We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverwater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silverwater Resort to your Saves list
Silverwater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   17 Potters Hill Road, San Remo, Victoria 3925, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had a 1 night stay in a 2 bedroom appt. On check in I asked for a higher appt with a view and got it. Room was clean and comfortable and size wise it was fine.

Short walk to restaurant, no issues with the distance but damn that wind was cold!

Indoor pool was very good, gym was okay.

Despite some average reviews of restaurant we had a good dinner and bfst experience. Tender eye fillet, cooked spot on and a seafood linguine. Prices were very reasonable, particularly drink prices.

Room Tip: 3&4 Bedroom Apts look over the ocean 2 Bedroom Apts look over the oval, playground & pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    158
    57
    28
    17
See reviews for
205
109
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I choose this accommodation due to impressiveness and all it had offer on the website,

and were hoping for a romantic getaway, but this was not the case. it had alot of families staying on the resort whilst we were there with young children, which was fine however i didn't think it was an appropriate location to take young families as their is not alot of facilities for young children.

The hotel room we were staying in was like a box, tiny and confined was also was very noisy and could here everything. The balcony door appeared to be broken as it had come of the hinge and was rapidly making noises throughout the night which was very disturbing. The bed was very uncomfortable and the tv was slow and not working efficiently.

The gym facilities are somewhat of a a disgrace some of them were not functioning, the air conditioner was not working properly so the room was somewhat stuffy and uncomfortable

The buffet breakfast was good however was way to overpriced for what is was $47 for 2 people for one day seemed unfair.

cannot say we will be returning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvermanager, General Manager at Silverwater Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Ashygal,

Thank you for taking the time to post valuable feedback relating to your recent stay at our resort. I was personally surprised by a number of your comments and as such have taken the lead in investigating your commentary.

It appears that from your post that you had booked and stayed during the September school holidays. We are a favourite among families and actively market ourselves to this sector. For this reason during the holidays we provide facilities that include a children’s playground, supervised kids club, nightly kids movies, tennis and basketball courts, indoor and outdoor pools, table tennis, air hockey and full children’s menu in our restaurant.

Our gymnasium provides two running machines, bikes and a weight system. While it is not what you would find in a commercial gym it is certainly on par with other resorts or hotels. I have checked the air conditioner and unfortunately I was unable to find any fault. I have requested our maintenance manager monitor the airconditioner to ascertain if the issue was intermittent.

Our breakfast offering is charged at a prepaid rate of $22.50 per person. This is an all you can eat buffet including hot and cold selection and coffee and juices. We have price compared with other resorts of a similar star rating and found that our pricing is probably on the low side for a breakfast of a similar calibre.

We offer a number of room styles starting with a resort room up to 3 bedroom apartments. The resort rooms are our entry level studio and generally suited for guests looking for a short stay over while experiencing the region. I would suggest for a romantic getaway that one of our 1 bedroom apartments may have been a better choice as it offers considerably larger accommodations for a small lift in rate.

Again, thankyou for your feedback.


Stuart Kentish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just come back from four days at Silverwater. This is our second time there. We had a two bedroom unit with the MOST amazing views ever. Apartment had everything we needed to cook some great meals (would love it is Silverwater could provide some basic bbq cleaning items). Our son (10) and his friend had a fabulous time and spent hours playing sport and swimming (x box and ipad were not played at all, despite weather being bad for two days).
Reception staff are brilliant. Polite and helpful.
Did not eat in the reseatuarnt or cafe... a BIG mistake! Went in to San Remo and ate at Westernport hotel. Absolutely shocking and rates as one of our worst meals ever. For a few dollars more we could have eaten in the resort restaurant, which I heard was excellent.

Overall great value for money and we look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is one of the best resorts in Victoria. It has so much to do, we didn't get to do everything and we even extended our stay. The apartments have everything a family needs, plenty of space. Great views, great food, great staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Silverwater resort is ideal gateway to Phillip Island. It is perfect accomodation to explore the surroundings. Our three bedroom apartment was impeccably beautiful. The views were amazing from two of the bedrooms plus the living room. We loved the balcony and had most of our meals out there. The apartment gets a lot of natural light and plenty of sun. The furniture is very modern with great interior design. The bathrooms were clean. The resort has heated indoor swimming pool which looks very inviting in this cold weather. Plus the staff at reception desk was lovely. They allowed us early check-in (and late check-out on request as we just didn't want to leave). I am definitely going there back in summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great views. The rooms are modern and clean, great! It is a great location when visiting Phillip Island. Great place for families , appealing for the kids, with pool , tennis court, indoor air hockey & table tennis.
Excellent :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I recently stayed at Silverwater for a work conference for a couple of nights. I have driven past the resort on many occasions but have never previously been in.
The resort is very large with fantastic accommodation. I had a large 2 bedroom apartment, loungeroom, kitchen, dining area and fantastic bathroom.
The room had a large balcony with chairs and a table and absolutely wonderful views over the water.
It was quiet and you couldn't hear any road noise.
I ate at the restaurant and their food was great. I must admit I like things like bircher museli and it wasn't available, however that is a small thing.
Would happily recommend this resort and will no doubt return for work conferences.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverwater Resort

Address: 17 Potters Hill Road, San Remo, Victoria 3925, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > San Remo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Remo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Silverwater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Silverwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverwater Hotel San Remo
Silverwater Hotel Phillip Island
Silverwater Resort Phillip Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.