We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Village Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wine Village Motor Inn to your Saves list
Wine Village Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   217 Main Street, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had 2 nights staying here and found the owners really wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. When the airconditioner in our room started to play up they moved us into another room straightaway. Both rooms were scrupulously clean. The beds in both rooms were firm but very comfortable to sleep on and we had no issues with noise from the road keeping us awake.

The motel is easy walking distance to restaurants and pubs in Rutherglen. The rooms are well stocked with plates and utensils if you decide to bring dinner back to the room.

We would certainly stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your kind review Rob and we are pleased to say that after resolving the problem with the a/c, we had the technician pressure clean and service all the units in the motel. We are glad you enjoyed our attention to detail and it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Jo & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Room was very well presented and clean. Good value and Eco friendly. Friendly and helpful service makes this somewhere we will recommend and visit again. Thank you for doing everything to make our stay comfortable. Jodie Dean

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you Jodie for appreciating our environmental initiatives and our quest to make every guests stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon, Jo & Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed her a couple of years ago and had no desire to stay anyplace else this trip. The motel grounds and rooms are well kept and the owners are welcoming and helpful. You are literally across the street from one Rutherglen winery cellar door and restaurant, and it's a short walk into town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your repeat business and we really appreciate your positive review. At the start of January came the hot weather and we are working hard to ensure the gardens and grounds are kept looking fresh and alive. Our new 8mt umbrella in the BBQ area, shady trees and the pool provided a welcome relief for guests during these hot few days. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit, Jo and Darren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Wine Village Motor Inn is well located in Rutherglen, with the pubs and restaurants being a short walk away. The motel was clean and our room was quite spacious. The rates were very reasonable. The owners were enthusiastic and helpful, providing plenty of helpful tourist information.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our quest to provide clean, comfortable accommodation. Thank you for your review, Jo & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Wine Village Motel in order to tour local areas and visit the many wineries in the area.

Reception was brief but ok as the hosts were having a social afternoon with friends on lawn of property, no problems with that, everybody has to have time out. The motel is very well maintained, good grounds with seating and nice pool.

The rooms are a a little larger than normal 3.5 star motel rooms, well furnished, bed ok, good bathroom, nice LCD TV. All in good order, the owners have done a very good job. Very 'green' with water savings everywhere, even down to the shower water, but one expects that these days.

The motel is a bit noisy at night with truck traffic on Main St/Murray Valley Hwy, I think due to a Logistics Depot out of town, maybe some double glazing on windows would help.
Breakfast was good, although I had to go and purchase some gluten free bread for myself for breakfast, even though I asked for some on bookings form, a little peeved at that.

Motel is well situated to Tulleries Cafe, 100 metres away and to the delightful town with its Hotels providing good bistro dining, we tried all of them. Many wineries within 10 mins to 30 mins drive.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Reserve an executive room as it has a sofa to sit on. No 'quiet rooms' as motel has highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Some of the most enjoyable parts of running a 24 hour 7 day a week motel as a husband and wife team is being able to catch up with guests to hear about their day, as we did with you and many of our guests during their stay with us. We try to be generous with our time with all guests and we are sorry if we dropped the ball on this occasion.

We are lucky that our property is one of the few in Rutherglen that is set well back from the street and with the inclusion of our new fence that was being built during your stay we hope to further reduce this noise and hope to one day implement your suggestion.

We’ll keep you posted on some of your other suggestions and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rutherglen. Kind Regards Jo & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Above average for a country motel, in the centre of Rutherglen. Simple but pleasant decor and a warm welcome from the helpful couple who run the motel. Very comfortable and reasonably priced. Just next door to the Tuileries winery and restaurant complex where you can eat very reasonably at the café.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical. Talk with the very helpful owners if you have any queries about where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for your kind review Roehmer and your handy tips, yes all of our rooms have the same features although we do have 4 different room styles and 2 different suites. We look forward to accommodating you and your family next time you visit Rutherglen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Good country motel, warm, clean comfortable. We stayed here on two consecutive weekends on our way from Sydney to Melbourne and back. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and well equipped. There are 3 standards of room. The basic room is OK for 2 people but would be a bit crowded for 3. It is worth paying extra for the next level room which has a king sized bed and a sofa if staying more than one night. If staying in summer the pool and barbeque area would be a bonus. Walking distance to the best restaurants so no problems with sampling the regions great wines. Staff very friendly ,good reasonably priced breakfast delivered exactly on time

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineVillage, Owner at Wine Village Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your time in writing such a positive review. We hope to see you again on your next trip from Sydney to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wine Village Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Village Motor Inn

Address: 217 Main Street, Rutherglen, Victoria 3685, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Rutherglen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rutherglen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wine Village Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Chain Wine Village Motor Inn is your ideal accommodation venue to enjoy Rutherglen's famous wineries and surrounding areas like Corowa, Chiltern, Beechworth and Yackandandah.Relax in one of our 16 spacious ground floor rooms, by the salt water pool or have a BBQ in the gardens. We have several different room configurations to meet your needs which include a spa suite, disabled and family rooms.Indulge in the friendly country hospitality by visiting some of Rutherglen's 25 wineries, Olive groves and exquisite restaurants. We are conveniently located opposite Tuileries Restaurant and Rutherglen Estate Cellar door. A short stroll will take you to boutique shops, award winning Parkers Pies and many more restaurants and cafes.Enjoy facilities like quiet rooms facing the gardens, room service breakfast, Austar, LCD HD TV's, multi-format DVD Players, Mini-bar and Wifi Internet. Corporate traveller are well catered for through our business centre and personalised tours can be arranged to suit your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wine Village Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Village Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.