We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The PIG and WHAT?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pig & Whistle Tavern

Pig & Whistle Tavern
1429 MT DANDENONG TOURIST RD, Olinda, Victoria, Australia
9751 2366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Olinda
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The PIG and WHAT?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great food! Great beer (and I am not usually a beer drinker!) Can't ask for more. ALWAYS jam-packed!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been here a few times & love the variety of beers on tap. The food is hearty & very tasty. Last night was packed, which greatly surprised us as it was a Tuesday evening.
Definitely recommend this restaurant for a meal, a drink with friends or a great night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good English style pub with wholesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The beer was the initial attraction. We went for the Fuller's London Pride, at 9 dollars a pint it certainly wasn't cheap but one pint of the well kept nectar was enough to go with the lunch. We had a mixture of the 'pub grub' that came in large portion size. The Children's portion of chicken nuggets and chips was almost as big, and good value at 13 dollars. Looking around at what others were eating, the pizzas looked good. The specials board appeared to change regularly. We did not try the desserts as the mains were big and we had started with the garlic bread which used a soft bread bap and ample garlic. We went in the depth of the Melbourne winter to this pub on the edge of the Dandelong National Park close to the Rhododendron gardens and Cloud Hill. Then the pub was less than half full, for most of the year I would expect it to be full. Well worth a visit particularly if you have a taste for English beer. Speckled Hen and Tetleys were also on draught.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A great place to visit, any time of the year, but especially on a cold, rainy winter's night in Melbourne. The Dandenong Ranges also has a special magic about it too. Food is always good, great beer and really great service by friendly wait staff. The complimentary chocolates are a nice touch. Always book on the weekend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food was terrible, mediocre admosphere, but lovely waitstaff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Had the porterhouse and the pork belly. The pork belly was mostly fat, with no crackle. Although the bubble and squeak was good.
The porterhouse was terrible, which left a horrible aftertaste, overcooked veggies that were utter mush. Needless to say the meal was sent back.
Completely overpriced for the quality of the food.
On the up side the waitstaff were very attentive and apologetic when our concerns were raised.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig & Whistle Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Pig & Whistle Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pig & Whistle Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.