We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Portsea Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Portsea Village Resort to your Saves list
Portsea Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3765 Point Nepean Road, Portsea, Victoria 3944, Australia (Formerly The Grange at Portsea Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband got us a night here for my bday. It cost around $300 so we were expecting big things! The location and look from the outside we're the only decent things. Room was old and rundown, there was no hot water or should I say we were told you have to run the shower for 20 minutes to get hot water, so there was you just had to wait 20 minutes! It says restaurants on the website but there is only one and it wasn't open for us, apparently only opens Sunday mornings for breaky. I emailed to let them know how disappointed we were, got an interim response but nothing since.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Overall my wife and I were very happy with the apartment with its modern furniture. We much prefer to stay somewhere like the Grange than a standard hotel. It was very quiet and relaxing, highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeBellinzona, Manager at Portsea Village Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. we do have apartments for couples and families and plenty of space and activities for all.
Our team certainly appreciated your comments and look forward to you staying with us or at one of our Grange properties soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just wanted to say thank you for our lovely relaxed "winter" stay at The Grange, our apartment had a lovely view we loved watching the ferry coming to and from Queenscliff and the cargo ships making their way to the heads. Our apartment was really warm and had all the amenities we could ask for. The outside of the building has just been painted and looks really fresh and modern. The location was great for our daily walk along the Portsea pier, our trips to some of the many local wineries, there were lots of golf courses and great local shopping. The service from all the staff was warm and relaxed and we got "lots of smiles". Our Sunday breakfast was really delicious alot to choose from - those tomatoes with basil and mushroom with thyme really really yummy! We look foward to coming back again soon.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeBellinzona, Manager at Portsea Village Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you on behalf of our team for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We all appreciate receiving feed back from our guests, and this positive review rewards our team for the professional way that they go about doing their job. We look forward to welcoming you to stay with us in the future.
Regards, Irene Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed overnight in June and did not have any hot water when we came home at 11 pm or the next morning at 6am when we had to leave. We contacted the receptionist by email when we were home and were told that she should have told you that it takes a long time for the hot water to come through in the morning. Two receptionists knew we were leaving early and neither said anything! However this does not explain why there was no hot water at 11pm. We ran all hot water taps for 30 mins in the morning before we had to get dressed without a shower and travel to Perth. We paid $300 for a disappointing and stay and have not had replies to my following emails where I have questioned their explanation. The apartment was newly renovated. We saw a phone number for "after hours" help in the foyer as we were leaving but this is does not help you when you are in the apartment. When we checked in there was no explanation about facilities, phones etc. We were given a key and told how to find the apartment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeBellinzona, Manager at Portsea Village Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. Sadly, we have failed to communicate the important information to you. We do have a 24 hour contact and we use our welcome letter and information in the apartment to give these details. We prefer to address a problem immediately to ensure the comfort of our guests. In future we will advise guests at check in where this information is to be found and avoid this happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsea hotels

NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Travelling south with the family for school holidays to experience the Mornington Peninsular was a relaxing experience made possible by Portsea Village as our great base. It was like coming home after a day of exploring and the apartment was perfect for a family of five - nice and roomy! Bath for the kids and a good size eating and living area.
Awesome swimming pool too!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeBellinzona, Manager at Portsea Village Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. The property is ideal for families with all the activities available. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely apartment all good quality fittings and everything you could wish for, WM dryer, DW etc. Only stayed one night but love to go back again. Staff very friendly and helpful
My daughter and I loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor and overlooked the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeBellinzona, Manager at Portsea Village Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi, Thankyou for your kind review, We look forward to seeing you here again for another escape. As the weather warms up you will be able to get on the tennis court and enjoy the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Several of my June 1973 OCS Classmates chose this venue for our Reunion accommodation and it was also selected as our Main Dining Event location. Whilst the venue was under refurbishment this did not detract in any way from the excellent service provided and delightful meal for our Main Dining Event of the Saturday Night. We shared a Double Room Self-Contained Unit which completely met our needs for the three days we stayed. The three course meal was of a high standard and a Bar facility was available.

I would certainly recommend this venue to other OCS Classes considering having their Reunion at Portsea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeBellinzona, Manager at Portsea Village Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for the feed back from your group. We all enjoyed your stay and hearing about the Portsea area when you were training here. We look forward to hosting another aniversary. In the meantime we welcome you for a seaside escape anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portsea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsea Village Resort

Address: 3765 Point Nepean Road, Portsea, Victoria 3944, Australia (Formerly The Grange at Portsea Village)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Portsea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Portsea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portsea Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Portsea Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portsea Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.