We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boroka Downs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boroka Downs to your Saves list
Boroka Downs
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   51 Birdswing Road | Grampians, Pomonal, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been travelling to Boroka downs for over nine years up to twice a year we have come across three owners during our stays, we must say Bob & Stephanie have been the most passionate in delivering the most highest standards ensuring all is at five star standards. The villas are outstanding with all the mod cons the views are to die for! The villas are very private you feel your the only one there. The wild life is magical from kangaroos, emus, birds, rabbits and even came across a baby deer...just beautiful. There hamper packs are fantastic with extra little touches. One more thing to mention the hammock is Devine! We can highly recommend this magical place. This is one place you must put on your bucket list, seeing is believing....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were looking for something very special for a special anniversary weekend. At Boroka Downs it was like finding an oasis! The accommodation is extremely comfortable and well appointed. A kitchen with everything we could possibly need meant we didn't have to go out to eat all the time. The proximity to hall's gap meant we could dine out when we wanted.
Privacy was ensured by the positioning of 5 units amongst screening bushes. The view of wildlife wasn't at all disturbed by this.
Everything from binoculars to tea lights were supplied, with a large spa looking out on the view as well. Books and information on local touring, wildlife, restaurants, wineries were all readily available.
A really beautiful place to stay for a special occasion.
Congratulations to the owners, Bob and Steph, for maintaining such a lovely spot, with thoughtfulness at every turn.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I recently got married at Boroka Downs after finding their amazing elopement package online, it was exactly what I was looking for, but upon arrival we found it to be everything they promised and much, much more, the accommodation was fantastic and the views, well...breathtaking is the only way to describe them. Upon arrival we definitely knew we had made the right decision eloping to Halls Gap. For the wedding, Steph and Bob had taken care of everything and it was the most relaxing and perfect day, Ron the celebrant was a wonderful man, really made the day full of warmth and love, and the photographer Marty Schoo was worth every cent, the photos are perfect and he was so lovely and easy to deal with, he captured our beautiful day with such ease. I knew my wedding day at Boroka Downs was going to be lovely but I had no idea how intimate, relaxing and beautiful it would be, if I had to do it over again, I would do it exactly the same, the most wonderful day of my life, and luckily all caught on camera. Boroka Downs is such a find, you are not in want of anything, Steph and Bob not only look after you, they are the most lovely and genuine people. The accommodation is clean, modern and perfectly situated, the nature you are surrounded in is like none I have ever encountered before. Halls Gap is truly one of Australia's most beautiful places. I will be back as often as I can, and that is coming all the way from WA! Thank you Steph and Bob for making our special day even more special that we could have imagined, we will be back, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Quiet and good location with enough food and drinks in the fridge for a couple of days with a very good breakfast! Name it and it is in the fridge. You can see that Bob & Stephanie have thought about everything. When you sit outside the kangeroos, emoes and deers are walking near by, in the morning from bed you also can watch them.There is a fire place inside for chilly evenings and the first morning we receive a bulletin, with the weather forecast and interesting places to visit. You also can use the herb garden for your diner.
Near Halls Gap, Grampion Nat.Park, so enough walks to make.

Room Tip: house nr. 1 but all the houses are good situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Just a short note to say that all the reviews are spot on - this place is something special. I could live here. The sense of isolation with an amazing view is a winning combination. I can't believe how well designed the rooms are and they have everything from a state of the art coffee machine to a spa bath with almost 360 degree views of the surrounding environment.
Full marks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

On our arrival, we were welcomed by Bob with a smile. You can see from his face that he loves what he does and where he lives. ( Who wouldn't?)
From the first step into our lodge, we immediately found that all the 'shoulds' started to melt away.
The lodge itself is stunning, with every care taken, and spotless.
While just outside the windows, Kangaroos (many with Joeys), Emus and Blue Wrens greeted us. Above us, a spectacular Wedge tail Eagle circled (being attacked by a very brave Magpie).
We quickly settled into a bottle (or two) of champagne as we watched the parade continue from our verandah. As night fall began we enjoyed our dinner outside, watching the sun set. Later that evening we soaked away our troubles in the a spa while the open fire crackled . Finally we fell into bed and slept the sleep of the God's.
Three days of this paradise and we were recharged enough to reluctantly return to the 'real world'. Already planning for our next visit.
We loved every moment of our stay and I have no doubt that you will too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Words cannot sum up how spectacular our week long stay here was.......but since its a 200 word minimum....i'll try...:)
Amazing, Spectacular, fantastic, superb, great, worth every penny, peaceful, relaxing, quiet, secluded, comfortable, sexy, five star, generous and helpful hosts. We adored this place and will be back. Thank you !

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boroka Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boroka Downs

Address: 51 Birdswing Road | Grampians, Pomonal, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap > Pomonal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pomonal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boroka Downs 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharing its boundary with the Grampians National Park, Boroka Downs offers romantic luxury and superb views with wildlife at your doorstep. Designed specifically for couples each of our 5 identical, environmentally designed residences is secluded and provides award winning luxury and serenity with full self-catering facilities. Plus there's the luxury 2 bedroom Bungalow for 2 couples, tucked away in the property corner. Boroka Downs is Ecotourism accredited and a Tourism Hall of Fame inductee. Five minutes from Halls Gap but a world away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boroka Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boroka Downs Pomonal, Grampians, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boroka Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.