We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindenderry at Red Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lindenderry at Red Hill to your Saves list
Lindenderry at Red Hill
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   142 Arthurs Seat Road, Red Hill, Victoria 3927, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“basic but beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed over christmas and the most friendly staff have ever met! i would it for older couples who love wine! - it is set in a beautiful but quiet vineyard location, there is nothing to do for children at the hotel apart from the pool and table tennis table but my children were pretty entertained. i want to say thank you to the two male waiters in the restaurant and the older lady at reception always asking us if we needed anything and were extremely helpful! The bathrooms are extremely dated and needing refurbishment and also the rooms smell a little funny as well as the sand flies bugging you every time you step outside also our flight was delayed and we got to the hotel around 8pm, all the doors were locked and we needed to call someone to let us in and check us in but over all it was a lovely worthwhile stay!

Room Tip: choose a vineyard room with a lovely view to get more for your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi buttonduck
Many thanks for you recent review following your stay with us at Lindenderry. I am delighted you enjoyed your tome at Lindenderry, it really being a wonderful "get away" on the beautiful Mornington Peninsula. Our team are very much focused on delivering exceptional guest service and your acknowledgment of our reception team in particular is most appreciated.
I do hope you have taken fond memories of Lindenderry back with you to the UK.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    36
    19
    10
See reviews for
15
109
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed for one night in one of the vineyard rooms. Check in was efficient and friendly. Rooms spotless but bathroom was dated, needs a re vamp. Air con working perfectly in very hot conditions. The property lacks a bar which is unusual. There is a mini bar in the bedroom however. Cellar door was closed, only opens at weekends, disappointing. We had dinner in the dining room which is very elegant. The food was excellent, we had the fish and cheese to finish accompanied by excellent Lindenderry Pinot. The highlight of the evening was front of house lady Rachael, she is a fantastic asset to this hotel. Very professional, extremely efficient and informative about the food and wine on offer, even though she was under pressure with a busy dining room and little staff. One of the best restaurant staff we have come across in recent times, she was fantastic. A nice location to unwind in Red Hill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Ennis41
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at Lindenderry.
I am especially appreciative of you highlighting Rachel and your experience in Linden Tree Restaurant - wonderful to read and know you had an excellent experience there and enjoyed our Executive Chef's magnificent menu.
Whilst we don't have a bar as such, it is never any trouble to extend service to our house guests in any of the lounges or outdoor garden courtyards at any time. Operating as a country estate and in that tradition, we like to offer a more personalised service than not.
Thank you for writing this review. I am pleased you were able to unwind at Lindenderry and trust we may welcome you back again one day!
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent customer service from all staff we encountered, reception, dining room and cleaning staff all included. The surroundings were tranquil and a delight, and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the restaurant where the meals were presented with thoughtfulness and exhibited the French training influence of the chef. We enjoyed a very nice dip in the pool and spa and loved walking around the grounds. Well located as a base to go off and enjoy the many wineries, galleries, and farm gates that the Mornington Penninsula has to offer. Plan to go back for a longer stay and we both thought it was a great location for any one considering a wedding venue! We didn't know anything about this place before we booked, just searched for somewhere on the Mornington Penninsula that was close to the Peninsula Springs Day Spa so we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and it exceeded our expectations:)

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a little cheaper but no less pleasant or comfortable than any of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Louise E
I am delighted Lindenderry exceeded your expectations - it's certainly what the team go out of their way to do! It is such a wonderful location here at Red Hill, virtually the epicentre of all the wonderful attractions, wineries and produce that our region has to offer, including the wonderful Peninsula Hot Springs. Our own restaurant Linden Tree as you have noted, is recognised as one of the regions best for which we are very proud.
Many weddings are held at Lindenderry, being one of the more popular locations as one can celebrate in the vineyard and garden. It's just spectacular!
I do appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Lindenderry soon.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barrdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Service, staff & experience was beyond our expectations. Thanks so much especially to Rachel who made our afternoon such an enjoyable occasion - highly highly recommend this place to anyone traveling through the Red Hill Region.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Sparky Sophie
Thanks you so much for your kind review of Lindenderry, our team and Rachel!
It is so pleasing to learn of these great experiences which can only be delivered by good people and at Lindenderry we have magnificent people. Rachel leads a great team.
I do hope you can call in again, in particular to experience some of our new food events program held on weekends which starts Australia Day!
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I spent one night at Lindenderry for my wedding anniversary and had a pretty good night. The restaurant is nice and the food was great. The food was expensive but it was very good quality so you do pay for what you get. On arrival they gave us a bottle of red which was nice and the staff were very good.

I don't really have anything negative to say about Lindenderry, It's a great drive into the property and there are plenty of activities to do while you were there. I would have liked to stay for 2 nights to experience it all.

