We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Entertainment for a Celebration!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuckoo Restaurant

Cuckoo Restaurant
508 Mt Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
(03) 9751 1003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Olinda
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful Entertainment for a Celebration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have not been to Cuckoo Restaurant for over 10 years as there has been many more interesting restaurants opening up in Melbourne in the last decade. We weren't sure whether it was worth a visit after reading a number of less favourable reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised that the food variety and quality has significantly improved over the years. The entertainment remains as good as it had been and children were invited to participate in the music which was awesome. We found the staff very friendly and sensitive to our needs.

It can be pricey - $49 per adult plus drinks and $24.50 per child (age between 5 - 12yo). But if it's a for a special celebration, I think it's quite reasonable for a good night out. We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating a birthday there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    51
    27
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You have to be a little cuckoo to eat here.... :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was my first time back to the Cuckoo in a long time and it was so much fun. The food was amazing and there was certainly plenty of it. Would like see a better flow through the smorgasbord, we found the sea food entrées after going through the main course line. Atmosphere was also astounding. The biggest cuckoo clock in the world is HUGE!! The cabaret show seemed a little bit squished in the corner, but was a lot of fun just the same. The staff were very helpful and kind with nothing being too much trouble. A great afternoon out for all the family whether you are going to celebrate a birthday like I did or just for a great afternoon of fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited the Cuckoo Restaurant in the Dandenongs last weekend for our daughter's 17th birthday. We found it very classy. As soon as we were shown to our table, a photographer came and took a photo of our family. We were then served with a huge bowl of soup in the centre of the table, where we could help ourselves to. The buffet style dinner included beautiful salads, carvery, fish, german sausages, german food, there were cheeses and biscuits, seafood salad, oysters, prawns and desserts to die for. Pancakes were made in front of you accompanied by different sauces. The entertainment was fantastic as they yodelled Austrian style, sang a different beat from all countries and invited people up on stage to ring their bells. A great nights' entertainment, looking at around $50 per head plus drinks..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Outdated & expensive - give it a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked for Saturday night dinner at the Cuckoo after not having been there in some 20 years. The expreince was like a nostalgic time warp - and not in a good way. The adult smorgasboard rate (around $60) exclusive of drinks may sound reasonable however we felt disappointed when we received the $370 bill for 4 with only 3 drinkers and a moderate amount of beer and wine consumed. Smorgasboards really never deliver what a restaurant meal does and although the offer was extensive - there was little satisfaction in the meal. The entertainment was disappointing with only a drummer and piano accordian player - no other entertainment or the bell ringing I recall from years ago. It was a kitch experience but not one that will be fondly recalled. Just felt ripped off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fun time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Smorgasbord menu heaps of choice lovely desserts a stage show with singing and yodelling excellent service and very friendly staff licences great atmosphere largest cuckoo clock in the world very European olde world lots of photos on the walls re it's history a wonderful Melbourne icon that took me 12 years of living in Victoria to finally visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cuckoo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuckoo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.