We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ol' Duke - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Ol' Duke
40 Newcombe Street, Portarlington, Victoria 3223, Australia
(03) 5259 1250
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $39 - $39
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Everything about this place is great. We had the family (our kids and theirs) and were all made to feel welcome with food suitable for everyone. Have been three times and each time we have not been disappointed.
Great place to eat wonderfully prepared dishes, for the family or as a couple, with some of the best views in town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We took our then neighbours out for lunch at The Ol'Duke over three years ago now. The lunch was fantastic and the four of us really enjoyed the meal. The Ol'Duke has really nice decor for a Pub. Overall it was a little expensive for lunch, but it was enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essendon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not the best meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Not one of us were very happy with our meals here, and we all agreed we had a better lunch earlier on at the bakery down the road

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Meals were beautiful. Service was average. Being a vegetarian, there was only one choice. Meals expensive. Been there and tried it, not in a hurry to go back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top quality meal & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We returned after our last visit, around Dec 2012, and all was the same, but an updated menu based on seasonal produce. The service, range were as good as usual but the standout by a mile was the homemade pork & fennel sausages with garlic mash, beans, red cabbage & red wine jus, excellent all round. Overall visit was without fault.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ol' Duke also viewed

Portarlington, Victoria
Portarlington, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ol' Duke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.