We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge to your Saves list
Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge
240 Tucks Road | Shoreham, Red Hill, Victoria 3916, Australia (Formerly Frederick at Mantons Creek)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This establishment is set in very quiet surroundings, off the beaten track yet only a short distance from the main road, so quite easy to find.

We were welcomed by a friendly staff member who showed us to a spacious room, plainly furnished but with a very comfy king size bed and a large wardrobe enclosing a small fridge which held breakfast goodies. There was also a table and chairs, two armchairs and a chest of drawers. A large balcony overlooked the vine growing area.

The disappointing feature was the TV. Positioned opposite the bed, with quite a bit of space between the bed and the TV, it was almost impossible to see the screen as the TV was so small. Apart from that, the reception was dreadful. I would think, that at the rates they charge here, a larger flat screen digital TV wouldn't be too much to expect. I also couldn't get a wi-fi connection even though a password was provided.

The bathroom was a good size, all white and very clean, with a double size shower and large bench top BUT... no heating. It wasn't cold when we were there, but I would imagine it might get a tad chilly in mid-winter.

The breakfast provided included toasted muesli, fruit compote, juice, spiced yoghurt and a baked item which varied each day... sourdough bread one day, fruit loaf another and rather tasteless stodgy pikelets. A sandwich press was provided for toasting. The muesli was excellent, very tasty. The spiced yoghurt was a novel idea but much as I like yoghurt and spice, I thought the flavourings used were too strong. A little less would have been more! Nevertheless, I will pinch the idea to use at home. A selection of teas were in the room plus instant (yuk) coffee. I'm sure that the provision of a small plunger and some fresh ground coffee would be appreciated by people like us who dislike instant coffee.

The menu in the restaurant was small but was interesting and proved to be adequate. My husband had salmon and I had calamari which was a generous serve. Potatoes and fresh vegetables were an added extra. All the food was good without being outstanding. The wine list was small, naturally enough just listing their own wines but disappointing as no white wine was available. We were both having seafood so opted for a champagne cocktail rather than an expensive bottle of red. One neighbouring table of diners actually brought in their own bottle of white wine!

If you are looking for peace and quiet, this place is ideal and with a few minor upgrades (as mentioned), it could be quite perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
1
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this B&B on wotif the night before, we decided to tale a romantic weekend. The price was extremely reasonable for the location. When we arrived we were amazed at the spectacular view of the vineyard. The staff are friendly and attentive. The room is clean and neat, the toilet runs on creek water, don't be frightened when you see it, The water can look cloudy. The seem to operate environmentally friendly, and use local fresh produce. We were extremely impressed with the breakfast included with the stay, it was delicious and different.
We had dinner at the restaurant which was spectacular! They offer wine tasting at the cellar door, proving to be convenient for us. I would gladly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Fantastic view and a very spacious room but the service level was very disappointing. We had to actually ask for the promised extras such as the Peninsula Hot springs pass. We left by 9am to be tourists on our second day and returned at 2.30pm to our room not serviced at all. With no fresh towels or breakfast cleared it was awful to walk back in after a great day on the Peninsula. The $25 voucher to spend at the cellar door also promised in the deal also had to be asked for and then it was explained that it could only be used if you spent $98.00. The young girl at Reception was friendly but I didn't feel she appreciated being asked for these things when we really shouldn't have had to ask in the first place. Breakfast muesli was superb but the pastries were disappointing - very stale croissants. Little things easily improved.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked this as a last minute getaway and it was simply amazing! The rooms were beautiful and the service was great and very helpful. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. The views outside my window were beautiful (views of the winery). I felt so refreshed and relaxed - definitely recommend for a weekend away. Thank you Rhiannon for the sangria recipe!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed two nights. had a good time - very quiet, beautiful setting.
Apart from one guy who seemed a bit distracted, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
At this price there were a few disappointments These are described below- small things,but disappointing when compared to similiar places.
eg. bathroom - very tired and in need of a repaint and some repairs - chipped door, broken shower door handle. damaged floor tiles and dirty grouting - also inadequate towel railing ( and no bath - but that's just a pet hate)
Main room - big and light, good to have a firm comfortable King sized bed, but - why only a small narrow bench ( which wobbled and had to have a bit of wood wedged under the leg)to put things on? -and no table? - ie nowhere to actually eat or even prepare breakfast - bad luck if you wanted to use a laptop or read a newspaper. There is a table on the verandah, but this is unusable when a cold southerley is blowing.
Room service- friendly staff, but we had to wait while staff swept bathroom. We were shown the teas and coffee, but there was no milk..
Also no soap ( only a tiny bottle of body cleanser and shampoos)
Staff were apologetic and soon provided milk and one very small bar of soap.
Breakfast - some of this was wonderful - home made meusli, compote and yoghurt ( very small amounts), but not sure why tropical fruits were served in an area full of strawberries, cherries etc..)
Then there was the home made bread/pastries which the staff raved about - Not sure what this is normally but we got one crumpet sized piece of home made white, sweet and stodgy "bread" each, that could only be saved with the nice jam ( also a tiny jar full) Was this meant to be damper or something? - This influenced our decision not to eat at the restaurant.
Other facilities:
The fridge was set too cold so we had to go downstairs the first morning to replace our frozen milk with a fresh batch. TV only worked occasionally ( we were told the other rooms were worse)

I hope the following points are taken in the spirit in which they are given - to suggest improvements to bring the place to a level that matches its steep price tag.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided on a last minute weekend away, and searched the internet for accommodation. Mornington Peninsula was chosen for the choice in shopping for antiques. Selected Rhino Tiger Bear on impulse.
Arrived at the hotel after navigating via an iPad - not hard to find at all. Were a little later than expected, and kitchen was closed. After a seemless, and very friendly check in, we asked where we could get dinner. They advised that they could get us a Charcuterie Platter, and Cheese Board if that would suit. Great choice, coupled with a bottle of their Cabernet.
Room was large, and 'rustic'. Bed was very comfortable, providing a great nights sleep.
Breakfast tray (included in price) was brilliant.
After a long day of driving and shopping, we returned to the room early evening. Had dinner in the restaurant, which again was top quality, as were the wines. Breakfast next morning again supurb.
Only little gripe (pathetic really) is that there were no tissues in the room.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 - large with good balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for one night, had planned to go out for drinks at another restraunt, however we ended up staying at rhino tiger bear. The staff were really friendly, we tried almost every drink on the menu, and were not disappointed.
There were no restrictions on what time we were allowed to order food, which by the way was exquisite! I ordered the ribs and my partner ordered the garlic prawns, id have to say the best 2 dishes on the menu..
Overall a delightful evening. Will definately go back for seconds.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge

Address: 240 Tucks Road | Shoreham, Red Hill, Victoria 3916, Australia (Formerly Frederick at Mantons Creek)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Red Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Red Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the beaten track and set in a magnificent natural setting in Main Ridge/Red Hill of Mantons Creek Vineyard provides a secluded and tranquil haven. The rich fertile soil of the Mornington Peninsula which is surrounded by bay & ocean allows us to grow fantastic winegrapes andother sensational produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantons Creek Estate and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.