What stops this getting a 5 rating is that the room we had did seem a little average. By no stretch was it bad, it was still very comfortable but just wasn't what I was expecting.

I do recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi Diamo_advisor
I am delighted you chose to spend your wedding anniversary at Lindenderry!
Lindenderry is such a beautiful destination and at this time of year in particular with the vines out and gardens in full bloom, it is spectacular.
We are very proud of our food, with Executive Chef Philip Edwards creating stunning dishes from not just regional suppliers but from his own garden at Lindenderry too. We are very keen on delivering a complete experience here, with food and our own estate grown wine an essential part of that.
I am not sure which type of room you and your wife stayed in, but we have just completed a significant refurbishment of our rooms - Garden and Balcony Suites are magnificent and arguably some of the finest you will find. I hope you can return to Lindenderry again and experience one of these outstanding suites!
My thanks for you taking the time to review us.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I can’t speak highly enough about our recent stay at Lindenderry. It was my partners birthday and after having a hectic few weeks in the lead up we were craving a place we could relax, rest, sleep and eat, Lindenderry was the perfect place to do all of these things. Damien at reception was wonderful; he was friendly, efficient and informative and in no time found ourselves in our room. We had a balcony suite room on the 2nd floor which was gorgeous. The room was spacious, well-appointed and extremely clean and the open fireplace with the wood ready to go was a lovely touch… We sat on our balcony admiring the beautiful garden views with a bottle of pinot noir sipped from the high quality wine glasses that were supplied in the room. Dinner at the Linden Tree restaurant didn’t disappoint either. Both the quality of the food and the service were faultless and my partner and I had such a brilliant time that we ended up being the last leave! After a looooong, comfortable sleep in it was time to go (we slept through breakfast service!) I can honestly say we were both sad that our stay had come to an end! Would we go back??.... In a heartbeat! Would we recommend it to others?? Without a doubt! Thank you Lindenderry for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi happychicky
Thank you so much for your kind review - I am delighted you had such a wonderful stay at Lindenderry! Our Balcony Rooms are superb (having recently been refurbished) and are the perfect place to enjoy our estate-grown pinot. All the team are seriously focused on giving outstanding guest experiences, as evidenced by you and your partner being the last to leave our restaurant! That is what the Lindenderry experience is all about and we do look forward to welcoming you both back again.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our son and his wife were recently married at Lindenderry, our experience was disappointing. The staff for the most part were friendly and helpful, the gardens and setting beautiful, though the driveway needs some major attention and the rooms we visited were tired and in need of updating the thing that stood out was the extremely poor wait service. We were not asked once, during the reception what we would like to drink, when the speeches were done my glass was still empty when called to toast the bride and groom, also several guests had drinks spilt on them by wait staff. Accidents happen, but more than once by the same waiter is evidence of a lack of interest, attention or training for the job. Our room was basic, with views into a scrubby bush, for the tariff we were expecting a much higher level of comfort and appointments. We were disturbed into the early hours by noise from the staff cleaning up the reception room, I understand they have a job to do but as paying guests who were exhausted after a huge day we expected to be able to sleep. Breakfast was pleasant, though we had to ask staff to replenish bread, juice etc., this was done willingly, though it should not be a guests responsibility to ask, these things should be seen to by staff automatically! Small things like an element in the toaster being out so you had to feed bread through several times before it toasted just added to the feel of an overall lack of service. Better training and management of staff would go a long way to solving these problems. A beautiful venue (in need of a little TLC) let down by the lack of service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyBarradale, General Manager at Lindenderry at Red Hill, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Wendy E
I am sorry that Lindenderry did not live up to expectations. All aspects you have mentioned are disappointing for which there are no excuses. The team here do work hard to provide outstanding experiences in every respect and it is most regretful in this instance you were let down. All areas referred to have been discussed with the team with a view to avoid any such repeat and build on the solid reputation Lindenderry has enjoyed over the years.
I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Lindenderry so you may experience our true hospitality standard.
Kind regards
Tony

Tony Barradale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindenderry at Red Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenderry at Red Hill

Address: 142 Arthurs Seat Road, Red Hill, Victoria 3927, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenderry at Red Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindenderry is the perfect base to explore the Mornington Peninsula, created in the tradition of elegant European country estate hotels, Lindenderry is a secluded retreat in the heart of Victoria’s beautiful Mornington Peninsula. Set on a magnificent 30 acre estate amid gardens, lawns and a vineyard, it simply breathes understated elegance. Lindenderry has 40 guestrooms, an Endota day spa, and an a la carte restaurant in addition to the extensive on site recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lindenderry at Red Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenderry At Red Hill Hotel Red Hill
Lindenderry At Red Hill Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindenderry at Red Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.