We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brits Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yarra Valley Guest House

Save Saved
You added Yarra Valley Guest House to your Saves list
Yarra Valley Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yarra Valley Guest House
319 Steels Creek Road | Melway Reference 266 K4, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Yarra Glen B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brits Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Australia is a great country, with lots to offer the British tourist. This includes some really good guest houses. Sadly Yarra Valley Guest House is not one of them.
Whilst staying there we all went on a tour of some local wineries, driven by a local professional, very helpful guide. We told him of our concerns. He said the guest house had had a good reputation, but was said to have gone downhill since a change of ownership, and he would remove it from his website's list of recommended accomodation.
Look at Tripadvisor's reviews and you will see a bewildering spectrum of reports. Look back to August 2004 and you will find a glowing report mentioning the then owner, Ted.
But the present owner is Anthony De Pasquale. Look at the review of April 25 2011, "Relaxing and Tranquil", and you find a positive eulogy praising the qualities of this establishment. Look more closely and you will see a photograph of Anthony De Pasquale in the start of the report. You will also see the name "Dale" in the seeming e-mail address quoted, along with "Steels Creek". Dale was the name of the only other member of staff we met, and the address of the guest house is Steels Creek Road. Surely Anthony would not have had the temerity to claim to have been a guest in his own guest house, and to make such wild claims about his business. Although, if you look at the quality of his presentation you can see this is typical of his lack of attention to detail, and also of his lack of command of the English language. To me he sounded very much more Italian than Australian. It would be interesting to know when the ownership changed, and when the place started going "downhill".
The four star rating claimed by Anthony is also suspect. Sure he had a four star certificate on display at reception, but closer inspection revealed that this had been issued some four years ago, and was had been invalid for the past two years..
Our "King" room was terrible. There was no wardrobe to hang our clothes, just a rail attached to the wall above the fridge, with insufficient height to hang a full length dress comfortably. The fridge had a very thick layer of ice engulfing the freezer compartment. A notice in the bathroom informed us this was not drinking water, but there was no bottled water in the room. One major light was not working. There was only one chair between two of us. The picture on the small elderly looking T.V. was so poor it was not worth watching. When we eventually met the owner to pay the bill my daughter complained to him about her terribly uncomfortable pull-out bed. As she turned away from him he put his thumbs to his ears, waggled his fingers and pulled faces behind her back, before insulting us and our country. This modern-day Merchant of Venice was adamant that he would receive his pound of flesh, or in this case fistful of dollars. We were charged $500, or about £350, for two uncomfortable nights in an unclean, underfurnished, poorly illuminated "King" room, and two ridiculous breakfasts. He also said he prefers Japanese guests as he can charge them more.
I departed feeling a very strong sense of injustice, and that we had been cheated by this avaricious little man. I don't know why he is allowed to carry on in this way. I don't think he would get away with it for long in the U.K.
So there you have it, Brits. Check the name of the owner before you book here. If it is still Anthony De Pasquale avoid it like the Plague. Under a good owner this could be a great place once again. As it is it tarnishes the good image of Australia and Australian tourism

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    4
    1
    9
See reviews for
1
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

After a booking this place at last minute, I was slightly conerned after reading some of the previous reviews! However, although we only stayed one night we thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner Tony is an eccentric Italian and sometimes can be hard to track down but we had a few laughs with him and he was generally pretty helpful. Despite an initial musty smell when we arrived, the room was clean, modern and spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens. The location is excellent and it's good value for money, being one of the cheapest places to stay in the area. Highlights were the king size bed and a midday check out! Would stay again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I had really high hopes for this guest house but websites can and do carry old photos! Our keys were left by the entrance door and we did not see any staff until the following morning. We were travelling with friends from the UK and this place needed to be special. The rooms were not as indicated on the website photos, they were rather tired with well worn furniture and not at all 4 star. On further inspection they were dirty and had not been properly cleaned. Dust and dead insects were everywhere. I complained the following morning and was promised that action would be taken. On our return that evening , a small amount of vacuuming had been done , but the advertised daily mini clean had not. Towels were on the floor, dirty glasses had not been replaced and bins were not emptied. The owner visited that evening and actually agreed that dust and flies were everywhere. The following morning at breakfast, I asked for the bill and a a discount for the sub standard stay. The owner became very aggressive and called me an ugly English backpacker! He told me pay and leave. The rates we had to pay were definately out of backpacker range. He continued to be very rude and greatly upset our friends one of whom is an elderly gentleman aged 79 years young! If you are considering this guest house please think again. I have never been spoken to in such a rude and offensive manner in many years of travelling worldwide. The only positives I can comment on are the location was good and there was a nice dog and cat!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albrighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

At first glance an idyllic setting. The disappointment set in when we discovered that the twin room we had booked consisted of 1 king and 1 pullout bed - and we were being charged extra for this. Then on closer inspection the room was filthy with dead flys, dessicated worms and cobwebs littering the room.
There was no-one available to greet us - just a letter telling us which was our room.
Our first contact with anyone was at the abyssmal breakfast the following morning, after I had had an uncomfortable night on the pull out. In my father's words it was the Marie Celeste. Breakfast was served in another dirty room on cafeteria style tables with not enough fruit to go around,some cereal and some toast - all self service with no clearing away of dirty dishes.
I asked the staff member about internet access(which is advertised as being available) and was directed towards a computer in the corner which again was filthy. The floor was littered with dead flys and moths and the keyboard was an inch thick in dust. I was unable to boot up the computer as it was password protected with no password available. Even the member of staff didn't know the password and there was no wi-fi available for me to use my laptop.
A friend I was travelling with took this opportunty to politely point out that our rooms needed a good clean and the member of staff agreed with this and promised to pass our concerns on to the owner.
We returned after a wonderful day out around the wineries expecting clean rooms and internet access. We were disappointed. A lame attempt had been done to clean the rooms. However even the bins had not been emptied or towels changed as promised in the literature left in the room. I also had no internet access and I was trying to check up on a close friend who had just had major surgery.
The following morning, after a painful night on the pullout, at breakfast (which was a repeat of the previous days and still not ready at 9am) we at last met the owner who told us that we were in the country and should expect dirt, that the dead flies and dust were our own fault for trying to light a fire - we hadn't - and leaving doors open - we hadn't. He then became very personal and implied that we were "dirty backpackers" and gave us even more personal abuse.
All in all this was a horrendous experience at a dirty hotel with an owner who wasn't prepared to listen to our concerns and even became aggressive towards us.
What a shame as it has so much potential in a beautiful part of Australia where accomodation is needed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and loved it. The service was a little iffy -having to sit in reception for 1 hour waiting for someone and having to go looking around the rooms for someone.
Beautiful surroundings and so peaceful

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed one night here in the peaceful surroundings of Yarra Glen. Our suite was standalone and had a great spa bath. Very spacious and well appointed! Great electric fire place as well. Definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is our second visit and again another enjoyable stay, would recommend the studios they are well appointed and comfortable and the great gas fire just divine for those cold winter nights.

Room Tip: Book a studio, away from main building, cosy and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yarra Valley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Guest House

Address: 319 Steels Creek Road | Melway Reference 266 K4, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yarra Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Yarra Valley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yarra Valley Guest House Yarra Glen, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarra Valley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.