We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouyen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Save
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
22 Rowe Street, Ouyen, Victoria 3490, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouyen
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had dinner here in the grand old dining room, generous portions of a traditional roast (the half size barely smaller than the full!) and yummy deserts, at very reasonable prices. Fast friendly service, traditional hospitality. Just felt so comfy and homely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Friendly comfortable dining room with standard pub fare,roast fish of the day pasta
Sticky date pudding etc
Half sized serve of roast offered which was still a generous meal for only 12$!
Quick friendly service.
the pub itself is a lovely old building across the road from the railway line( no longer used for passengers just transporting grain.
I didn't stay there just had dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. Very friendly staff and food came out really fast. Good pub food. Kids meals great with ice cream included. Recommend for families.

We didn't stay in the rooms so can't rate them. Not an option for this though so selected average.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Have stayed here numerous times. This place offers clean quiet accomodation at a reasonable. It is an old pub so don't expect five star rooms. The meals down stairs are great value for money. It is walking distance from the Main Street which has other eating establishments. Remember you are in a small country town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip into the region in the last 6 months. Thought we would try this pub again and were not disappointed. The lamb roast was a good honest feed and really tasty. Cost $18 with a serve of simple fresh veg and gravy. This is a safe place to stop for a quiet meal surrounded by Ouyen locals. We rate it is GOOD but not above average. Hope it's helpful as we love trip advisor and use it when we travel. Cheers Chris & RJ :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

With money being short these days i needed to look for cheaper accommodation, looked for an appropriate place to stay, with a cost of just $40.00 a night for a single it was well in my budget, the Hotel built in 1909 but looks like not a lot has been done to it since it was built, there is shared facilities and no air conditioning but was clean and the bed extremely comfortable best sleep i have had in a long time, the staff were very friendly though i might not recommend it for more that 1-2 nights it was a great night living in the past will stay again, it also included a simple breakfast cereal and toast for the price and you can have as much as you like, easily missed if travelling through Ouyen as its in a side street

Room Tip: All rooms very quiet and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Worth the stop over for a feed. Honest food n folk :) lovely old building ... Clean and well presented. We had the chicken and camembert with veg & chips which was hot & tasty. The drinks were cold and the ladies were prompt and friendly with their service. Happy to recommend to fellow travellers for a good country feed ;)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 22 Rowe Street, Ouyen, Victoria 3490, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ouyen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ouyen
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Ouyen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.