We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER EVER STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanic Whitehall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oceanic Whitehall to your Saves list
Oceanic Whitehall
231 Ocean Beach Road, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Sorrento B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NEVER EVER STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

What a terrible place. The manager was rude and swore at us when we asked to be in a different room AS THERE WERE MICE IN OUR ROOM! She was incredibly rude and unhelpful (as there was only one other couple staying they had other rooms) yet she still made us feel as if it was our fault and we were making a fuss.

Will be taking this issue further and the manager should be fired.

If you want a full nights sleep with nice service, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
9
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbou
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I have stayed at The Oceanic Apartments a few times now and love it. The position is a good as it gets, on more than one time we actually had a room that bordered the national park.

The back beach is 2 minutes walk and the town is only 5 mins walk away, so everything is so easy to get to, The other great thing is that your not right in the middle town that can be noisy etc with the pubs in the main street.

Unlike the beautiful old guesthouse across the road (we still used all the facilities like swimming pool and billiard room) the apartments are modern and really stylish. The upstairs bedroom is great with a TV that has usb and hdmi connections so you can bring some movies if you want to relax.

I really enjoy relaxing on the balcony of the guest house with a good book in the afternoon after a day exploring the back beach.

Breakfast is pretty basic (the toaster takes ages) and finishes at 10am so you can't get the breaky and still sleep in. So after a big night you might not bother.

The apartments are quite private and you don't have much to do with the guesthouse across the road apart from check in and breakfast unless you choose to, I just found it really great to be able to use the facilities and then head back to my own private apartment.

The staff have always been relaxed and friendly every time we stayed.

Overall i would say this is the place to stay whilst visiting the peninsula, its not cheap but it is good value when you look at the other options down there which we have stayed at before this place is much better.

Room Tip: I would take an apartment if you can, or the en-suit rooms in the guesthouse are nice also
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend in Sorrento
The guesthouse has lots of charm -its not 5 star but it doesnt claim to be. We were able to walk to the beach and town easily and the verandahs at the guesthouse were fantistic on a hot night with the lovely ocean breeze.
If you want reasonably priced clean accommodation and dont mind the shared bathrooms (which are very nice and clean also), you can expect a very nice stay with welcoming staff and great facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the moment of first contact with Oceanic it was clear they couldn't care less whether we stayed or not. However, we were attending a wedding and needed somewhere to stay. For the price we paid ($265 per night), I'm afraid I assumed comparable service and facilities. Breakfast was not included in this price.

The room was dirty - thick layer of dust on crockery, dead insects and cobwebs. The managements response was that the room had been cleaned. There was no apology or enquiry as to what could be done or offer to send someone to deal.

The guesthouse had all the atmosphere of a cafeteria. This place is a total rip off.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed there only for 1 night, thankfully!

the room was not exactly nice, just the bad and a lamp.

Nothing bad but,considering the price and everything I'd not suggest anyone to stay there.


Roberto.

Room Tip: The basic room with just one queen bad it's better the the more expensive rooms with maybe extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were really looking forward to staying in this lovely old Guesthouse in Sorrento but it fell well short of our expectations. The service was poor, the people unfriendly - I guess I expected an exuberant owner-operated B&B but the staff seemed bored and unexcited about this lovely old house. The carpet was threadbare in places, the kitchen was locked from like 6pm, the courtyard which looked lovely on the website was tired and looked unmaintained, the rooms were basic - they forgot to give us t-bags, only gave us 1 cup for 3 people etc. It is a lovely old building but seems to be unmaintained (insude and out) and the service was well below par - espcailly considering the price!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I've stayed in Whitehall guesthouse three or four times - most recently last weekend. I love the old style feel, the shared bathrooms (there are rooms with ensuites for a bit more), the shared loungerooms, the dining room for breakfast because it feels like you're in a different time. The carpets do need replacing but it appears to have been freshly painted recently. The shared bathrooms are in very good condition. The rooms are very basic - no drawers/wardrobes but for a couple of nights stay you probably don't need much more than that. All in all I think this is a good place if you're looking for budget accommodation in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanic Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Whitehall

Address: 231 Ocean Beach Road, Sorrento, Victoria 3943, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanic Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Whitehall Sorrento, Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanic Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.