We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TopNotch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suba's

Suba's
2736 S Shady St, Mountain City, TN 37683-2095
423-727-5657
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Mountain City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“TopNotch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Excellent food, friendly staff, cozy environment and amazing desserts! It doesn't get any better in this small town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, TN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Outstanding food with enough for a second meal! New items and I suggest starting with dessert as you want to have enough room for them

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Suba's is a wonderful little place to eat. For Mountain City, the prices are higher than average, but I would have to say that the food is well above average. Their desserts are out of this world! Seating is limited, but well worth waiting for.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small town hospitality, big menu and flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's been several years since we have been back to Mountain City but we knew we had to eat at Suba's. The menu is expansive and it's hard to chose but overall the food is good. I had a chicken and pasta dish that was very tasty but had a little too much sauce on it. My husband had a steak and rib combo that was also good. Unfortunately we were too full to have desert which looked fabulous. The service was great; our waitress was very attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Mountain Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After hearing of this restaurant for some time, I finally was able to experience it. I was surprised to find it a small place, but beautifully decorated and clean. This is clearly an upscale restaurant, and I'm told reservations are a good idea, especially on weekends. I ordered the smoked trout cakes along with the spinach and cheese dish, and was totally impressed. The servings were much larger than I would have expected for such a restaurant, and even splitting a serving of their banana pudding cheesecake (good, but not something I'd order again) left me stuffed. I'm only sorry that Suba's is an hour from where I live.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suba's also viewed

 

Been to Suba's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suba's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.