We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holgate Brewhouse

Holgate Brewhouse
79 High Street, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
0354272510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 attractions in Woodend
Type: Breweries
Attraction Details
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stopped in at Holgate Brewhouse and had a great time. Fantastic beer, and the food was fantastic . The staff were young and very friendly, more than happy to help with selection of beer. They have wine too, if beer is not your thing. Lovely little beer garden too. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area. It is very casual, no need to dress up, smart casual is fine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Manager at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for visiting the brewhouse & taking the time to post your comments. Hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    3
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like craft beer? - You'll LOVE this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I recommend a tasting platter of 8 of Holgate's awesome hand crafted beers before deciding on your favourite and switching to pints.
Nice beer garden, attentive and friendly staff. Delicious beers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Manager at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for visiting & posting your comments. Hope to see you back soon. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Beet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a meal here and spent an enjoyable afternoon working my way through the beer menu...
I would recommend the beer tasting tray.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Manager at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thanks for visiting. Glad you liked the beer. Hope to see you back soon. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top spot at the Brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Lovely staff, great food - really interesting and different beers. Nice big comfortable rooms. This palce is worth visiting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Manager at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for staying at the hotel & enjoying the food & drinks. Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Has issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

i do like the beer although, overpriced, and i find that the staff on occasion to be rude and unaccommodating, to the point that we have moved our thursday evening session elsewhere, although im almost positive they couldn't care less !!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolgateWoodend, Owner at Holgate Brewhouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. Our beers are made locally on site in our microbrewery. We source the best malts & hops to create interesting full flavoured beers. We can't compete on price with multinational mainstream beers and at $4.60/pot its really not that expensive! Please contact us directly at hotel@holgatebrewhouse.com regarding your comments about our staff as we get regular compliments that our staff are so helpful and attentive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holgate Brewhouse also viewed

Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
 
Woodend, Macedon Ranges
Macedon, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Holgate Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holgate Brewhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holgate Brewhouse to your Saves list