We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy cottage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omeo Motel

Omeo Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Omeo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Omeo Motel
Save
You added Omeo Motel to your Saves list
Park Street, Omeo, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Omeo
kismetkate
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage on a cold winter weekend as a close base to Dinner Plain. Great location with pretty views of the countryside and a pub next door which had simple tasty meals. The cottage was warm and the electric blankets much appreciated. The decor could do with a bit of an update linoleum floors had seen better days but that's a small gripe. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Well renovated space, clean, comfortable and friendly. Breakfast was amazing. Electric blankets and hot showers just the perfect end to a long day driving. Room comes with a microwave and DVD player in case you need it. Motel situated just off he Main Street with no traffic noise heard at all. If you are able to plan ahead they will preheat the room and bed prior to your arrival.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Rooms are small but well appointed and recently renovated very nicely. There's not a lot you can do with a small motel room, but these owners have done a very tasteful job, making a small kitchen area with not just a toaster, but also crockery and cutlery (something we have seldom found). They have ditched the daggy bedspreads for doonas, and managed to fit in a couch, table and 2 chairs. Oh, and our room was very clean. They also show how much pride they take in the appearance with a lovely garden area at the front.

The shower was very hot and very strong - wonderful. The modern towel rail however is coming out of the wall - such a shame. The towels were fluffy and thick, and the bedding contemporary. The TV is still a CRT, but I imagine that will probably change when analogue ceases at the end of this year. It's not a problem, just restricted channels.

The electric blanket was appreciated, as the small electric wall heater is not as efficient as a split system would be. Not that it didn't work, it was on when we arrived - thankfully.

As we keep finding, the queen sized bed was quite firm, which is better than rolling together, but having slept in some heavenly beds on our holidays, I'm rather sick of firm beds.

The curtains didn't block all the light, but did a fair job. They seem to be only just big enough for the window, no overlap. As usual, you need to close the bathroom door to block the morning light.

The motel filled up so we're glad we booked. But we didn't hear any noise from any other room or guests, and there is no street noise at all. It was a quiet and reasonably comfortable night for a really reasonable price.

We ate dinner at the pub next door.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel, it's great for an overnight, but probably not for much longer, it's quite a small room.

Room Tip: Any room would be good, but 1 is next to the office, so you 'll probably hear people checking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Older style complex but clean, well maintained and stocked with all amenities that we required. No traffic noise or noise from other guests. Although it was very hot when we stayed and the rooms do not have airconditioning, we were supplied with a fan, which kept the room nice and cool. Helpful and friendly hosts. No wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We've stayed in Omeo many times, and this was the first time for us at the Omeo Motel. Budget priced and perfectly adequate for our needs, quiet, good bed, good shower. Great breakfast! We thought it was the best value for money in town, and will come back here next time we come.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had no reservation just walked in and got the last room, queen for 105$. The room had everything we needed. The food next door in a pub was great and good value. The staff were having a party in the evening and we were invited too. We had a great time and will come back someday!

Team Finland.
Ps. We still dont eat whales =)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here with friends for one night. The motel is far enough out of town to be very quiet, but close enough to walk into town. The rooms were fairly old, but clean and tidy. The bed was fairly firm but with good sized pillows. The bathroom had plenty of nice hot water with good pressure. We didn't eat here but at the pub next door for dinner and in town for breakfast. No LED TV here, a good old fashioned TV with a remote control that only changed the channels and volume. The remote had a sleep function, but it didn't work, this was the only down side and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omeo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omeo Motel

Address: Park Street, Omeo, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Omeo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Omeo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Omeo Motel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omeo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.