We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and nice accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuileries

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rutherglen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuileries
13-35 Drummond Street, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Rutherglen
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and nice accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped here on a road trip from Sydney to Melbourne.
The place was set in town but also amidst grape vines.....very pretty.
The hotel also has a swimming pool which was a welcome relief for our children from the summer heat
More impressive however were the friendly staff and the excellent food.
There were two options for dinner and we chose the more expensive fine dining option. The dining room was as it should be...clothed tables,airconditoned comfort.
The food was a real standout though as were the local wines.
Next morning we ate in the cafe for a breakfast that was included in our room charge (also very reasonable). The breakfast was of the same standard as the earlier evening's meal.
The accomodation,food and service were fantastic and the hotel rates and restaurant prices were very reasonable.
Overall a great experience and I would recommend this hotel highly to anyone travelling through to Victoria and wanting an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Eat in the Fine Dining Restaurant as its great value and food is lovely. Take the "wine buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
48
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The accommodation was lovely but the highlight was the dining experience. The food was a delight and front of house staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable in matching wines. The wine bar provided an option of tapas if you felt like a light meal The tapas were superb..compliments to Chef Sam

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We invited our UK friends to my home town (of many years ago) and stayed at the Tuileries. It was a wonderful experience for all of us in every respect. The service, accommodation and meals were brilliant and we were all most impressed by the visit. As the "returning local" this made me feel pretty darned good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at Tuileries for two nights on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. We enjoyed our relaxing, stress free stay.

The rooms are all an identical layout, but each is furnished and decorated differently. They are spacious and comfortable, as are the bathrooms. Our room and furnishings were in a reasonable to good state of repair/condition. The king sized bed was very comfortable, with plenty of good quality pillows supplied. The towels were also of good quality. Appropriate glasses etc. were provided, and the small fridge had plenty of room for the wine we brought with us and acquired along the way (once we emptied out the mini-bar contents!).

The deck is lovely and the outdoor furniture was comfortable. It was obvious, however, that the outdoor table hadn't been wiped for some time, let alone the chairs. The first six or eight units are overlooking a relatively nice (though probably not operational) vineyard. The remaining units were obviously built later, and though a vineyard has been planted in front of these too (for aesthetic purposes), it has not been at all maintained and was entirely sad looking. Such a pity, as this concept is quite central to Tuileries' sales pitch, and a decent looking vineyard would be relatively easy to achieve. Unfortunately, our room had this relatively sad outlook. If I had my time again, I'd choose one of units 14, 15 or 16. They're at the very end of the row, had more modern decor than the others, and looked across both vineyards on an angle, thus improving the view somewhat.

The food in the restaurant for dinner was very nice. We eat out in Melbourne very regularly, and the food here was certainly comparable. The wine buffet involves five whites and five reds, from which you can taste and pour on a self-serve basis. The charge is $8 per glass (an honor system), with a 'bottomless glass' for $22.50. To be honest, we only found one white we liked, and went straight for the GSM in the reds (which was very nice). But we nonetheless got our money's worth!! The staff in the restaurant (and the attached wine bar, where we enjoyed an after-dinner cocktail one night) were all very friendly and helpful, and appeared genuinely interested in making sure our experience was a good one. It was also really lovely to be able to wonder back to our room after a lovely dinner and more than a couple of drinks... ;-)

Breakfast was held in the on site cafe. The first morning we were told we couldn't have espresso coffee because the waitress 'didn't have the machine on.' This was very disappointing, as the percolated coffee on offer was undrinkable. The second morning, the staff were offering real coffee, though they were so busy we cancelled our coffee order rather than wait our turn in the queue. Real coffee is very important to some of us...this would be one 'point for improvement' I would suggest to Tuileries. The breakfast menu was the usual fare, and of reasonable quality.

Overall, we had a relaxing, enjoyable weekend at Tuileries. The DBB package does represent good value, and we would go again, either alone or with friends.

Room Tip: 14, 15 and 16 are at the end of the row of rooms, have more modern decor and a nicer outlook than so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just got back from our !st wedding anniverary. We stayed at Tuileries for 3 nights and it was better than expected. Our rooms were clean, neat & tidy. Bed was so comfortable. Spa was relaxing after a hard day going around the wineries, sampling lol.... Tony's advice on wineries, places to eat, places to go was just spot on advice. Lots of places to eat within this boutique resort, from brekkie inside or outside, lunch at their cafe, and dinner inside for formal dining or cafe for casual dining. Service was impeccible. The grounds area was beautifully maintained, picturesque overlooking a vinyard right in front of our spa unit. Great pricing. Thumbs up for me and definately go again, thank you Tony & staff xoxo

Room Tip: Rooms with the spa's are amazing to sit on the wooden deck overlooking the vinyard. Standard ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just back from our second stay at gorgeous Tuileries. As other guests have noted the Dinner, Bed and Breaksfast package is wonderful value given the quality of the rooms and the food. Love the wine buffet idea. Allows you try a great selection of what the local area has to offer. Tony was a lovely host both on arrival and departure and during all email correspondence. The vineyard rooms are highly recommended with wonderful views from the decking and gorgeous garden surrounds. All the staff were very friendly and courteous. Will definitetly be back.

Room Tip: Recommend the vineyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Delighted to have another opportunity to visit Tuileries and to stay for 2 nights. The irises are blooming and the whole place looks great.

We had a wonderful dinner and I chose the pork dish (pictured) which was absolutely delicious (I confess I had to have the chicken wontons as usual, and they were great of course).

I love it when you ask for 'crispy bacon' with breakfast and you actually get crispy bacon!

Thanks to Tony Lamb and staff for another special stay. Can't wait till next time!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tuileries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuileries

Address: 13-35 Drummond Street, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Rutherglen
Also Known As:
Tuileries Hotel Rutherglen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuileries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tuileries to your Saves list