We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparently you cannot come & go as you please” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Araluen Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yarra Glen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Araluen Lodge
Save
You added Araluen Lodge to your Saves list
603 Steels Creek Road, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Apparently you cannot come & go as you please”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Recently during an overnight stay at the Araluen Villas my partner and I had to leave twice during the night to get basic provisions, as we were leaving the owner yelled out from there house "ARE YOU RIGHT?" which we both thought was quite odd, on our coming back arrival we were greeted with both owners come out from our villa onto the balcony, now as we both work night shift to run our business, it is critical for us to be able to come and go as we please in order to run the company. With the bread also being mouldy this is unacceptable as this is meant to be a luxury accommodation. To have the owners inside the residence was quite a shock, what ever happened to privacy and security?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Araluen_Lodge, Owner at Araluen Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
The comments made, were not exactly how things were. Araluen Lodge is set in a quiet and tranquil rural setting.
We were woken at 2am by the sound of a car arriving at our property, a short time later a car leaving our property.
At 4am we again were woken by the sound of a car, I went to the front of the house and saw one of our guests walking across the front lawn. I asked if everything was alright he replied yes and drove out of the driveway.
No one comes to stay in a luxury accommodation with their partner and spends most of the night away from the venue.
Bearing this in mind I went to check the Villa, the front door was wide open. I knocked on the door and called out, there was no response. I went back to the house to get my wife as I did not want to enter the Villa, in case there was a single person still there. My wife and I went back to the Villa knocked on the door called out and then entered the Villa. A candle was left burning a cat lying on the bed (we do not cater for animals) but no guests. We put out the candle; we walked out and closed the door just as the guests returned looking very sheepish
There is nowhere within 40min drive from our property that is open to buy provisions at 2 and or 4am in the morning. Each time they left the property they returned within 15min. The questions are where were the provisions, how long is the night shift or should we be concerned????
As for the mould on the bread we only use bread from a local artisan baker the loaf was dusted with flour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    1
    2
    11
See reviews for
3
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic host, you cannot put a value on Gretha's local knowledge. Everything is thought of in what is an experience not just a getaway. I highly recommend Araluen lodge for your next stay in the Yarra Valley!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Thank you Gretha for a wonderful weekend. We stayed in the main house, where the accommodation was lovely and the furnishings beautiful. The breakfast area and sitting room are just charming, especially the Dutch plates on the wall. The pool was also much appreciated. Sitting on the deck with the beautiful views, just lovely.

Gretha is very knowledgable about wine in the area and took the time to discuss the best places to visit in the valley for tastings. She also directed us towards some fantastic restaurants.

Enjoyed the coffee machine so much, when we returned home we brought one.

The hospitality was impeccable and was such a wonderful place to relax and unwind. I will be telling my friends about this lovely little spot. I will definitely return to enjoy again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Everything at Araluen has been thought of for you. The fit out of the villa we stayed in was of high quality. Beautiful sheets, lovely bathroom products. And lots of really nice local hamper things ready for you when you arrive. And a beautiful bottle of local wine too. Very quiet, no traffic noise at all. Very relaxing, will be booking there again when another 2 day break is needed! Christine was there, the owners daughter & she was great! Thanks again Christine.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A very enjoyable, relaxing weekend in the Yarra Valley. The host, Kirstein, was fantastic and made us feel like special guests. When the taxi failed to show for dinner, she arranged alternative transport for us asap.

The accommodation is perfect and a little secluded for a couple's getaway. Breakfast provisions were ample and we even got a fresh grapefruit off the tree and some freshly laid eggs.

Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a villa for more privacy / seclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Yarra Valley's finest luxury accommodation. My wife organized a long weekend stay here a few weeks ago and it was so relaxing and serene. Gretha was lovely and took very good care of us. Would definitely stay here again and commend this place very highly to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We choose araluen lodge from the photos of their website... they glady matched the discount offer made on another website... we order the cheese plate to have also for an extra $50/80 (i cant remember). It was all confirmed, we were running late, we recieved a call and everything was fine. The villa was beautiful and was worth the extra money but the cheese platter wasnt! Ive had better cheese platters half the price! But everything else was perfect! Not much to complain at all except for the spiders but you were in the middle of forrest so there was not much you could do about it!! My overall thought... save for a speacial occasion 1 night only!! As it is quite pricey!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Araluen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araluen Lodge

Address: 603 Steels Creek Road, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Araluen Villas are set in the heart of the magnificent Yarra Valley with stunning views over the Valley, with internet, fireplace, King bed with ensuite and double spa, heated flooring and towel rails, TV/DVD, Bose sound system with music library, full kitchen, nespresso machine, breakfast hamper and a bottle of French Champagne. All within close proximity of wineries, galleries, boutique shops in the heart of the Yarra Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Araluen Hotel Yarra Glen
Araluen Lodge Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Araluen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.