We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Tail Mountain Golf Club

Red Tail Mountain Golf Club
300 Clubhouse Lane, Mountain City, TN
+1 423-727-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: RedTail Mountain is located in Mountain City TN just minutes from Boone on 421. Designed by Dan and Ellis Maples RedTail Mountain has the Finest Mountain golf in the High Country. RedTail offers a challenge to all level of golfers and provides over 400 feet in elevation change over the course. You will discover great mountain vistas and incredible scenic views. Get our free mobile app to book tee times and get more info or book tee times on our website.We also have upscale accommodations in the Lodges at RedTail Mountain with one, two or three bedroom units featuring a private bath with each bedroom. For your dining pleasure stop in at Vistas and enjoy great food using the finest and freshest ingredients. Entrees as well as our fresh baked bread and desserts are prepared daily by our experienced chefs. Enjoy the senic mountain views when you choose to dine in our beautiful club house or out on our spacious patio. Full ABC permits.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a great place!! My wife and I spent the weekend at Red Tail Resort. The service and accomodations were outstanding. The rooms were spacious with granite countertops in the kitchen overlooking the golf course. WHAT A VIEW. The staff was courteous and freindly and treated us with up most respect. As for the restaurant, the food was excellent and priced reasonably. First time playing golf in the mountains. Very challenging but will do it again. Heard from the staff that they are expanding the ammenities to be more kid friendly.I would recommend this place and come back again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, the food and golf. We are busy working on projects this winter including an indoor pool, tennis courts and rebuilding all the bunkers on the course. Look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Must firstly say that the food is extremely good and good value.The surroundings are great and the views beautiful.
Now though have to add a note:
Ordered Gin and Tonics as an aperitif .........tasted odd and asked what was in it......was told definitely G&T. Eventually manager came over and said...sorry didn't have tonic so put in soda!
Obviously hoped we would not notice.

Then went forSunday Brunch..........forgot to put our booking in so didn't get a table...however sat outside and still greatly enjoyed it as food really good and again great value.

Have now learnt that because of the religious backlash and the reduction in numbers for Sunday Brunch you
have stopped serving cocktails and wine on a Sunday. So sorry to see that they have given in to the religious bigots in Mountain City and stopped serving alcohol .

We can only hope that they shape up and stand up for themselves and continue to be a good restaurant , good bar and continue to be a great place to visit in Mountain City.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed. Not sure where you gathered your info but there is a misunderstanding and some statements are wrong!

Concerning the statement of "religious backlash and the reduction in numbers for Sunday Brunch you have stopped serving cocktails and wine on a Sunday. So sorry to see that they have given in to the religious bigots in Mountain City and stopped serving alcohol."
There has been NO RELIGIOUS BACKLASH, NO reduction in numbers and I don't understand the statement of giving in to religious bigots. Our Sunday brunch is very popular, continues to grow and is supported by the whole community ... church goers and non church goers alike. They are all welcome!

"We can only hope that they shape up and stand up for themselves and continue to be a good restaurant , good bar and continue to be a great place to visit in Mountain City". There is also some wrong information here! We are fully licensed and permitted by the state to serve alcohol in fact the only place in our county that has a full license! BUT WE ARE NOT A BAR. We are a good restaurant that serves alcohol. No one has told us what to do. We applied to the state and got the license. We put up the $10,000 bond with the state for the privilege and we decide how we will use it in our restaurant.

You can get alcohol on Sunday after 12:00 (thats the law)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mountain golf and more at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Scheduled a tee time for 4 on a friday. Arrived and was treated with utmost respect. Great deal on-line. Course is spectacular with more tough but fair holes to mention. Views are jawdropping. Greens are perfect, roll true, and are a joy to putt on. As Arnold once said, I'll be back. New restaurant in clubhouse named Vistas looked good but underused by the public. Try it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the course! Next season you will see the improvements of the NEW bunkers! We are busy this winter digging them out and rebuilding them. You will also see other improvements when we reopen in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude ranger”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beautiful course but not for the price,plus the ranger was extremely rude! If you want to have random holes on the front nine to be cart path only then you need to post it on the holes themselves where its marked for yardage instead in the club house. Never have I experiences such a rude ranger, who gave special treatment to local old darts who had no business in playing a head of us because they slowed everybody down on the back. Overall elizabetthton, mountain glen, and coattails are a better golf experience for time and money!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I regret your experience was not what you expected. There are a number of good golf courses in the area called the high country but RedTail has long been recognized as the "best course in the high country" Last summer it rained almost every day and most courses suffered a loss in business from 30 to 50%. In fact some courses were forced to close from time to time because of all the water. It was extremely difficult to keep the course in good shape and impossible to keep it like we wanted. The cart path only holes were not random choices but because of the water on the course. Each day our grounds crew determined the holes that were dry enough for carts or needed to be cart path only. This was posted on the board in the pro shop and communicated by our staff. If this was not communicated to you properly I am sorry. There is never a time to be rude and if they were rude to you please accept my apology. Hopefully next year will be more like a normal year with not so much rain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, TN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The ball flies forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently upgraded course, new dining facilities, great scenery, fabulous pro shop...what more can a golfer ask for!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon B, Manager at Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks. We are continuing to make improvements and will have the bunkers completed by April 2014 when we reopen for the season. Indoor pool, tennis courts and a few other improvements are also in the works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Tail Mountain Golf Club also viewed

West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains

Been to Red Tail Mountain Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Tail Mountain Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.