We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ol Duke

The Ol Duke
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portarlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ol Duke
40 Newcombe Street, Portarlington, Victoria 3223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portarlington
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were fortunate enough to buy a coupon deal for 129.00 inclusive of dinner and breakfast
The bed is way to big for the room and the shower ran out of hot water every 2 minutes and the management where not helpful at all in restoring it .
The meal at dinner was delicious as was breakfast but the fact that coffee was an extra was bewildering as was juice extra .Definitely the restaurant 3 stars at least .
Im glad I wasn't paying for dinner or breakfast because it was very pricey.
the service was slow beyond belief and 2 members of staff had us feeling like we were an imposition to the place .One on booking in and the other when we were ordering breakfast ?
Anyway we had a really nice stay and port Arlington is beautiful for a quiet time but be careful if want friendliness its a touch n go thing

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Briar Hill
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Purchased one of those internet deals where we we given Accomm, Dinner and breakfast. Always a concern as to how you will be treated with one of these.
I can honestly say that the staf were fantastic. Very keen and eager to help and talk. we were allowed anything on the dinner menu which was a good variety. The food was well above average and the steak was well cooked. The deserts looked terrific. Small compact room was well appointed and very comfortable. Brekky was good also.
Would recommend for an overnight stay. The town itself is sleepy and fun to walk around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

As with the comments from previous reviewers, the rooms are clean and pleasant, if a bit strange. The bathroom is part of the room and the toilet is in partial view of anyone in the room.Stagefright could be a problem!!!!

Be aware that when you book a package of bed and breakfast , that the only thing included in breakfast is the plate.Coffee is extra.!!!!! Something that is not explained when the booking states" a la carte breakfast" $15 for a coffee and refill for two is a bit annoying.

Tourist operators lament the high value of the Australian dollar as the root of their problems, but i suggest it is as much the lack of service and the blatant rip offs that putting tourists off..

Having travelled overseas a lot, i can say with authority that at the monet, Australia offers the least value to international tourists. And locals as well.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms are nice, but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Hotel was very accommodating to our large group with young kids by giving us the function room at no extra charge. Food was brilliant, loved the mussels and pork belly. Dessert - creme brûlée excellent. Service was a little slow given size of group and Easter weekend, but the food made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This is a great hotel in the heart of Portarlington. Sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and looking out over the bay as the sun goes down is an absolute delight. The food here is I believe the best in the town and indicates the kitchen has someone with experience and dedication.
My wife and I have now dined here twice and indeed stayed in the old stable accommodation. This comprises a double bed upstairs and two bunks on the ground floor together with a small kitchen and lounge and TV. There is a seperate bathroom and aircon is provided.
There is other accommodation in the hotel however the rooms have a small ensuite that is an open plan and whilst it did not suit us others may find it very acceptable.
Overall this is a lovely place that we will continue to back to.

Room Tip: Book lunch or dinner on the deck and stay in the stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were a little worried with the reviews we read but we had booked well in advance for the Celtic Festival.
So we were delighted on arrival to discover our modern little room in this fantastic old building. Our room had an ensuite, which was open plan as mentioned by previous reviewers, we thought it was a great use of space, at least least we didn't have to share or head down the hall to use a bathroom.
The restauarant was busy, we had several great meals over the weekend including fritters with smoked salmon for breakfast and the local mussels - yum!!!
We have rebooked a room for next years festival and hope to get down to this lovely spot in between.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

old wooden Floors and wooden stairs creaking ,flood light directly into my room ,restaurant guests leave below room window ,window rattles in the wind ,wind causes old wooden door to rattle .After tearing up bits of paper and wedging window and door .Nearly asleep , people in room next door having sex ,can hear it all .could hear people across halls flatulence .packed up and left at 4.30am this conversion has been poorly designed you can t just put a bed and a toilet in the same room and call it accomodation .NEVER AGAIN a waste of a good location

Room Tip: Don t even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ol Duke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ol Duke

Address: 40 Newcombe Street, Portarlington, Victoria 3223, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Portarlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Portarlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ol Duke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ol Duke to your Saves list