We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reactions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vue Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vue Grand to your Saves list
Vue Grand
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Hesse Street, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Queenscliff
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,609 reviews 2,609 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 344 cities Reviews in 344 cities
1,160 helpful votes 1,160 helpful votes
“Mixed reactions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

There is much to like and much to query.
Got off to a bad start as it was the Australia Day weekend and there is no car park, and then we had to lug a few suitcases up the stairs.
Queenscliff is a wonderful old historic town and Vue Grand represents some of those qualities - it is a grand old hotel although looking a little tired in parts.
Breakfast was an experience - a very ordinary meal but in a wonderful old dining room - you can just imagine what dinners must have been held in the hotel's heyday.
I thought $285 for the room was expensive but then it was a public holiday and we had a room with a balcony.
A huge plus though was its central location - we were in town to experience the Blues Train (a wonderful night) and the station was only a block away.
It was similarly a quick walk to the park, beach, coffee lounges , lighthouse so it was good for a walking afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for visiting us in Queenscliff and we appreciate your comments. Queenscliff is a lovely spot to visit with much to offer but yes it can be busy over the long weekends and at times make it harder to find a park. Usually though, the back car park will have space.
We do unfortunately have restrictions on putting in an elevator the hotel therefore luggage does need to be carried up to the first floor. If you do return and are unable to carry luggage up we are always more than happy to assist you.

Glad you also got to experience the Blues Train, a great night out in Queenscliff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    20
    21
    10
See reviews for
10
92
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gippsland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We loved our stay in this Grand Old Hotel, The staff team are fantastic, the restaurant was excellent both for evening dining & also for breakfast however a coffee machine would have been appreciated as part of the buffet breakfast & machines are reasonably priced these days. The rooms were 'quiet' & we slept well,The car parking was not an issue in the very quiet side street.
I have already made a reservation for our return visit in a couple of months time!

Room Tip: Book early for the best room choice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our staff service and dining experience.
Even better to hear that you have booked a return visit!

Thanks for your thoughts on the coffee machine, we have been discussing this so I will bring it up again with the team.

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Vue Grand last November and were pleased we'd chosen to do so.

It is a nice hotel - showing a few signs of wear and tear but with old world charm. Check in staff were friendly and helpful - no problems checking in and out. Unfortunately, there isn't a private car park for guests so we had to park in the side street but as Queenscliff is a small seaside town this proved quite OK.

Our room - the Bayview Tower - was lovely. Spacious, clean and comfortable with a large freestanding bath in the middle of the room, separate shower and hand basin on one side of room and toilet with hand basin on the other. Nice views over the main street and bay beyond.

We had a delicious "Tasting Menu" meal in the restaurant at night - enjoyed both the food and the wines. Staff were professional, knowledgeable, attentive and very friendly.

Buffet breakfast next morning had quite a good selection - certainly enough to choose from for a substantial breakfast if you so desired.

We enjoyed very much our overnight stay at the Vue Grand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are glad you had a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Its great that you took the opportunity to experiece the whole Vue Grand by enjoying your stay in the Bayview Tower, one of our modern suites, plus selecting our Bellarine Tasting menu in the dining room. Our staff are passionate about their service so we are happy to read how impressed you were.

The car parking is something we cant change unfortunately but you can almost always find a car park though in the large public car park out the back or in our side street. We hope you found a suitable space for your car.

Thanks again for taking your time to provide your feedback and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Vue Grand is a spectacular and historic Hotel in Queenscliff. We married there and had our reception in the Grand dining room. The staff are amazing and always willing to help in any way. Being local to there area we dine there occasionally as a treat. They have won many awards which is not surprising. Great Chef's, great staff, especially Connie and Caleb. They also run 'Fawlty Towers' dinners where actors playing the parts of Basil, Sybil and Manuel act as your hosts and waiters throughout the evening. I was a little dubious at first, but was soon in stitches with laughter. It was real fantastic evening and a must for Fawlty Towers fans. We also attended a lunch where about 40 of us were given instruction by the chef on how to butcher quail, then invited to try our skills, we were shown how to make sausages, also followed by hands on and finally how to butcher an entire pig. Each demonstration was followed by a small meal from the previous demonstration, each matched with a beautiful wine. And at the end they awarded prizes of knives and aprons. It was a truly unique and wonderful experience. My wife and I highly recommend the Vue Grand for anything and everything. Everything they do has a professional approach. A BIG Thumbs up from us. Andrew & Janet Smith

