We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in Port Albert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodondo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Albert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rodondo
Save
You added Rodondo to your Saves list
74 Tarraville Road, Port Albert, Victoria, Australia   |  
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Albert B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet in Port Albert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the loft at Rodondo. This was a very spacious area for two people, had a shady balcony with views over the harbour and was very comfortable. Being able to open windows and doors enabled us to benefit from the cooling breeze on the very hot days and nights. Susan was a very friendly hostess and provided us with a beautiful breakfast with something for everyone. The winebar/cafe over the road was also very handy for meals. We would have no hesitation recommending Rodondo to other travellers.

Room Tip: The loft has plenty of room, with good views across the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having read reviews before booking, we almost wondered if it could be as good as it sounded. Well it was, If we could give it 6/5 we would! Everything the other reviewers have said is true, do not hesitate to stay here if you get the chance. Susan's friendly greeting, attention to detail and stylish presentation of her B&B and cottages made us feel immediately at home. We arrived sorely in need of a quiet break from travelling and loved the peacefull setting. We stayed in the cottage, with private courtyard. The breakfast basket with home made goodies and local produce was truly scrumptious. We stayed for three nights, and wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A road trip in south Gippsland. We stayed three nights in this lovely B&B. Sue's suggestion we stay in the cottage was an excellent one. We had space with our own private courtyard. Although this room usually comes provided with a breakfast basket, due to a quite period, we were given the option to have brekky cooked for us. Wonderful! Home made preserves, jam, home grown tomatoes and eggs.. Relaxed atmosphere with a friendlly host.
Bed was comfortable with quality linen. A clean modern bathroom.
The location was easy walking to distance to restaurant's and hotel.

Room Tip: If you want space consider the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A sheer delight and would recommend to anybody looking for a better b & b experience.

Bathrooms and bedrooms all fitted out with quality stuff.

Communal breakfast in the huge kitchen was excellent.

Susan was a good local guide and hostess...

Room Tip: Make sure you turn off the lights in the main building hallway on retiring - no one else will !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Away from Melbourne for the weekend, we'd seen Rodondo in the guidebook and took a chance. We were allocated the front guest bedroom and, although the house was ancient by Australian standards, it was clean and the bathroon was newly refurbished, the twin showers over the bath were an open invitation....
The bacon & eggs for breakfast were excellent and the home-made apricot jam had us eating a lot more toast than normal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A full house and 45 deg. on the drive to Port Albert...
From the moment we arrived, all was good.
Room in main house (we had to take the last one) was spotless, comfortable and well set out.
Agree with all breakfast reviews, so unhurried and relaxing, and excellent food.
Thankyou to Susan for her perfect hospitality.. from Booking by email to our departure, all was done with great professionalism.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

As my hubby said - "I could really live here".
We had the Harbour view room - were actually the only ones booked in for the night (Tuesday night). The room was very modern with a very comfortable bed.
Breakfast in the morning was fantastic - fresh squeezed OJ & eggs from the 'in house' chooks & freshly brewed coffee. We stayed for an hour chatting to Susan who is very lovely (we could have stayed longer - but we were limited on time).
Great location as it is just a short walk to the pub/restaurant/fish & chip - (we dined at the pub as the restaurant was closed - open Wed - Sun).
In the area? just do it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had the Hoarbour view - there was 2 rooms upstairs, a King and what looked like a family style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodondo

Address: 74 Tarraville Road, Port Albert, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Port Albert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Albert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.