We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubys Queenscliff

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenscliff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rubys Queenscliff
Save
You added Rubys Queenscliff to your Saves list
2 St Andrews St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Queenscliff B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just like Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Ruby's for 2 nights of a 2 week holiday and we could have stayed there the whole 2 weeks!! It felt just like home. It really was the best accomodation we stayed in out of the 6 places we stayed in for the trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Deluxe Suite at Ruby's St Andrew's Street is very comfortable, light and in the heart of Queenscliff. However, if you are looking for a sea-escape and some peace and quiet this is not the place. The busy main road of Queenscliff pumps constant noise traffic and even when the tourists leave, the local hoons and motor bikes rev up and down. Even the owner indicated that their other property with views of Swan Bay would have been better for me, if available. Lacks proper cooking facilities and noise from owner's children audible together with howling winds. If you just want a base from which to see the sites of Bellarine Pennisula then this is a great option - walking distance to local restaurants etc. Large open space and comfortable enough for 2-3 people. Couldn't get DVD player to work and couldn't be bothered asking owner to fix it. Not the space I was hoping for, given the price. I can't fault cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

very good accommodation, good price, close to everything, even a backyard and washing machine. a queensize bed, a double bed and a fold up bed as well so if you are a family it would be very suitable. the owner was very helpful. one little minor issue is that because of the backyard sometimes some crawlies would come into the house at night. i think we had a few millipedes visiting the bathroom while i was having a late night shower. this may trouble some people but it doesn't bother me at all! four star for cleanliness because of this minor point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have just stayed 4 nights in Noelle's studio apartment and were loath to leave. It was clean, spacious and top of our plus list a lovely comfy bed. There was also a single bed so it would suit a family. There is microwave, 2 ring plug in cooker and all the utensils and a nice little supermarket just round the corner. We had our own parking space right outside the room. It is situated in a quiet road (unless you are there on bin day when they are emptied at 6am!) parallel to the main street. Having booked on the internet we were unsure what time we could check in so rolled up about 11.30 to check, Noelle was just finishing cleaning our room and let us dump our golf clubs in so we could go exploring without leaving then on view on the back seat of the car.
We were obviously just out of season and there was virtually nowhere to eat out in the evenings although lunch time we were spoilt for choice. In the evening it's just fish and chips, pizza or chinese, the latter being very good though not open on a Monday. We had a lovely lunch our first day at Gustos sitting out in their garden.
The area is FAB, loads of golf courses -with or without kangaroos- wineries, though we couldn't find one open, beaches, walks etc, some nice shops too.
Given half a chance we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I were looking for somewhere nice to stay in the Queenscliff area and stumbled on Ruby’s. Great location. Host Noelle was very welcoming, and as we needed 3 nights she put us up for 1 night in the lower apartment then moved us upstairs to the larger apartment for the next 2 nights when it became available.
Both were excellent, and happy to recommend. (Understand she has another place called Ruby Red on the other side of town - we were a little confused at first).
Breakfast is not included although all facilities are there - we went to Cafe Gusto one morning and it was pretty good.
Queenscliff is an absolutely fabulous base to explore the Bellarine Peninsula and is the ferry terminal to go across to the Mornington Peninsula on the other side of Port Phillip Bay. It has lots of attractions in summer, and is a good place to start a trek along the Great Ocean Road.
However, in winter it is fairly quiet, and a number of restaurants and shops are closed in the early part of the week so we missed out on most of our initial choices, including 360Q and Oakdene winery - out of town. One we would definitely recommend was the Couta Boat Cafe, which seemed to be the only place that was genuinely open 7 nights, although others claimed to be. For example, there is a reasonable Chinese at the lower end of the main street where after we had walked down we found the ‘Open 7 days’ sign we had noted from the car had a small addition - “Closed Mondays”. We went back on Tuesday and it was pretty good.

Room Tip: The upstairs room is much larger and has reasonable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Ruby's was fantastic! It was the first time I have ever booked accommodation online that is privately owned, so I was nervous to begin with, but I would now recommend Ruby's to everyone. I stayed in the Beachside apartment which was cosy, extremely clean, and beautifully decorated in a modern style. The best attributes was the location, the price (Noelle gave me a very decent deal), but best of all, Noelle was very warm and welcoming- without being over the top.
I will be back at Ruby's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the beachside apartment, and it was very quaint. It was cosy, yet very spacious. Facilities were great, bed was comfy, and unfortunately we only got to meet the host just as we were leaving. She seemed absolutely lovely though!

The location of it is great, just a 5min walk from the Fort, and main street and beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rubys Queenscliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubys Queenscliff

Address: 2 St Andrews St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Queenscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rubys is situated in the centre of town, in a quaint quiet street, a walk across the road to all Queenscliff has to offer.It is a lovely Cape Cod Cottage style House with 2 separate self contained apartments.There is an outdoor courtyard with BBQ area for your use.We also have another place called Ruby Red.It also has 2 separate self contained apartments overlooking Swan Bay and a mins walk to the main St and the blues train. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rubys Queenscliff Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubys Queenscliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.