We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail could improve the experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tuileries Restaurant

Tuileries Restaurant
13-35 Drummond St, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
02 6032 9033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 restaurants in Rutherglen
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Attention to detail could improve the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had dinner as part of a very good value dinner, bed and breakfast package. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere overlooking an inner courtyard and the food was delicious. We had a beautiful 3 course meal and I would have given the experience a far higher score except for a few niggly things that stopped things from being excellent. When the entree and mains arrived they had a sprinkling of micro herbs which would have looked pretty if they had not been put under the warming rack, instead they were wittled and a little sad. The smorgasbord of wine is a fabulous idea but unfortunately the wait staff do not keep an eye on it and we had to ask for the wine that we wanted on several occasions because the bottles were empty. I really do wish that I could have given this place an excellent - just a few things to improve to bring the experience up to that level. I would definitely go again and can recommend the package as excellent value. Breakfast the next morning in the cafe was very good - well cooked and plentiful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    33
    31
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tempting Tuileries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food, wine and atmosphere were fantastic. I liked that you didn't have to dress up to enjoy a great night of fine food and wine. The staff were welcoming and well informed about the food and wine provided. The selection of food on the menu was sensational. Definitely a place I would recommend and re-visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A little too friendly?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had dinner at the cafe, not the restaurant. Waitress was rather casual, e.g. "don't ask for coffee because I'm really bad at making it, ha ha". Doesn't create a great impression.

Food was lovely, but the service was quite slow.

Would recommend it because the food is good and the location is very, very handy to the motel we stayed in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great lunch with fantastic staff. Lovely old building which is a little bit tired in the cafe area but would definitely go again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Another great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best restaurant in Rutherglen try the wine buffet great value dined there last night could not get in on Friday taste of Rutherglen weekend. Great food, helpful staff nice atmosphere if we come down next year will book earlier cannot fault this restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuileries Restaurant also viewed

 
Rutherglen, Victoria
Rutherglen, Victoria
 

Been to Tuileries Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuileries Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.