We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenscliff Music Festival Accom.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Benambra Bed & Breakfast

Benambra Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenscliff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benambra Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Benambra Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
15 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Queenscliff B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Queenscliff Music Festival Accom.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We recently had a fabulous time in Queenscliff for the annual music festival. Very pleased with our B and B accom, situated in the perfect location. Anne and Jeff were lovely, attentive hosts, making us feel very welcome. It certainly is like living in your own, historic home in Queenscliff.
Breakfast was really enjoyable, beautifully prepared, and, with the conviviality of the other guests, good fun. Thank you Anne and Jeff for your generosity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently spent a Saturday night there with a group of five couples.Our room was so small that there was hardly any room to move around the bed or leave an open suitcase on the floor.The position of the shelf above the hand basin made it difficult to even clean your teeth.We had a double bed,no wardrobe and no TV .We paid $175 the same as the other four couples who had much larger rooms with TVs,wardrobes etc.
The room was very noisy and we could hear people walking and talking until 2am and bathroom activity during the night was obvious.
Breakfast was rather ordinary with a limited choice of cereals.a bowl of fruit salad.no offer of porridge or yoghurt.Ample choice for the hot breakfast but nothing special about it.
We were also allocated a breakfast time of 8.30 and due to a full house and limited table space in the breakfast room. We could not enjoy a leisurely breakfast being asked to leave before we had finished.
Also there was no off street parking and outside parking was limited to 2 hours between 10 and 5 daily which we were not advised of at the time of booking

Room Tip: Make sure you enquire as to the layout of the room.bed size and contents of room(TV etc).Rear rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We came down for an evening of jazz and decided that we needed a place to stay.Benambra,being in the main st. suited us very well and the hotel directly opposite was a bonus as we could walk across the road for dinner,(and we did) and had a better than normal pub tucker, meal . We had never stayed in B and B's before, as we are/were long time motorhomers. Not knowing the behaviour protocols, and being aware that we were in essense, living in someone elses home,we were gratified to be greeted on arrival with coffe and home made fruit cake. Our hosts, Anne and Jeff, welcomed us and made us feel at home and were a font of knowledge concerning Queenscliff and surrounds. Bed was just perfect,soft but firm. The air-con was surprisingly quiet and efficient. The cooked Breakfast!! Huge (because I asked for the lot). Nice interesting people to have breakfast with.
Just a great place to have a night or two away from home. If this is a typical B-and- B we are converts. We are looking forward to coming back in April for another jazz evening.
Gus and Ruth Leitch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed over the weekend, paid over $170 and it was not worth this money. The room was nice, however the bed was uncomfortable and pillows lumpy. The ensuite was very small and outdated, the towels had been used and washed within an inch if their life. The breakfast was a nice cooked breakfast. This B&B is in the main street of Queenscliff, so is in a very good location, close to everything. The owners were generally nice, and up for a chat. There is no off street parking, and the parking out the front is 2hrs, so we had to park our car away from the B&B, very inconvenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenscliff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Benambra prides itself on providing comfortable clean,rooms which are in a smoke free environment. Recently refurbished to provide modern day comfort in an 1880's building. a delicious cooked breakfast to start your day. Centrally located - walk to everything.
We value our long list of regular guests who in turn respect our property.

Stayed January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stinky beds. Tiny rooms, full of mozzies and moths. Hosts acted like they were running a military operation and you feel like they're spying on you all the time. An endless list of do's and dont notes posted on doors and walls, ensuites were small, dirty and old. Didn't stay for the breakfast we paid for. Felt like we needed to escape as soon as we woke. I've never been to jail but i'd say this is the closest thing to it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, Bucks
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

If you are looking for a basic B&B with an excellent breakfast in a good location in Queenscliff, then this place will meet your needs. If you are looking for something a bit special, including some luxury, then look elsewhere. (See this reviewers other reviews for a recommendation if you need one!). The room we had was basic in layout and contents, though the ensuite bathroom dated from the 1970's and was well overdue some renovation. An excellent freshly cooked breakfast was provided. Be warned, the owners have a policy, not stated in the website, of requesting (no option was given!) FULL payment of arrival. I was very suspicious of this policy as should you be. I have only been asked to prepay one other time in the past 4 years on our travels- a budget hotel in Middlesbrough ! That in itself would be a reason not to go back here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benambra Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benambra Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15 Hesse St, Queenscliff, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Queenscliff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Queenscliff
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Benambra Bed & Breakfast Queenscliff, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benambra Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.