We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country hotel close to Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campaspe Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campaspe Country House
Goldies Lane, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Woodend B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Charming country hotel close to Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My wife was arriving on an international flight into Tullamarine at 8.45pm on an Easter Sunday evening and we wanted something not too far from the airport but in the countryside, vaguely in the direction of Canberra, where we were heading the following day. Much Googling threw up the Campaspe as fitting the bill - only 40 minutes from Tullamarine and off a quiet lane on the edge of the these-days sleepy small town of Woodend, bypassed some years ago by the Melbourne-Bendigo Calder Freeway.

The Campapse is a 1920s two-storey villa, surrounded by a beautiful leafy Edna Walling garden. The hotel has expanded to include a more modern accommodation annex plus outdoor swimming pool but the hotel's attraction is the original largely unchanged building. It features a fine verandahed entrance of the period and, in the downstairs public areas, lots of timber panelling, nice open fires, a pretty billiards room and (my wife tells me) a charmingly original ladies' bathroom.

There was a nice surprise about room prices. The modern annex rooms feature 'en-suite' bathrooms but there are two upstairs bedrooms in the original house which don't and are cheaper. Ours was generously-proportioned with a king-size bed and a delightful early-twentieth century 'Coo-ee' brand corner basin. The loo and shower were in the adjoining corridor and shared with the other bedroom - which was not a problem at all.

The antique theme doesn't extend to the dining area which is modern and overlooks the pool area. But it's all done nicely, including with proper linen table cloths and napkins. Good cooked breakfast.

Woodend is a good base for local exploring. The thriving main street has the usual collection for the area of fine old Victorian buildings; the famous and eerie Hanging Rock is just outside town; and there are many other places of interest nearby (e.g. Bendigo, Malmsbury, Maldon, Castlemaine). Those with an interest in Geelong Grammar School will be interested that the original Clyde School - later remembered as Clyde House at the Corio campus - survives outside the town as Braemar College. One of Clyde School's girls was Joan Lindsay, author of 'Picnic at Hanging Rock', who set the school depicted in the film at Woodend (though the building featured in the 1975 Peter Weir film is the much more impressive Martindale Hall, in South Australia's Clare Valley).

Only slight negatives - the pipes were a little noisy when the other upstairs guests used the loo, bathroom etc. And the kitchen staff were a bit insensitive with noise in the morning - their music and chatter was obtrusive both into the upstairs bedrooms and dining room.

But overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Campaspe country house for a girls night away. From the minute of our booking, through arrival and throughout the stay the staff service was excellent, friendly, and helpful. The house and the grounds are beautiful. A lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of the city within an hours drive of the city. We ate at the restaurant and had lovely food. The rooms as others have said are a little small but who wants or needs to be in a room when you can enjoy the garden or one of the lounges in the house. While we were not there for business the conference facilities looked good and would be a great location to get people away from the office without travelling far from Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

14 of us spent last Saturday night here for my son's Buck's weekend which had started earlier in the day at a country race meeting. Accommodation was small but neat and clean, about 3 star. Dinner in the restaurant that night was extremely good, slow cooked pork belly followed by confit duck leg were up there with the best I've tasted. The staff were attentive and friendly (and probably relieved that we weren't a rowdy buck's party).

Overall a very pleasant place to stay after a hot day at the races. The main house is beautifully kept and furnished in art deco as befits its age.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

A last-minute booking for seven couples to celebrate new year here could have been a chancy decision, but from the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more accommodating and welcoming. We felt like guests at a friend's country retreat. New Year's Eve dinner at the restaurant was faultless and the young staff waiting on us were friendly, competent and efficient. The following night the chef again excelled himself. During the day we relaxed by the pool surrounded by the magnificent gardens of the property. It was a lovely relaxing start to 2012.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I just returned from Campaspe Country House where we stayed one night. On arrival, we were warmly greeted and given a complementary glass of champagne. The room was small but very nice, clean and cosy. The bathroom was nice and big and very clean. We ate at the restaurant and I would recommend this as there is not really anywhere else to eat in the town. The food was amazing!! We had four courses and each one just got better (the vanilla creme caramel is heaven) and the service is great. What we really loved about our stay was the personal touches. It is not a typical chain hotel and the service reflects this. The staff really go out of their way to help you and it is the small things that make a huge difference. We will be back for sure, can't wait to go back. Will recommend to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely stay, Rebecca and Jonathan.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This was our 2nd stay, the first, 5 - 6 years ago was terrific, this time not so good. First, the room, rough sheets, hospital quality at best, lack of attention to detail, no mini bar, cheap cups etc etc, not what we expected given the tariff. The meal, one of the attractions of Campaspe House was just ok, disappointing given the money we had spent. The service was uninspiring...we bought an expensive bottle of wine and had to remind the waitresses which one was ours! The food was ok but not great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Poor Show.............our room did not have air conditioning,a fridge or satellite channels..... basic facilities I would expect for this category of accomodation and price.
No pads on loungers at the pool.
Breakfast not served till 9 am ...

In my opinion : not an award winning property and ceratinly overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campaspe Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campaspe Country House

Address: Goldies Lane, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Woodend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Woodend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable 50 minute drive north of Melbourne, Campaspe Country House sits nestled in the center of the beautiful Macedon Ranges - a region that just begs to be explored, with its cool climate wineries, antique stores, grand gardens and dramatic natural beauty (including the mysterious Hanging Rock). The property is also perfectly situated on the edge of the picturesque village of Woodend, with its burgeoning café scene, artisans and historic buildings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Campaspe Country House Woodend, Australia - Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campaspe Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Campaspe Country House to your Saves list