We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere is everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel to your Saves list
Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Point Lonsdale Road, Point Lonsdale, Victoria 3225, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wesburn, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere is everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights for our wedding anniversary,the hosts were amazing and did everything to be helpful beyond the norm. We originally booked online but when peter and sue found out it was our wedding anniversary they kindly upgraded our room to the captains cabin, recently re-furbished,made our stay extemely enjoyable. Yes, the other rooms are small but it is an historic guest house built in 1880's their is a lot of character to the old buildings. Be sure to pop into 'basils bar' and have a drink and chat with peter and sue and if your lucky ,like we were, some of the locals as well. Breakfast was great and don't forget Devonshire Tea in the afternoon. Overall 5 star service with a 5 star smile.

Room Tip: If its just to sleep the rooms are small but fine if your after a larger area the captains cabin is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We (dad, mum and two kids) stayed in the hotel style rooms which form the back part of the complex. The rate was okay but we were disappointed overall with the experience. Make no mistake about the hosts: they are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the history of the guesthouse and the area. Mum and kids had previously stayed in the family suite style front part of the complex and found it good. The good bits: it's clean, the parents' room is separated from the kids room by the bathroom/toilet room, the internal corridor is lovely and wide, there is a cosy sitting room and dining room downstairs, there is plenty of parking out the back with plenty of room for kids to run around and there are old photos up in the place to give you an idea of the history of the place. The other bits: out the back is a cheaply built kitchen room (with a table tennis table at one end). There only needs to be two families in there and you will get in each other's way, the single stove and single sink are inadequate for two or more families at once and one family might have to use the table tennis table to eat at. One of the down-lights in our smallish rooms didn't work, a separate light fitting kept falling out of the wall, it took us a while to work out that appliances weren't working because a circuit breaker had tripped (which apparently happens when multiple appliances are on thus suggesting an inadequate wiring system), one fly-wire door was bent and the other one was missing its handle and Mum couldn't sleep on the hard bed. Although there are locks on the bathroom doors they still leave large gaps at the end of the door so mum wasn't happy with her privacy in there and our room was a long walk to the dining room, sitting room, car parking, reception and the kitchen. The driveway is narrow and cars were having to back up to give way to others. Of course there were signs up about not smoking and smoke detectors but that didn't stop one ratbag family on the ground floor from smoking in their room and subsequently stinking out the upstairs and downstairs corridors. Some kids were lacking a bit of parental control (dare I say the same family?) downstairs and, with insufficient sound-proofing in the place, their noise was a nuisance for a couple of hours in the evening. Sorry, I wouldn't recommend the hotel style wing except to a small family outside holiday periods. The other wing is okay, I believe, but I can't comment on it.

Room Tip: Try the front wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast QLD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

After staying at a 'standard' motel the previous night, the Pt Lonsdale Guesthouse was such a contrast. Friendly and very obliging staff, small but very comfortable room, beautiful quiet location, great atmosphere, scrumptious breakfast, lots to praise. Others might think the rooms need a 'makeover' but what's the point of travelling to stay in rooms that are all the same. The different style only adds to the experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hosts were very friendly and a great hotel for a one night stay. In my opinion, the price is a bit steep for what you get. However, making a few small upgrades will help a lot. I do however recommend this hotel, especially for its old age charm and history. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a budget room. I do however recommend upgrading a bit, especially if you stay for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboune
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I can remember a relative telling me years ago of her holidays here when it was the Terminus Guesthouse, and the front part of the building retains the charm of an earlier era (including the dining room and a sitting room for guests to use). It is centrally located, just a couple of minutes walk to the main attractions that Point Lonsdale offers (such as the lighthouse, Rip view lookout and a small group of shops). It's not a new building, but the rooms have everything required and are clean. The “motel” rooms in the rear wing aren't new, and the bathroom in our room was quite compact (although quite modern), but the beds are comfortable and the ground floor rooms have direct access to the garden. Although the clientele is probably mostly the “quiet and early to bed” type, sound-proofing isn't great and noise may be an issue in the probably rare situation of a loud group being present. The hosts are helpful (for example, we were invited to choose which room we preferred). Breakfast is an extra charge, but if you want to self-cater, a fully equipped kitchen is available on site, as is a pool and tennis court. Internet is available through a third party supplier, for a charge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our third time at the Pt .Lonsdale Guesthouse, and definitely not our last. Peter and Sue are lovely hosts, and made us feel very welcome and very much at ease, going the extra mile to make our stay as delightful as possible. We love the location, as walking tracks are right opposite and also steps to the beach and pier. Everything is just outside our doorstep, and it is only a short stroll to the shops. The Guesthouse is very clean, and to have a table-tennis table, tennis court, pool and spa just adds to it all. Fantastic! We always enjoy breakfast and the company of our hosts, who join us when possible. We look forward to coming back for another stay, and this time bringing our grandchildren with us. Thank you Peter and Sue for our great holiday breaks.

From Cheryl and Bob

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

After buying what I thought was a bargain price deal through the Travel Auctions website, we arrived at the Point Lonsdale Guesthouse hotel and were greeted with an extremely friendly lady who showed us to our room. Honestly, she couldn't have been nicer.

The rooms though really need a makeover. Nothing massive, just a freshen up to bring them up-to-date. E.g. replace the wood panelling with painted white plasterboard.

Our accommodation was in a brick building behind the nice period building in the advertisments.

Overall though, the service made the experience. On balance, I think the price I paid for the accommodation on Travel Auctions was fair, rather than a steal. I would recommend this hotel for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel

Address: 31 Point Lonsdale Road, Point Lonsdale, Victoria 3225, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Point Lonsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Lonsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lonsdale Guesthouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.