Room Tip: The Turret room on the roof top has amazing views and is 5 star. We had mixed reports from some of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Andrew & Janet, what can we say? Thank you so much for your comments and praise and for taking the time to do so. We do love seeing our guests come back and visit us and we hope to continue to offer variety of events to enjoy. If you haven't yet been to see our Vue Street Bar please pop in and say hello. Special regards from Connie & Caleb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved our stay here. The hotel was great and the staff were lovely, especially the poor barman who stayed on the rooftop bar to serve us in the near gale force conditions!!!! We didnt eat in the restaurant, but did have breakfast, which had a lot of choice and was very good. For us the location was great, perfect for getting the ferry over from Mornington and then starting on the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and we hope the rest of your trip down the Great Ocean Road was just as wonderful. We love your comment about the roof top barman, that gave us all a good laugh!
Thanks for chosing to stay with us and enjoy Queenscliff on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. We were very lucky in scoring an amazing room with a spa, king size bed and simply an enormous room. Other guests were not so lucky.
Make sure you get up to the rooftop bar to see the view and also see the pictures on the staircase telling the story of the history of the hotel.
Good breakfast and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your positive feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight your comfortable room, roof top and breakfast. We hope you had a great time at the wedding and all the best to the family and friends that attended!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have to agree with many of the reviews here. We stayed 1 night for our wedding anniversary - just a quick get away. I was very disappointed in the overall experience. In opening the door to our room (Room 5), the musty, stale smell was very evident. Not wanting to complain, I thought I would just see how I went. It really was disgusting. I decided to purchase Glen 20 & a Lavender Plug In to see if this would remove the smell. Obviously this is partly caused to the fact that you cannot open the one window. I appreciate the beauty and the architecture of this 1880's building, together with some of the original fixtures, but you do not expect that the fittings, being carpet & curtains, are from this era as well. Definitely where the smell was coming from. I'm into antique furniture & some of which I own is from the late 1800's. Yes, some of these items smell. However, there seems to be no attempt to mask the stench. The bathroom was extremely out dated. It would appear that Management really do not appreciate feed back because in reading all of the reviews here, the responses appear to be similar & some what condescending. Why acknowledge people's feedback if your not actually going to do anything about it? Attending the breakfast, we arrived at 9.30. There was actually nothing left worth eating, and the tables were not maintained. Having owned successful wedding reception venue, 250 seater restaurants etc, I would say that the overall service was lacking. When I checked out, I was not asked if I enjoyed my stay. This is a clear sign that possibly staff are too afraid to actually know your answer. It's a bitter pill to swallow when you pay $200 for the night for a very average room, and there is a sign out the front offering $99 per night stay. Every person that walks through that door offers this hotel the possibility of positive advertising. It's a shame. I won't be going back.

Room Tip: Read Reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vue G, Manager at Vue Grand, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We always appreciate feedback and do try our best to address any concerns of our customers. All staff are made aware of each response and action is taken to address the issues where possible. It is a shame that you chose not to speak to us about the room while you were here, we may have been able to rectify that for you instead of you having to put up with it. It is always hard to respond to a complaint on Tripadvisor once our guests have left. Please dont ever hesitate to speak to us at the time of your visit. We are sorry that your breakfast experience let you down and it is something we try to work on improving all the time. If we may address the $99 special, the special is $99 per person, $198 in total, therefore, the same as what you paid for your Spa room. We hope that clarifys that you were not spending anymore than other guests at the time of stay. Although we understand you may not visit us again, we do hope that you return to Queenscliff and enjoy what the town has on offer. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vue Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vue Grand

Address: 46 Hesse Street, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vue Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vue Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vue Grand Queenscliff, Victoria
Vue Grand Hotel Queenscliff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vue Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.