We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter sale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buller Wines

Buller Wines
2804 Federation Way, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
61 (0)2 6032 9660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 19 Attractions in Rutherglen
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Easter sale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We came here while to Easter sale was on. They had great prices on cases of wines. Champagne, Shiraz, moscato, Chardonnay, port etc. they had everything it was great. We got the chance to taste at the bar before buying the ones we liked in the shed out the back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
1 review
“Great Wine, Great Service, Great Day!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went to Rutherglen last weekend with three friends, Buller wines was the stand out for us. Our Hostess was great, and we were blown away by the wines, the shiraz was to die for! we all bought a few bottles! We will definatly be returning. delicious!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Really bizarre experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Weve been here before and bought wine. This time the whole thing was just weird. One of the owners took us under his wing and proceeded to talk about films and tell bawdy jokes while we worked our way down about 50 bottle line of wines.

It felt wrong and cheap, and we didnt enjoy or buy anything. Sad as last time we bought cases of the Calliope. Their loss I guess.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great wines, but disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We've been visiting Buller's in Rutherglen for about 33 years and are devotees of their old Muscats and Tokays, which we also buy regularly in Melbourne. We also enjoy the bird aviaries. Unfortunately, this visit disappointed in two ways. Firstly, the one girl serving was more interested in eating her lunch than helping customers. Secondly, the cellar door prices were high. For example the Fine Old Tokay was $24 at cellar door, but $15.99 in the local Rutherglen IGA bottleshop and we can buy it anytime for $17.90 in Melbourne. I am happy with cellar doors being a little more to cover service costs, but this much - and for poor service?
We'll still be drinking Buller fortifieds - we still regard them as some of the best, but won't necessarily visit the cellar door on our next visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor harbor
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great service and wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Arrived on a cool damp afternoon and were the only visitors at the time.Our hostess was a Buller family member and the service was outstanding. Have enjoyed Bullers wines over the years and the quality is always up with the best. Nice facilities and well worth the visit

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buller Wines also viewed

 
Rutherglen, Victoria
 

Been to Buller Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buller Wines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.