all came away thinking we had really made a great choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    190
    58
    45
    27
See reviews for
70
380
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the resort too early to check into room, but we were able to book in and told we would get a call when the room was ready. This was no problem as we then went over to the cellar door to taste some wine. Very pleasant experience, we are not wine buffs we just enjoy nice wine and we got to try some nice wines and find out about them. Bought a couple of nice bottles. Unfortunately there was no room for us in the restaurant for lunch ( if you really want to eat in the restaurant you need to make a booking ahead). But the staff were very helpful making suggestions of other places nearby that might suit us. We went to yarrawood, which was right next door and had a nice light lunch there, with some pleasant live music, very nice. After we booked in we had a nice walk around the walking track, which has beautiful views and then spent the afternoon in the pool in the health club, which was lovely, especially as the day was extremely hot. Our room was beautiful, lovely balcony with great views and the spa bath was very nice. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was very nice, with wine to match. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of two couples travelling through Yarra Valley. The estate was extremely well located in the middle of Yarra, with lots of wineries close by. We were also close to Healesville, and enjoyed a gorgeous dinner at Innocent Bystander one evening, and at the estate restaurant the other evening. The breakfast at Balgownie is great. Continental buffet and hot breakfast on order. Such good value in our package at $12.50 per head. The estate also recommended a private winery tour guide who was fantastic. Would definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Balgownie Estate the previous time was a gift from a friend-it was fine but nothing outstanding on that occasion. The rooms have now been painted & have lovely views. This time we attended a wedding-terrible is an accurate description for the service (except at breakfast) & the food was one of the worst meals we've had at a function especially when I'm sure it was not cheap! The entree platters were average with barely enough for everyone at the table, for main the steak was so tough & overcooked that it was almost inedible & the fish although nice was entree size & no vegetables or salad. Desert was similar to supermarket bought mini meringues & lemon tarts which most people left. The only redeeming thing was the wine waitress-very attentive thank goodness. Despite this it was a lovely wedding but we won't be rushing back to Balgownie Estate!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort and Spa is just outside the township of Yarra Glen and has a wonderful aspect and outlook, overlooking much of the Valley. The resort is stylish and thoughtfully designed, both for its environmental impact and the visitor's comfort and amenity, It is lovely to stay on a working property and business. The restaurant is particularly good. I would strongly recommend the Resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

-Nice room, with good view overlooking tennis court and Yarra Valley (one bedroom spa suite), with spa bath, balcony, microwave, iron/ironing board, tv in lounge and bedroom with fox sports channels.
-Room service until 10pm and wine and beer-stocked fridge
-Indoor swimming pool, outdoor tennis court, small gym (treadmills, bikes and weights) and health spa (45min massage was $92)
-Very good cellar door with free tasting
-Good restaurant (Rae's), priced at $60 for 2 courses or $70 for 3 with good views. Get a table facing outside to see the sunset over the valley.

-Hotel really needs to implement a quick-checkout process as there was a fair queue to checkout.
-Our room was not ready when we arrived (20 min wait), although we happily spent this time at the cellar door, doing some free wine tasting!

Overall I would recommend this hotel as it certainly had everything we needed for a night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper tier have better views over the valley. Our one bedroom spa suite had views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa

Address: 1309 Melba Highway & Gulf Road, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa is ideally located in the heart of the Yarra Valley less than 1hr from Melbourne CBD & Airport. Boasting contemporary first class spa suite accommodation with spectacular views across the valley, Rae’s Restaurant, Cellar Door with complimentary wine tasting 7 days, Health Club, Natskin Spa Retreat, modern conferencing and leisure facilities plus more! Whenever you visit, you are guaranteed a memorable stay in the heart of Victorian wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Hotel Yarra Glen
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort And Spa
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Hotel
Balgownie Vineyard Retreat Resort
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.