We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Fish And Chips

Wharf Fish And Chips
40 Wharf Street, Port Albert, Victoria VIC 3971, Australia
(03) 5183 2002
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We came across Port Albert by chance as we were driving from Bairnsdale to Melbourne picking a couple of diversions to the coast to make it more interesting. How lucky were we to make this our lunch stop. Off season so no queues. Just the freshest whiting in nice crisp thin batter and crisp chips. The only queues being the many seagulls waiting for any leftovers, they know when they are on to a good thing!
Happy to recommend this take-away fish and chips.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Excellent menu, great wine, lovely view great place to dine. Would love to try it for dinner.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fresh is Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Claimed to be the Best Fish and chips, the Port Albert Wharf Fish & Chips were superb.
Good and hot with a crisp batter the king George Whiting tasted fresh and wholesome, accompanied by a single portion of chips, we were advised against getting one each, and they were right.
The location too at the end of the wharf is excellent and suits a sit down outside with sea view type of meal.
The Fish and Chips is attached to the Wildfish Restaurant, closed on the evening we were in Port Alfred, and by all accounts it too is as good as it gets.
We loved the town as a whole and recommend that should anyone be in the area, a visit would be most rewarding.
The local maritime Museum is a gem.
Recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Some say it's the best fish n chips in Victoria...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We decided to give this a try after reading from tourist brochures that this is said to be the best fish and chips in Victoria.

And the verdict : it is not bad, but I wouldn't say it is the best. I would rate some other restaurants the same quality as this one; and the ones at Freemantle, WA are better I reckon. I ordered a potato fritter and was a bit disappointed. Fish was fresh though, and chips were decent. Price was reasonable.

If you are keen to try, be there early, before the peak dinner time. We were there at 5.30 p.m. and only waited for 8 minutes. There were already a few people there waiting. The shop is nice and clean, doesn't have the oily fishy smell that most fish and chips shops have. It was quite pleasant sitting by the wharf munching away at the F&C.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hot (the chips and me while I waited, and waited)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The chips were fine, but I was made to wait 20 minutes or more for them, inside the hot takeaway shop on a hot day, having been told it would just take a minute. There's no option for vegans as the chips are cooked in animal fat, so my partner missed out.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Fish And Chips also viewed

Port Albert, Gippsland
 
Port Albert, Gippsland
Alberton, Gippsland
 

Been to Wharf Fish And Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Fish And Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.